We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Views!!”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Views!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Simply put, I think you will struggle to find a hotel that gives you more perfect views than the Kon Tiki. We used this hotel for a single night on our road trip from LA to San Francisco and it was exactly what we needed - cheap and clean.

The hotel itself is........ fine. It is clean, has a swimming pool and friendly staff. Nothing brilliant about the rooms. Except the views!! The hotel is right on the beach and all the balconies face the sea. And the sea is where the sun goes down. You have never seen anything like it - magnificent.

The only downside with our trip to Pismo Beach was with the town itself. Maybe it was the time of year we were visiting, but when we went out for a bite to eat (albeit at 9pm!) the place was dead and all the restaurants were shut. We ended up eating in a slightly run down diner on the main street - probably our worst meal in the US. Even the bars were shut!

In September, I'd stay at this hotel for a night or two, simply to experience the views (and to walk along the beach in the morning). More than that and the evenings could be a bit boring after sunset.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Pismo Beach itself
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    200
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
201
345
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

This hotel is great, and inexpensive too. We even lucked out and had 2 completely clear days. The rooms are clean and large. The bathroom comfortable. Even the breakfast was good. The location can't be beat. I ran on the beach one day and on the road to Shell Beach the next. My wife loved the health club. We just spent 10 days in Southern California and this was our favorite hotel.

  • Liked — Everything. It's a great value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronjohn140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

The hotel is fine--clean, friendly service, adequate breakfast. But it's really all about the balcony view. Listening to the hypnotic surf and watching the sun go down from your balcony is about as relaxing as it gets. We were there in late September and it was warm and sunny but no crowds.

Pismo Beach itself wasn't that interesting. I preferred Morro Bay and Cambria as towns. But you couldn't beat the combination of price and view at this hotel.

  • Liked — Balcony view
  • Disliked — Paper-thin towels
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We stayed in Pismo for two nights as part of our honeymoon in California.

We booked a 4th floor room at the Kon Tiki Inn, which have the gas fire, which is a nice touch - not that you need it in august! The view from the room was stunning (see candid shots), watching the sun go down was v special. The pool was nice & clean, the whirlpools were very hot & relaxing!

The walk to the beach was v nice also. We has some good food in Pismo, I would haved to recommend guiseppes for dinner. V impressed with the surf shops also, lots of them and pretty reasonable.

Breakfast was basic, but more than adequate, with an attendant who was very attentive and kept the pots full and the place v clean.

The morning we went to leave we could see 4 dolphins swimming along the coast from our balcony, I don't think that will be repeated in may hotels we will ever stay in again in out life!!

  • Liked — view from room
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sheamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

If you book this hotel, you most likely will not be disappointed. The rooms are clean and very ok (though nothing too spectacular about the rooms either) with ocean views. The pool and the hot tubs are very nice and relazing to stay in when the cold ocean breeze is blowing (and believe me the breeze is cold). The hotel also gets a bonus for having a lot of other aminities available, eg the guest laundry and internet. The beach is a nice beach, though did not seem to be a swimming beach. All and all the hotel is above average.

One negative I have is that they have a little oldfashioned reserving system as you cannot reserve from the internet but have to contact the property directly.

I would stay here again if even in Pismo Beach - though I think that next time I will just skip Pismo Beach and go straight to Santa Barbara which was a much nicer town and not far from Pismo (we made a stop at Pismo after visiting the Hearst Castle (the 2.45 tour) and were on our way to Santa Barbara).

  • Liked — Hot tubs facing the ocean
  • Disliked — Location, a bit far from certer of Pismo
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I read that the Kon Tiki was the best kept secret award winner. I would like to reinforce that rating. It is one of the best places for location and family as well. Great rooms (all have view of ocean and there is on site access to the beach), friendly and responsive staff, and the facilities are outstanding. A pool, and 2 jacuzzi's (one overlooking the ocean). It is one of my favorite places to stay. If I cannot stay at the Kon Tiki in Pismo Beach, I don't go.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kon-Tiki-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

We traveled up and down the coast for a week with the Kon Tiki being our "home base" for 5 nights! Beautiful hotel - must have recently been upgraded - everything was new in our room. Beautful and CLEAN, yes CLEAN and sparkling. We sat on our balcony and watched the ocean every morning! We were on the third floor so we left the doorwall open at night to hear the waves crashing on shore - sooooothing. We skipped the continental (nothing special) and hit West Coast Cinnamon Rolls (yummy giant homemade cinnamon buns for $3 - in bunches of varieties) - right down the street. The beach is wide and clean and right at your back door and you can hop on down on the stairs built on the property. Comfy beds, a coffee maker, mini fridge were bonuses. We didn't use the pool, but it was lovely - and it included a hot tub. At night, we walked down to the property edge, plopped on the bench and just sat sipping wine out of paper cups. It was quiet and tranquil - seems like most people were in bed by ten! Nice!! The restaurant next door, Steamers, was a winner - great food and a nice little bar to stop in if you just want an appetizer and glass of wine! The only downside to this hotel was the Internet connection in the lobby which was $2 for 30 minutes - made it hard to do quick checks for directions or phone numbers - the owners need to rethink that one.
Overall, I rate this as a definite YES! This is a great oceanfront hotel for the money - I recommend it highly and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No free Internet access
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,939 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing