We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels ANYWHERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Save
You added Kon Tiki Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have been coming to the Kon-Tiki Inn for years and have not once been disappointed. It is a slice of Hawaii on the Central Coast. Gorgeous, clean, ocean view rooms, hot tubs and pool overlooking the ocean, reasonably priced, steps from the beach, great staff...what more can I say. There is a reason this hotel is always full! Cannot recommend it highly enough. I go there every chance I get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    184
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
182
314
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found the hotel to be a great value. Our room had a beautiful ocean view. You have access to the athletic club on the other side of the parking lot. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they have lots of information on things to do. You can walk to central Pismo from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiscolarryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we booked a group there with 15 rooms and the service was excellent, very helpful, the general manager came in to help. The views are great, the sunset was excellent, the next morning, we were leaving early, they opened the breakfast a half hour early for us. I have been to pismo many times over the last 28 years, but this will be my place to stay for now on. Funny, i had never been here before. highly recommend, spa was a welcome relief too after a hard day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stay at the Kon Tiki INN 3 nights Dec 2012. It was Our 12 year wedding anniversary. It was paradise for us. The price was very reasonable for what we got. A beautiful oceanfront view with palmtrees all around. Seagull flying. They had cozy reclinder chairs. King bed. Tv, icebox, micowave. Hair dryer, iron. A Cozy fireplace. Heated swimming pool and two hot tubs. They have Continental breakfast. Also while staying at Kon Tiki Inn they gave us free passes to the Great health spa. Which has everything for fun to a Great work out. Also the beautiful beach and pier to walk on is clean and so nice. They have safe is room, ice machines.

It was such a quiet room too. We had a wonderful time. It was worth the reccomendtions from Family members.

Room Tip: The fourth floor was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Kon Tiki. Every room has a balcony and the most spectacular view of the ocean! Sunsets were especially gorgeous! The room was clean and quite roomy. The bed was very comfortable. It was nice to have a coffee maker in the room and a safe too. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a million dollar view at a very reasonable rate!

Room Tip: Better view of the ocean if you're not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night at the Kon Tiki in Nov 2012. It was like taking a small step back in time to about 1970 in terms of architecture, decor and the reservation system (telephone only, no web reservations that I could find); but every room has a great ocean view and stair access direct to the beach. We arrived the night before a storm moved in and the view of the sunset alone was worth the price of the room. They also have the largest parking spaces I've encountered in years!

Room was good size, but most of the space was taken up by the beds and furnture. I did not get exactly what I reserved, one king bed on top floor; but instead ended up with one king bed and one double bed on the 2nd (middle) floor. I mention this fact only because when I made the reservation I specifically stated I did not need the second bed and would rather have the extra floor space. In adddition to the bathroom sink, room also had a second vanity/wet bar sink above the undercounter frig. Sliding glass doosr open to a good size balcony with chairs. There's a pool and jacuzzi on the ocean side of the hotel.

A complete continental breakfast (similar to the spread at any Best Western Plus) is available from very early (I think they said 6:30am) in the morning until 10am. Breakfast included make your own waffles with both regular and sugar-free syrup, basic fruit (apple, oranges, bananas) , muffins, pastries, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal and cold cereals (milk, 2% and soy milk, upon request) . The staff working breakfast were very friendly and made every effort to keep it well stocked.

A complete fitness center (not a little exercise room with a treadmill and stationary bike, but a real health club) is also on the property, ask the front desk for a pass to use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Kon Tiki Inn prior to taking a Mexican Riviera cruise. The great reviews on this forum were spot on and the $100 per night was a deal. We visited the Hearst Castle and it was a one hour drive up the coast with amazing views most of the way. The staff was courteous, the room was clean and breakfast included the make your own waffles plus cereal, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing