We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Quite pricey but recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ventana Grill

Ventana Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Ventana Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover the cool, coastal world of Ventana Grill and experience our unique coastal fusion cuisine, unlike any other. With an atmosphere that channels the four elements, Ventana Grill in Pismo Beach immerses guests in the enchanting pleasures of the natural world.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great location. Quite pricey but recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Went there for my wife's 50th birthday meal. Had a window seat and watched the sunset over the Pacific. Fantastic. Unusual menu but all the things we chose were delicious. Strongly recommended for a special occasion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    427
    127
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great seafood. But make reservations early. Otherwise go for drinks and sit outside to watch the sunset.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We happily discovered the Ventana Grill after several stops at another restaurant in Pismo Beach. While they didn't have outdoor seating, the ocean view from the dining room is panoramic and breathtaking. The menu has a decidedly Southwestern flair. I had the halibut tacos and my husband had their Ventana chop salad and both were delicious. The staff was friendly and engaging. The prices were quite reasonable too. We will definitely return to Ventana Grill on our next trip from the Bay Area to Los Angeles.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonniemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food with a spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Based on the TA reviews we headed to Ventana Grill from Santa Maria. It is a very easy 15-20 minute drive on US-101. We didn't make reservations but only waited 10 minutes for a table. We had a very friendly and informative waiter. We both had the special sea bass that included some shrimp. It was very tasty. Instead of a traditional bread basket they give you tortillas and three different salsas. Very nice. We were too full to try the dessert. Did I mention the view? :)
Spectacular! So if you are in the area, would definitely recommend it for both the food and the views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea23Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went to the Ventana Grill for the first time with family members who had enjoyed dinner there before. I was first struck by the incredible view and ambience. Then we had one of the finest waiters I have ever had who explained in detail all the specials and other menu items we asked about. The menu was primarily American with an infusion of Mexican food including homemade tortillas and churros. My sopas were the best I had ever eaten as was the burrito my brother had. The seafood was excellent but the fish n chips were average. Coffee and dessert was amazing. The meals were priced fairly so all in all we will definitely go back the next time we are in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Codster426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventana Grill also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ventana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing