We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food - but the view is breathtaking.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ventana Grill

Ventana Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Ventana Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover the cool, coastal world of Ventana Grill and experience our unique coastal fusion cuisine, unlike any other. With an atmosphere that channels the four elements, Ventana Grill in Pismo Beach immerses guests in the enchanting pleasures of the natural world.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food - but the view is breathtaking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have favored this restaurant through several owners due to the spectacular views and the consistently good food and service. The current management have managed to provide very well trained service personnel along with a decent wine list and varied menu. The half dozen or so visits we've made have all resulted in positive comments from all about the food. Prices are very reasonable. The dining room is wide open and adjacent to the bar area so it can be noisy at times.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CACoastTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    417
    124
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Higher star rating deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My best friend and I spontaneously chose the Ventana Grill for wine and appetizers. We were so impressed the moment we entered, we decided to have dinner instead. This place not only has THE MOST amazing view of the ocean from the 3 walls of windows (and actually seems to overhang the cliffs giving you the sense of being suspended [but not eerily so] over the ocean), but the ambiance, service, cocktails & wine, and food are superior to just about every establishment I've visited We were shocked at the quality, presentation and mouthwatering deliciousness --- from the complimentary handmade-in-the-restaurant tortillas with 3 delicious dipping salsas, to the shrimp cocktail appetizer (absolutely amazingly presented and FILLED with a gazpacho-like, chopped shrimp base), the wonderfully generous and contemporary wedge salad (with pears, walnuts, smooth bleu and fabulous dressing), the gorgeous and delicious-to-the-last-bite entrees, and the amaretto flan --- literally each and every single bite was fantastic. If you are in the area, you MUST try it ... especially if you can catch the breathtaking sunset ! One last comment --- the service was more than outstanding, too, adding to the experience. If I had control of the star-ratings, I would give this one a SIX. In my view, it has everything I want in a satisfying meal and experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BJDLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining experience in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner for our family of four as a walk inn just after sunset on a Thursday night. We were seated immediately with exceptional and attentive service. The menu included seafood and Mexican and grill, good wine list and comprehensive selection of margaritas. We enjoyed salmon as fish of the day and our kids loved their tacos. The ambience is resort style relaxation with nie lighting, tables are not too close together. Loved the dessert options for the kids.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandgroper12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just happened by, so lucky for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were driving by looking for a place to eat....and we were so lucky to stop here. We had a short wait where a server brought us wonderful margaritas. When we sat the view was stunning and the atmosphere is elegant. The clam chowder was amazing and the jumbo shrimp entree was so fresh and flavorful. Our servers were all professional and accommodating. This restaurant stands out as a highlight of our trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank muffinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
2 reviews
“Great Food!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

All the food is fresh and delicious... I have been here three times in two years and it's good all the time..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventana Grill also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ventana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing