We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful spot and good food on Saturday night.”

Roaring Camp Mining Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have cabins, tent sites, day tours and Saturday Night NY Steak BBQ where you can Gold mine, swim in the river, fish, hike, rock collect. We offer all types of mining classes, hikes and help from our crew. Please visit our website for more information
Pine Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a beautiful spot and good food on Saturday night.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is a scenic wonder. On Saturday night you can take a tour or eat at their restaurant while staying there for a week. The Saturday night cowboy bread is to die for and the steaks aren't bad either. You can swim, fish and lots to do. Oh, did I mention there is gold there too? Prices for a weeks stay are steep, but worth it. $50 for Saturday night tour and dinner and gold panning. $700 per week to stay there. $550 to camp. Best part is it's only 2 miles from my home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Something for the entire family”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great spot to spend a week. It is open from May through September. You can reserve a spot next to the river and listen to a rapids all night. They offer little cabins with two double beds and picnic table inside or you can bring a tent. There is fishing, hiking, gold panning, miniature golf, playground, horseshoes or just relaxing. It is all what you make of it. It is family owned and operated. Everyone treats you as family. Once you come here, you will want to visit annually. Thee are showers and very clean restrooms. There is an old time bar and grill if you don't feel like cooking. It was nice to have that option. It was nice to have the camping experience with the luxury of a cabin. On Saturday night they cook all guests an amazing steak dinner with a band. You cannot just drive in the camp, which is nice and safe. You must be escorted in and out at special times, because it is a long drive down from the too of the mountain to the river on a one way road. It is located in Pine Grove, CA. We will be going again next year. Hope to see you there and the other new friends we met. This family makes you feel welcome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinEdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our family took the day trip in to the Roaring Camp, and we absolutely loved it!! The staff was very friendly and my kids loved our tour guide. Thank you Ricky!! The river area is beautiful. Trying to pan for gold was fun, but much harder then it looks! We want to come and stay the week with them next time! I highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank timerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee
1 review
“Thought I Was In Heaven At Roaring Camp-2010 & 2011-2 Weeks”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've been twice. Fell in love with the people and place.Met Grandpa Rodham such a great legacy he leaves behind.He will always be remembered as a kind gentle man that loved is family and friends in which he had many.God blessed him in making Roaring Camp a place people can share.God created such wonders I wish all could see. Food is great at the Trading Post and everything was wonderful.Just loved Jack Neal to death. He's like Grandpa, one in a million wonderful person.Will go again one day.Take your family as you will love it.We drove all the way from Florida to go there.Wrote many poems there about Grandpa and the Camp.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vacation "June 2010"”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Before me and my wife decided to go to Roaring camp, we really looked around and we decided that we would try it out and do one of the 2 Common's that they have every year (Common=everyone works together in finding the gold and we all split at the end of the week what we have found). We arrived and it did not take lond before we had meet a few people that we would hang around all week, everyone was very nice the staff was down to earth. Our cabin was so nice and right on the lake and the sound of the rapids put us to sleep every night. The only thing that I would say if doing the commons is that if you are lazy or have a hard time filling buckets with dirt 1/3 full or washing rocks, or picking up buckets 1/3 full and you WILL GET WET, then you might just do the individual piles that is offered, because in the commons operation you do this for 5.5 hours a day, 9am-12pm then back from 2pm-4:30pm. My wife and I loved it, we had fun and worked hard, and even though everyone was always very nice we all knew who the lazy ones or the ones that had no business doing the common were. We did not catch any fish but we did set up our chairs in the river and the water was cold but very refreshing, the snow melting had the river running high and faster then normal so fishing was more difficult, but most who were there more then once talked about how good the fishing was in normal conditions. We even played poker every other night and that was very fun, they had a few other special events later in the after noon when the common operation was done for the day. Bring enough clothing because the only washer /no dryer...only runs the lower cycles and really doesn't clean your clothes. We used this later in the week just so when we got home it would not be so bad. Over all we had a great time and have booked next year's common already, we look forward in not only coming back but seeing all the folks that made it fun and work so hard with us all week....Mike, Ricky and Jack did a great job helping us all week and knew all the tricks, although Ricky doesn't like loosing at poker....:) We will be back soon....Loved it....!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Donkeyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roaring Camp Mining Company also viewed

 
Jackson, Amador County
 

Been to Roaring Camp Mining Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing