We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
skiing

Was there over christmas and we had a great time. my boys are getting pretty good now. not sure how... read more

Reviewed February 19, 2020
1PeteDaniil1
Great day trip

Easy family friendly ski resort. Decent drive from Bay Area. Doesn’t have all the frills of Tahoe... read more

Reviewed February 16, 2020
vinceb574
,
Hayward, California
via mobile
Read all 49 reviews
  
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
24
18
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
24
18
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski resort day trip lift operators feel welcome skiing tahoe dodge terrain bay lodge table snow concern boys winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 49 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2015

It was much less crowded than the crowded Lake Tahoe resorts.Our kids took semi-private lessons for two days and they were much more personalized and by the end of the lessons they were skiing down the slopes.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank mhparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Great place for to take lessons. Skiing is limited to 5 or so lifts but plenty of runs. Don't have to fight the Tahoe traffic and just several hours away from SF Bay Area. Well maintained resort. Cost a fraction of Tahoe skiing and so much closer.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank 897mimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

We spent the day skiing here yesterday (during a nice little storm that brought 9 more inches to the slopes!). It was our first time skiing in the West (we are New Englanders recently transplanted to California). We read the reviews, and hoped for the best as it was a bit of a trek out there from the Monterey area for just a day trip. We were not disappointed. From the start, the interactions with the employees were positive and we appreciated Mike (from rentals) taking the time to orient us to the trails with suggestions. The lift operators were all friendly and the intermediate trails were exactly what you hope for... just challenging enough to feel like you've done some work. Lots of options to keep you busy for a couple of days on the trails. We were fortunate to ski on a relatively quiet day as it is still early in the season (though it certainly didn't feel that way on the trails - plenty of powder!), so we had our pick of the trails all day.

We didn't get a chance to check out many of the lodge amenities (the ski shop was well outfitted though!) so cannot comment on food etc. We love that this place is a mountain for skiiers who are there to ski - it reminded us of our favorite "down-home", charming ski resorts back in Maine. We cannot compare to other resorts in Tahoe but based on other reviews, we chose Dodge Ridge over Tahoe for the atmosphere - we wanted a family oriented experience and we got it. We are already planning our next trip there next week!

The drive out there during a storm was manageable IF you are comfortable with driving in stormy conditions. We have a Toyota with 4-wheel drive which we only used in spots along Dodge Ridge Road. Do not attempt to drive out there in a "city vehicle". We saw several cars off the road/crashed/turn around due to inexperience and/or inappropriate vehicles/tires. Not sure what that's all about...? The drive in is part of the experience and it was truly a winter wonderland yesterday.

We will be investigating places to stay nearby. The area seems "rustic" overall (which we love), but I'm guessing there are cute cabins to rents in the area.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Luckyenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

It's small and easy to get in/out. The service is excellent and the people are just so nice. Not a lot of fancy amenities, no fine dining or ski in/ski out hotels. But, if you don't mind driving up to the slopes each morning, and want someplace that is not crowded, Dodge Ridge is just great!

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2015

If you want to learn skiing Dodge Ridge is the best place. After trying twice in Heavenly (Tahoe), I almost gave up on my skiing aspiration. However this year we bought the progression pass and it really worked for us. As some folks said the resort might not be as modern as some of the Tahoe ones; however it is absolute value for money.

Plus we stayed in Sonora for couple of nights and its a very nice small city..

Pros:
The SKi Instructors (we went Dynamite Danny and Rod for 2 days). Danny was awesome.
Forgiving slopes
Not overly crowded
Great learning equipment and small slopes
Great staff and feels like family
Able to enjoy with family
Nice surrounding. Dont miss Pinecrest Lake. Its around 2 miles from the resort

Cons:
Facilities not that great
Do carry snowchains as the roads leading to the resort are not very well maintained

Overall I learnt skiing beacuse of Dodge Ridge

Date of experience: December 2014
2  Thank PM_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews