We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campground, lovely beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife in an RV. Campground facilities are good and it's ideally located close (but far enough away!) to Route 1.

Facilities are good and clean. The beach is 2 mins walk away, and what a beautiful beach it is.

Ideal for anyone traveling between L.A. and San Francisco.

Room Tip: North Beach is better than Oceano.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank UberSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Brilliant location, about 30 seconds to the beach. Well managed with attentive camp hosts. Clean showers and restrooms (1 dollar for 2 shower tokens). I would definitely go back, a great stop off on your drive along the PCH. You can buy logs from hosts for 6 dollars. Also, don't get confused with the other state beach site in pismo, this one is the best!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Acb1v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way north, we arrived late afternoon and went to the San Luis Market in the evening, about a 15 minute drive. We were in a camper van and had a nice clean pull through site. The bathrooms were very clean and the rangers were very helpful. We didn't feel we were at risk of having anything stolen.
We had a five minute walk to the beach from our site and the beach was beautiful. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a nice trip here - the campground was expensive at $43 including tax for one night, but it was nice. No problems with our reservations... all went smoothly. Our spot was just behind the dune from the beach and you could walk onto the beach from the site in a minute or less. That said, nothing was particularly secluded, although we never felt as though our belongings or tent were at risk - we just didn't leave anything valuable out. The beach, however, was amazing! I woke up early in the morning and wandered along the beach and there were hundreds of sand dollars everywhere. It was pretty incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank walkingincircles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Traveled CA 1 by RV and stayed here 3 nights. Very clean, on the beach, nice walk on the beach to pismobeach pier-3/4 mile. Lots to do in pismobeach, quad riding, surfing, kayaking something for everyone in my family. There is another campground in pismobeach that is close to the quad riding but not on the beach and that is the Oceano campgrounds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is one of the best campgrounds have visited. All the sites are very spacious so you need not get choosy about the sites....only thing to take care of is that some of the sites are close to CA-1 and a amtrack train track...the noise could be a problem to some in the night. ..the showers stay hot..the bathrooms are neat...everyone there seemed to be having a good time. Contrary to the reviews we didnt see any homeless men around...and I think theft is a general issue everywhere...should just lock up valuables..Best part was the beach which was s hort 5 mt walk...downtown pismo beach with all the good restaurants is 1 mile away....enjoiii

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanJoseTuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our coastline trip. We stayed in campsite #25, which was perfect! There was a little trail that led straight to the beach from our spot. The campground has flushable toilets and coin operated showers that stayed hot. The camp sights didn't seem too close together compared to other campgrounds. It was a nice campground, we would return!

As far as the theft problem, many areas/campgrounds have the same problem. Don't leave any valuables in sight, or better yet, don't bring any! Many cars have had windows broken to get to laptops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank therbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,448 reviews
3.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#15 of 29 in Pismo Beach
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground

Address: 555 Pier Ave, Pismo Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground Hotel Pismo Beach
Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing