We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take-out”
Review of Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana - CLOSED

Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Giuseppe’s Cucina Italiana was founded in 1988 by Giuseppe DiFronzo as a senior project upon graduation from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. Joe, “Giuseppe”, is a son of Italian immigrants who along with the majority of their family emigrated from Bari, Puglia. Puglia is the heel of the boot region of Italy, otherwise known as the California of Italy.Joe grew up in Southern California where he learned his craft working for his four uncles who all owned Italian Delicatessens and bakeries. After fishing in Alaska on a crab boat upon graduation from Cal Poly, Joe returned to Pismo Beach and started his first 8-table restaurant in the old Landmark Hotel in Pismo. Three years later he moved to the historic Plessas Tavern, a Pismo landmark since 1921. This institution fed the likes of Eleanor Roosevelt, Bob Hope, Clark Gable, and many dignitaries and stars traveling between Los Angeles and San Francisco. Locals were thrilled to see the eatery reopen and thrive for the last 24 years! Today Giuseppe’s boasts an Italian deli and bakery across the street at 800 Price Street as well. Giuseppe also opened a sister restaurant in 2005 in downtown San Luis Obispo named “Palazzo Giuseppe.” Giuseppe spends his pastime cultivating his family farm from which he produces his 15 year old “DiFronzo Vineyards” wines, featured in his eateries. In addition to wine, he grows, cooks, and serves his organic heirloom fruits, vegetables, and herbs with pride and confidence.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great take-out”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Delicious pizza, tasty salads, home made pasta. If you cannot go to the restaurant, try the take-out. Found the parking very limited.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    179
    60
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very good Italian”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

great Pasta dishes Alittle pricey for Italian....Still a very enjoyable night. Also it is very busy and popular with locals

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dominic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“After going 15 years, we won't be back.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After 15 years of going for the Rib-Eye, what should have been a $100 meal for a relaxing 2 hours was only $50 in rushed 45 minutes. Service and standards have fallen. We waited 10 minutes to be greeted by a waiter at our table and ordered right away. It took 5 minutes to get bread. The $32 Rib-eye was now $39, and prepared differently. Unfortunately, the restaurant received bad meat and had to throw it out. We weren’t told until we tried to order it. We settled for Pappardelle pasta ($19). Manager attempted to salvage the meal and offered to comp dessert, but they were out of some of the desserts we wanted as well. Menu’s were printed on paper which could have been reprinted or unavailable items crossed-out to reflect what they actually had to serve. We used to recommend to friends, no more. Terrible experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wkrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Popular restaurant so you know it's good. Food was really delicious, service was great and fun!! Will definately be coming back. Actually went to their other location in SLO twice this last time!! Pasta's were fabulous and Pizza's and salad's ~ all great!! You should go....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank suttona003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GOOD-TASTING ITALIAN”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went there for my birthday dinner last October. We'd checked it out that afternoon and there was nothing going on, nor was the bartender we spoke to overly friendly, so were a bit reticent about returning. But we needen't have worried! Wonderful food, not cheap and a bit 'big business', but the usual great US service! Don't recommend Pismo Beach at all, though (except for the beach). We were culture-shocked, having spent the previous night in for Carmel by the Sea - a different kettle of fish altogether: cute, clean, upmarket.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lonelygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing