We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a must ---- BOOK IT!”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Go ahead, BOOK it NOW

Everything is just awesome. ALL rooms have an ocean view. You cannot beat the price,PERIOD!

Staff = professional, friendly, happy

Rooms = clean, comfortable and roomy - all have balconies with a table and chairs and all have an ocean view - coffee maker, fridge, microwave - let the sound of the breaking waves put you to sleep

Location = perfect. I grew up on the Central Coast, and every time I go back for a visit I see more clearly how awesome it is

Parking = more than enough and each space is really big

Breakfast room - from coffee to waffles and staffed by, of course, a pleasant Kon Tiki employee. Complimentary, served from 7-10 am

2 elevators

Pool and 2 hot tubs

Stairway down to the beach

Swaying palm trees

Sunset view

Wow factor = huge

What are you waiting for? Book It NOW

Room Tip: Book a third floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 759 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

One need not go to Hawaii to enjoy a tropical paradise. The Kon Tiki Inn is located high on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. It has a swimming pool and two hot tubs from which one can look out over the ocean.
All rooms face the water, so there isn't a bad room to be found. Our room had a king size comfortable bed, mini refrigerator, safe, bathroom with shower/tub, and a large picture window with sliding glass door and balcony with two chairs.
The complimentary continental breakfast (served 7-10AM) had a large variety of items, including waffles, hard boiled eggs, pastries and bread, bananas, cold cereals, juices, yogurt, coffee and tea. The dining area had an attendant who kept the place very clean and was very helpful.
Check in took about a minute and check out took only 30 seconds. The staff is amazingly efficient, very friendly and very helpful. They obviously take pride in the property, which is extremely well maintained.
At about $125 per night, we considered our room to be an excellent value compared to the other clifftop properties to the west.
One usually cannot walk up and rent a room, but if the opportunity presents itself, it is worth a try. Reservations are a great idea; sometimes the rooms sell out months in advance because the rooms are such an excellent value.
If you rent a room above the ground floor, you can feel secure sleeping with the sliding door open. The sound of the waves on the shore resonate clearly, making one feel like one is in Hawaii.

Room Tip: If you book a room on the ground floor, you can walk out your sliding door directly to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Modestotrekkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

From Check-In To Check-Out We My Wife and I were treated like Family. The Staff was very professional, The room was clean and confortable, The Breakfast was Fresh and Filling, It set our days in motion. My Wife's Family has been holding their Family reunion's their for just about 20 years. I had only been to Pismo Beach once before as a child in 1969. Needless to say it has changed just a bit ! After my First visit to the Kon-Tiki-Inn in October of this year I was hooked.. We stayed 4 days 3 nights. Watching the sun setting over the Pacific Ocean relaxing at pool side Wow !!! A site that will not be forgotten any time soon. We have all ready made plans to return in Oct. 2013. My Wife and I would Highly recommend this Hotel. Now that I have said what I have liked and enjoyed about this Hotel, The least thing I liked about this Hotel is that we had to check out and go back home. Well, at least until next year. Thank you, To Manager Erwin Sedley, Erin, Jack, April, Jody and not to forget Derek and the rest of a Wonderful Staff. The Kennedy's. ( That did not make the White House ) See ya guys in October.................

Room Tip: The Higher Floors have a little better veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been going to Pismo Beach annually for 20 years and our favorite place to stay is The Kon Tiki Inn. The people are always nice, and there is not a bad room in the entire hotel. Every room has an ocean view and the property is right on the beach. Steps lead you down the cliff to the long and open beach. A great place to walk if you want, or just watch the ocean from your balcony. At Christmas you can see the lighted tree at the end of the pier. In season you might get lucky and see whales migrating south.
The rooms are generous and recently remodeled. Even as picky as I am with beds, I sleep very comfortably on these...firm but with a generous pillow top. As I mentioned above each room has a nice balcony with a table and chairs for two. There is a refrigerator and coffee potin each room and a generous breakfast. It's like Hawaii in Central California!...oh yeah, it also has a nice pool and hot tub ...enjoy!!

Room Tip: NO bad room, great views from all, but our personal preference is in the middle on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night in early December 2012. Our choice was based on the reviews on this site, and I found just about all of them to be fairly accurate. The Kon-Tiki is a great value . . . the view alone is worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have been coming to the Kon-Tiki Inn for years and have not once been disappointed. It is a slice of Hawaii on the Central Coast. Gorgeous, clean, ocean view rooms, hot tubs and pool overlooking the ocean, reasonably priced, steps from the beach, great staff...what more can I say. There is a reason this hotel is always full! Cannot recommend it highly enough. I go there every chance I get.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found the hotel to be a great value. Our room had a beautiful ocean view. You have access to the athletic club on the other side of the parking lot. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they have lots of information on things to do. You can walk to central Pismo from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiscolarryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing