We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gold standard in fish tacos”

Marisol at the Cliffs
Reserve with OpenTable
Marisol at the Cliffs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 106 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spy Glass
Transit: The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.
Description: "Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A friend told me Marisol's fish tacos were the ones he judged all others by, so I had to try them. He was right. Ahi tuna and fresh toppings, including cilantro, make these the most tasty I've ever had. You can order 1,2 or 3. I ordered 2 at about $16, and I probably could have forced down a third. Top this lunch off with a bowl of their chowder while enjoying the ocean view and a pint of the best double IPA I've ever had, and you have a lunch to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

With all the options for fish tacos (not to mention great beer and chowder) here on the Central Coast, we are so flattered that you and your friend hold us up as the standard to be judged by! It may sound surprising that just 2 tacos can fill you up, but it can especially with the accompaniments you suggested. Thank you again for letting everyone know how much you like these items, and we look forward to seeing you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 279 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

The seafood station has a perfectly smoked salmon, large tasty shrimp and very good sushi. Could make the entire meal right there. A nice waffle/omelette station. Good eggs benedict. Get these when a fresh tray comes out as the eggs keep cooking in the steamer. Very nice selection of brunch type dishes and, of course sparkling wine/mimosas. Enjoy the view, take your time enjoy the food, overall a nice brunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happywiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed our Sunday Champagne Brunch, HappyWiner! I am excited to announce that because it gets so busy and we want our guests to have more time to enjoy the food, the views, and the service, we just extended our brunch hours. Instead of the more limited buffet and a la carte menus on Sunday morning, we are starting the day off right at 8am with seating available for the full brunch you described above. Keep coming back to see the new salads and desserts we are changing up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am reviewing the Marisol Happy Hour and not the restaurant. We stay at the Cliffs Resort two or three times a year and always hit the Happy Hour at Marisol, right next store. They don't have the cheapest drinks in the area, but they do have some excellent appetizers with nightly specials. Monday features a fully loaded bake potato for $5. We were there on Monday and were served about the biggest baked potato I have ever seen...delish! Tuesday night is Pasta and Pizza, Wednesday night is discounted seafood appetizers, and Thursday night, they feature two Football specials and a large variety of excellent appetizers. Beware of the Nachos and Cheesy Garlic Fries....they come in an enormous dish that can easily serve four people. They also have a great bacon, lettuce and tomato salad. There is a large outdoor seating area with new space heaters to take the chill off the early evening air. We found the servers to be very courteous and attentive as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chaslin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and amazing promotion of our Happy Hour! I am glad to hear that each day's special has been enjoyable, and it sounds like you have gotten to experience all facets of the menu. Keep an eye out after playoffs for when we have our chefs decide on the new season's Thursday Happy Hour theme!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Marisol is a wonderful choice for a special celebration or just a night of relaxation. Watch the sunset and then enjoy the spectacular views from the restaurant. We were celebrating a birthday and received special service and treatment from the whole staff. The food was excellent, and Jeff chose amazing wines for us. This is a great spot for a special celebration or just drinks in the bar or patio. I have always had excellent food from this spot whether it's been lunch, dinner or just cocktails.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LauraandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for writing about us here, Laura and Dan! I am so glad that the atmosphere, food and service made your birthday so memorable. We look forward to having you back to celebrate either a special occasion or any ordinary day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wife and I went last night to Marisol for the first time. First went to the bar which was extremely noisy, filled with locals or conventioneers. The restaurant was quiet sand we were seated by the fireplace with a view of the ocean. My martini was good and the wine list extensive (and expensive) with many imported wines. The service was prompt and semi friendly although the waitress brought us the check at the same time she served dessert, making us feel somewhat rushed. There were only two other tables occupied so no need to hurry. I ordered the squash ravioli and my wife the short ribs. The tastes were good but the portions very small. For $28 the five standard sized ravioli came to almost $6 apiece! The pumpkin dessert was good. The housemade sourdough bread was sensational. If you're wealthy or light eaters this would be a four star experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DocPhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for writing in to let us know about your experience. I am excited to announce the this January we have a more affordable special for dinner as part of Restaurant Month! To promote local dining establishments, all over San Luis Obispo County chefs are offering a $30 three-course meal. But Marisol is taking it even further by making the entire menu fit that price! Hopefully we can get a chance to provide not only a great meal, but a great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marisol at the Cliffs also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Marisol at the Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing