We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Kon Tiki Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sanger, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Kon Tiki Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been back to the Kon Tiki Inn so many times. It is our favorite hotel in Pismo Beach. It is the perfect location and view as others have stated. We love to walk down to the beach and into the town, than back to hotel on the public streets. Beautiful view and yes, clean rooms. Great staff. They try to please. I also love that Wi-Fi access is available upon request. Will be back again and again.

Room Tip: Second and third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prensesdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
195
333
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just can't say enough good things about our recent stay at the Kon Tiki. Please read the reviews and know that they are spot on regarding staff helpfulness and the friendly atmosphere. Every room overlooks the ocean and the cleanliness of our room was really more than expected. The beds and pillows are actually more comfortable than what we have at home! This hotel may be the best managed property it has been our pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Every room faces the ocean with a great view. Very clean rooms. Pismo beach is not comparable to being in Hawaii, but still is refreshing. Don't expect that this is a five star hotel, but it is a great value compared to other properties in the area. Try to get a room on the 3rd floor or the few rooms on the 4th floor since you will hear the tenant above you. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Didn't try the pool, but it looks clean and well maintained. I would classify this as a nice family place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkc101N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel was recommended and did not fail to please. Everything about the hotel from the friendly staff to the lovely view was just perfect. My kind of hotel. Very reasonably priced with free breakfast and free wifi. Also an on site laundry where you got 2 loads washed and dried for under $5. Vending machine prices were more than reasonable only $1 for a bottle of water. Plenty of towels available as well as plenty car parking spaces at no cost. The girls in the breakfast room were very friendly and kept the place stocked up but the only thing was they weren't allowed a tip box on site. Think the management would let them as I am sure they are very appreciated by all the customers. Do not drive by this hotel. At first glance you might think its dated but trust me it is not and well worth the stop. You can even spot dolphins from your room

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor good for kids as they lead right on to pool area. Rooms on second and third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heldo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Read all the other reviews, which all say the same thing: Pretty much perfect in every respect, and hubby and I concur ...

All rooms have gorgeous ocean/beach view and balconies, rooms are pristine, beds are crazy comfy and come with like four or five pillows each, staff is friendly and accommodating, parking and breakfast are free, laundry room is on-site, pool is ultra-pretty and sparkling, there are two (count 'em, two) hot tubs, vending machines are well-stocked (trust me, your fave candy, soda or other snack is in there), you are given plenty of towels, and the reasonable price gets even better a little off season and on a weekday ($125), given that most places in other areas with these kind of accommodations (and I can hardly think of such a place) charge a king's ransom.

I can add little except to say to those reviewers who complain the décor is outdated: nuh-uh, it is not. It is deliberately retro, evocative of like '50s Hawaii or something of that nature, but with an intelligent twist. Note headboards with uber-cool but subtle rattan sunrise design and coordinating furniture, neat bamboo lamps. Love the blue and seashells bedspread, the crisp white walls, the new-looking carpet with its ocean-mimicking blue and sand colors, the nice beachy painting on our wall. Husband loved the large flat screen.

People always say of someplace they like, "Oh, we didn't want to leave." But we did not, to the point we stayed two nights when we only had one night really to be away from home and work. We commuted back and forth four or five times to do whatever duties were back that way (more than a half-hour drive each way). Now THAT is not wanting to leave. So relaxing, just right for naps, reading, walks, drinks, sandwich on the balcony, whatever.

Be aware, you might drive up and find a room there w/o calling, you might not. They can book solid on a weeknight in September and did so on our second night (they had the no vacancy sign up). So call ahead. And if you do drive up and at first glance think it's kind of old-motel-looking, go inside or out back or ask to look at a room. Gorgeous lawns out back, flowers, landscaping, palm trees and accessible beach, give or take you have to walk down a good many stairs. But nothing is overwrought and in your face, just all very well done and comfy and coolest of all, seems like the place attracts a good and age-diverse crowd.

When I was there, a woman from Switzerland and I washed and dried clothes at the same time and chatted sitting outside, waiting for our clothes. She said she and her husband come there every year, which turned out to be true of some other folks we met. What an endorsement.

Room Tip: We had Room 307, suited us very well. It was right across from the elevator so if you have disabilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family spent two days at the Kon Tiki Inn as part of an epic California road trip this summer. We were delighted with it, and with Pismo Beach in general, and look forward to returning.

First things first: this is a motel. It's a bit older and, when you pull into the parking lot, isn't immediately impressive. The lobby was under construction when we were there, and the first impression wasn't that great.

However. The room, while pretty basic, was spacious and comfortable, with good bedding. You're not getting a luxury hotel at this price, but what you are getting is a simple motel that is maintained with obvious dedication to quality. Service is outstanding, cleanliness exceptional, and the decor very much suits the location.

And the location. Every room has an unbelievable view of majestic Pismo Beach and the Pacific. Stunning. The pool area, again, is simple but well maintained and fits naturally into the beautiful surroundings. There is a short stair down to the beach, and what a beach it is.

The town is great, too. There's a little strip of shops, bars, and restaurants within walking distance of the motel (we got great food at a little Italian deli, and amazing cinnamon buns and a bakery nearby).

Basically, this Pismo Beach and the Kon Tiki Inn represented tremendous value for money. I highly recommend both.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ground floor rooms open right onto the hotel grounds, which are enclosed and safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice, clean and very friendly hotel. Awesome view from our balcony. Witnessed Dolphins multiple nights. Short walk to town and short drive to Avila and Shell beach. Without a doubt I will be going back soon.

Room Tip: If you have kids wanting to use the pool request a 1st floor room otherwise I loved the balony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen91350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing