We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”

SeaVenture Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
SeaVenture Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 106 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dolliver
Description: SeaVenture Restaurant located on the beach in California's Central Coast wine country, the third floor Restaurant allows you to take in breathtaking sunsets and panoramic beach and ocean views from large picture windows and outdoor decks. Chef Casey Walcott's contemporary coastal cuisine is inspired by the surrounding local wine country. Our seasonal menu is prepared with locally farmed vegetables, premium pork and beef and the highest quality fish and seafood. All desserts are made in house from scratch.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

All you get is a nice view. Food is less than mediocre, my fish had an ammonia character, as if it were spoiled. The jazz band was playing so loud you could not hear conversation. The "award winning" clam chowder was tepid and glutinous, too much flour, have tasted better soup out of the can. Extremely overpriced, decor very dated. Will never go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, Manager at SeaVenture Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Tom S,
We are terribly sorry and regretful to read of your experience at the SeaVenture Restaurant. I have spoken with the Executive Chef, Casey Walcott, regarding your concerns. He takes great pride in his work and making sure he sources from the freshest and highest quality food available. We thank you for describing your concerns with the quality of the food and decor, and always look to make improvements based on our guests critique.
We hope that you'll give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
SeaVenture Staff and Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 281 of 356 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was visiting with an old friend and wanted to go somewhere really nice. I have always loved the Sea Venture, but hadn't been there in years. The menu looked great,I wanted to try everything. We were there for Happy Hour, with buy 2 small plates get a 3rd free.

We ordered the Carnitas Nachos, pot stickers and the sliders. The sliders were my favorite, but surprisingly not as good as I was anticipating. The pot stickers were more like bland fried wontons with a weak sauce, very disappointing. The nachos came on a long plate, lots of food, but again not as tasty as I was hoping for. Overall the food was okay, but I expected more from the Sea Venture. What was most disappointing is that we both ended up with an upset stomach within the hour after we left. I took the left overs home and my boyfriend also ended up with an upset stomach. If we didn't all end up feeling crappy afterwards I would of given a higher overall rating.

On a side note, there was a seagull that hung out on the ledge of the building just on the other side of the glass. He was very entertaining and actually tapped on the glass with his beak then opened his beak as if to say... hey you gonna share? The waiter said his name is Joe and he does that often. Service by the way was very good.

GREAT views, we were there early so it was quiet and intimate. Great place to take in the views and catch up. Menu is great, but needs some work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soco-latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed eating at the SeaVenture for happy hour on the patio. Their happy hour menu is one of the great features of this restaurant. They have a non-smoking patio and one for smokers which are separated by the main eating. We did not eat in the main restaurant but the menu looked great.

Thank gxwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, Manager at SeaVenture Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear sxwe,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose to dine with us while visiting Pismo Beach. Our Happy Hour is a highlight of the restaurant, and are happy you enjoyed it.
Should your travels bring your back to Pismo Beach, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was absolutely superb. This really was a dining experience. Served by staff that were both knowlegable and attentive. It was also the only time our waiter had left the plates until everyone has finished. We were never rushed and the food was simply delicious.

Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, Manager at SeaVenture Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear kg,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We truly strive for every experience to be as positive as yours, and the best compliment we can receive is knowing we've succeeded. Your review has been shared with all the staff.
We hope your travels bring you back to us.

Sincerely,
SeaVenture Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice view, but dinner was average. Maybe we were close to closing time, but service could have been better. Great atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mizrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaVenture Restaurant also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to SeaVenture Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing