We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enchanted April stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Enchanted April Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Pilot Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We so enjoyed our one night stay with Elke and the beautiful surroundings of Enchanted April. Indeed April is the perfect time for a visit to this beautiful historic area. We visited Marshall Gold Discovery State Historic Park before staying at Enchanted April. Upon telling Elke that we found all the local wineries closed on Monday, she presented us with a bottle of Merlot, complete with a label from her B and B . What a generous gesture. The 10 acre estate was lush green with blooming lavender, roses and iris, immaculately manicured .
Our room, Grasslands, looked out over the rear of the property with a view of the pool, gazebo, fireplace, and vineyards. With its blue gray color scheme, our room was so peaceful and relaxing. What a treat to wake up to a 2 course breakfast of yogurt, baked eggs in muffin cups, fried potatoes and homemade salsa which we ate outside under a shady tree.
After departing form Enchanted April, we stayed at other lovely B and B's in Sutter Creek and Murphys on our way home to San Diego. However, our stay at Enchanted April with Elke's warm hospitality and with Rowdy, her endearing dog, will be one of most memorable events in our vacation. Beth and Larry L.

Room Tip: All of the 4 rooms at Enchanted April are lovely. Two of the rooms share a common bath but Elke does...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Enchanted April Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We recently visited with 3 other couples for a weekend that was graciously donated by Elke for a local charity silent auction. Even though she was not making much money that weekend we were treated to a great time. Loved sitting with our coffee in the morning and visiting with our host. The food was great and the company better. Elke has plenty of good suggestions for local activities. Very comfortable rooms and beds. Even a spare toothbrush if you forget one! Look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Elke and her dog Rowdy greeted us for our 2-night stay at her inn! The B&B was one of the best we've been to. The house and grounds were absolutely beautiful. But what made our stay most memorable was Elke. She was a great tour guide and showed us spots we wouldn't have found on our own. In addition, Elke is very knowledgeable about the area's history and a great storyteller. We're looking forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent two nights (Friday and Saturday) in mid March 2014. This B&B Inn has beautiful and superbly maintained and decorated rooms and grounds. Our very comfortable and clean room had very nice local views. Saturday we took a wonderful sightseeing drive to nearby Apple Hill with views of the snow capped "Crystal High Serra Mts." (Apple Pie and beer/wine tasting), with lunch in historic Hangtown (Placerville). Saturday night was very fun Country Dancing with locals in a historic barn near Pilot Hill. Breakfasts were perfect ! .....a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Enchanted April Inn is one of the most beautiful B&B in northern CA. Elke the Baroness and Rowdy, the Boston terrier welcomed us with open arms! Our room was very romantic and lovely with the fireplace and chandlier. The Italian beechwood linen used as bedsheets gave us the best sleep. We felt pampered and very special. No doubt, we will be returning to the Inn soon!

Room Tip: All of Elke's B&B rooms were inviting but if you really want the best of the best room, it i...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biclin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Elke is an amazing hostess! We have been here several times with our horses, including last minute stays when we can't make back home to Reno when it snows. Elke always makes us feel welcome and special! We love how she pampers us with the amazing accommodations and breakfasts. The riding in the area ranges from easy to challenging, from a few miles to dozens of miles. I highly recommend staying at Enchanted April Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quite charming with a most helpful and knowledgeable hostess. The accomodations were extremely clean and attractively furnished. The location was perfect for us because this is horse country. Elks knew all about surrounding restaurants and horse properties. Great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAC132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elke S, Owner at Enchanted April Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilot Hill
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
174 reviews
12.8 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
257 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
8.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
7.1 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchanted April Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchanted April Inn

Address: 5950 Salmon Falls Rd, Between Coloma, Placerville, Auburn & El Dorado Hills, Pilot Hill, CA 95664-9693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pilot Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pilot Hill
Price Range: $261 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enchanted April Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 hours from San Francisco or Reno, 40 minutes from Sacramento. Close to everything yet you feel like you're a million miles away.Come enjoy luxury country estate lodging at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Enchanted April Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing