We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2008

From booking to departure our experience at the Kon Tiki was wonderful. The room we had on the 4th floor had amazing views of the ocean. The pool area was clean and well laid out with great views and easy access to the beautiful beach.

The room was simple but clean and spacious. A simple breakfast was included in a very reasonable rate. This place is great value for money.

Try steamers next door for dinner, great fish and a wonderful view of the sunset.

  • Liked — location and value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    200
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
201
345
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

The Kon Tiki was a wonderful place to stay, but the staff members were rude and arrogant. I would love to come back, but I could not subject myself or my family to the poor treatment from the manament and staff. The maids and custodial personnel were the only ones who were kind and helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Management & staff (except maids and custodial personnel)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 6531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrism60
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

May, 2008, was our second stay at the Kontiki, both times we stayed with family members in nearby rooms. We had a wonderful time, both times, with the ocean view rooms and the pool, along with the walk way to the beach. The rooms are spacious, and the staff is wonderful. We walked into town many times and had some great food. The Continental breakfast needs some improving (add some cold or hot cereal, please?) but it it still nice that it is included. This is really a place that you want to return to.

  • Liked — The Ocean View
  • Disliked — Continental Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrism60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We chose this Hotel after reading reviews here at Tripadvisor. Honestly we were not dissapointed. It is in a lovely location, the hotel is very well looked after, the grounds are immaculate and nothing can beat the view from the rooms. The only thing that stops this hotel from getting an excellent review is the below average continental breakfast.

The front desk were incredibly helpful, informing us on check in that our room rate had reduced since we made our booking and they adjusted our bill accordingly. How many times has that ever happened to you???!!!

The pool looked lovely , though it wasn't warm enough to swim yet and they have 2 jacuzzi tubs, one of which looks onto the sunset. There is currently a resident pair of ducks though there was not a sign of bird poop anywhere! The place really is immaculate.

The rooms furniture was a bit dated. My husband complained about a hard bed, but we both loved the recliners that were in our room. The room itself was immaculately clean and like I say, the view was superb.

The breakfast in the morning was a bit poor, a few pastries and some breads that seemed a little stale in a room that was a bit dingy. If this had been the first place we had stayed on our trip, we wouldn't have know that there were much better continental breakfasts to be had. That being said though, all in all I would heartily reccommend this hotel for a stay.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Feebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

This is a beautiful hotel. All rooms have a beach and ocean view and the hotel in located right on the beach. The staff is very helpful and friendly and we loved every minute of our stay. The rooms are very big and there is a small kitchen area where there is a sink and fridge which is useful. Also enjoyed the free internet available to all guests. The pool and hot tubs are located between the pool and the beach so you have a wonderful view of the ocean while you are swimming.There is also plenty to do around the area and we made good use of our time in Pismo beach.
We will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KyT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Loved everything about the hotel -
Price, location, staff hospitality, free breakfast, free gym pass - and priceless 'view' of the ocean.
Hotel should do more on the "Polynesian" motif - didn't really see much 'island' motify around the hotel except for the hotel logo. Nevertheless - I highly recommend this place, my family & I will definitely visit again.

  • Liked — Price, location & view
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsterdame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

My family of four found this hotel to be quite comfortable and clean. Every room has an ocean front view! We enjoy a hotel with a great pool and although Kon Tiki's was small, it was very clean and both jacuzzis were great to relax in. The grounds were well manicured~ it's apparent that the staff/owners do care about that. ***We would stay hear again in a heart beat!***

A few things to be aware of:
**We didn't have shampoo in our room - so bring your own!
**The continental breakfast included bagels, danish & small muffins, apples and bananas. Coffee and juice. Yogurt or cereal w/milk would have been appreciated - we felt the "carb overload" and chose to forego Kon Tiki's breakfast for something a bit healthier. It's not a bad continental breakfast.........definitely "do-able" ....... just not quite enough "umph" for us!
**The pool towels are small - bring your own beach towels!

  • Liked — Large, clean, ocean front room!
  • Disliked — No Shampoo! Small pool towels! Continental breakfast!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,939 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing