We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Dodge ridge

Small but nice family oriented ski area. Living in Turlock, Dodge Ridge lives up to one of their... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
312russa
,
Turlock, California
via mobile
great mountain!!!

This is a great place. No crowds. Staff is really friendly. Runs were great, snow conditions... read more

Reviewed January 9, 2019
javiergsotes
Read all 42 reviews
  
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
21
15
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
15
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski resort great place ski school many years great mountain nice family fresh snow tahoe skiers chairs lift terrain bay condition slopes families lodge
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 42 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2016

I've been skiing at Dodge since I was a kid in high school. I loved it back then and love it even more now. Dodge Ridge isn't a huge resort, but it have improved and there's a lot more terrain now than when I was in high school. The prices are reasonable compared to what you'd get in many of the big Tahoe resorts and the people here at Dodge are great. My son started skiing during those bad snow years, but now that we've had a good season thus far - he's now able to go all over the mountain with me thanks to the ski school and to their instructors. We hope to be back year after year and are proud to call Dodge Ridge our home mountain.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank 25keitht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

It was much less crowded than the crowded Lake Tahoe resorts.Our kids took semi-private lessons for two days and they were much more personalized and by the end of the lessons they were skiing down the slopes.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank mhparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Great place for to take lessons. Skiing is limited to 5 or so lifts but plenty of runs. Don't have to fight the Tahoe traffic and just several hours away from SF Bay Area. Well maintained resort. Cost a fraction of Tahoe skiing and so much closer.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Mimi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

We spent the day skiing here yesterday (during a nice little storm that brought 9 more inches to the slopes!). It was our first time skiing in the West (we are New Englanders recently transplanted to California). We read the reviews, and hoped for the best as it was a bit of a trek out there from the Monterey area for just a day trip. We were not disappointed. From the start, the interactions with the employees were positive and we appreciated Mike (from rentals) taking the time to orient us to the trails with suggestions. The lift operators were all friendly and the intermediate trails were exactly what you hope for... just challenging enough to feel like you've done some work. Lots of options to keep you busy for a couple of days on the trails. We were fortunate to ski on a relatively quiet day as it is still early in the season (though it certainly didn't feel that way on the trails - plenty of powder!), so we had our pick of the trails all day.

We didn't get a chance to check out many of the lodge amenities (the ski shop was well outfitted though!) so cannot comment on food etc. We love that this place is a mountain for skiiers who are there to ski - it reminded us of our favorite "down-home", charming ski resorts back in Maine. We cannot compare to other resorts in Tahoe but based on other reviews, we chose Dodge Ridge over Tahoe for the atmosphere - we wanted a family oriented experience and we got it. We are already planning our next trip there next week!

The drive out there during a storm was manageable IF you are comfortable with driving in stormy conditions. We have a Toyota with 4-wheel drive which we only used in spots along Dodge Ridge Road. Do not attempt to drive out there in a "city vehicle". We saw several cars off the road/crashed/turn around due to inexperience and/or inappropriate vehicles/tires. Not sure what that's all about...? The drive in is part of the experience and it was truly a winter wonderland yesterday.

We will be investigating places to stay nearby. The area seems "rustic" overall (which we love), but I'm guessing there are cute cabins to rents in the area.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Luckyenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

It's small and easy to get in/out. The service is excellent and the people are just so nice. Not a lot of fancy amenities, no fine dining or ski in/ski out hotels. But, if you don't mind driving up to the slopes each morning, and want someplace that is not crowded, Dodge Ridge is just great!

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews