We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Enchanted April Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Pilot Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Elke has a gorgeous property & was extremely hospitable. Not only are rates quite reasonable, but the accommodations are top-notch. There are so many hidden gems in the area in terms of food and drink and outdoors that the location is perfectly centered with plenty to do. The inn is very well-appointed, clean, and thankfully not "stuffy" or off-putting (as I've found some B&B type places can be). Instead of feeling like a boarder at some stranger's home Elke makes you feel like a guest with family or friends; very comfortable and "easy." Will be back and will recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Enchanted April Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Enchanted April Inn and it was more than I ever could have imagined. We went for a white water rafting trip, which worked out perfectly, the inn and the rafting are less than 5 miles away from each other. Our room was beautiful and cozy, I must say that the sheets made me feel like I was sleeping on a heavenly cloud, so amazing. Elke was absolutely amazing as well, she greeted us warmly and was there for any question we might have had. She was friendly, kind and went out of her way to make us feel special. We went out to dinner our first night and came back to a treat on our door, Elke hoping we had a fun outing. Her attention to detail is what really made our weekend. If you are going to stay anywhere in Pilot Hill, make sure you stay at the Enchanted April Inn, you won't regret your decision, I know we didn't.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicamcg0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Enchanted April Inn on my way to a wedding in Lake Tahoe and definitely found myself 'enchanted' by the beauty and tranquility of the property and surrounding areas. As other reviews have mentioned, Elke (the hostess) pays incredible attention to detail and has really put quite a bit of thought into creating a very relaxing environment and experience. The grounds are very well manicured and filled with great places to relax, drink a glass of wine, read a great book, etc. I highly recommend this place for a weekend getaway and will definitely be back. Elke (and Rowdy!), thank you for making my first B&B experience so memorable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleychavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wow,
Ally and I had a great time......to relax. Elke was a wonderful attentive host. We enjoyed all the little details and amenities. If you forgot something....she has it for you. Wonderful horse property and country setting. Beautiful view the the sky. The room we stayed in was awesome!

Room Tip: Soothing Waters, it has $1,000.00 Italian Beech Wood bedding...WOW! Slept like a baby.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The warmth and thoughtfulness of hostess Elke was immediately apparent as she walked up the driveway to welcome us and our equine (and canine) friends. For the next four days, we luxuriated in Elke's care, from the gorgeous and sublimely comfortable rooms to the mouth-watering breakfasts, to lovely spots to have morning coffee in the sun to plan the day and another view-filled spot to gather and share stories and photos from the day's adventures. Our horses were offered covered paddocks or a large grassy pasture. They chose the pasture to romp, roll and graze away their free time. A missing shoe? Elke's farrier was there the morning after our arrival to replace it. We started planning our next visit to this oasis of comfort and care before we even left. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Two rooms face the front of the property and have great views of the horses at pasture. The two room...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We could only spend one night there, too bad we had a schedule to move on. This inn is an island of tranquility a fountain for the replenishment of the soul. Elke is surely a perfect hostess, offering means of relaxation beyond what one could exhaust in a few day's time.
The place has the softest imaginable bed sheets ever. One must really feel it to believe that such smoothness to the touch really exists.
The whole place is oozing class and style and it's not just for the pleasure of the visitor's eye. Those furniture and fittings feel like they really belong and fit there. They are parts of Elke's aura. I'm so glad we could be guests there and enjoy what the Inn and the vista have to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It was an “enchanted” surprise for us to find this country estate.
Visual delights and restful moments so reminiscent of the movie Enchanted April, we just wanted to sit and not have to do anything.

First and foremost there was the Rowdy Yates and Edward Bear experience.
Rowdy is aptly named and he engaged Edward in some fun games.
I am aware Edward is missing his little friend today now that we are home.
Edward Bear is our English bulldog who travels California with us.

The second most important detail or is this the first, well both are neck and neck, and that is meeting Elke. Elke has many wonderful things to share, her knowledge, her history and her many family heirlooms. I am counting her among some of my best new friends.

Many have commented on the bed linens and the comfortable beds. The bed lines are world class, the beds are very comfortable and Elke’s attention to detail and the assortment of amenities if you perchance to forget something are all there for you.

The Inn is “pet friendly” and “horse friendly”. There are so many gorgeous trails to ride I wished I had a horse!

Edward gives his 5 Paw review as do we.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilot Hill
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
174 reviews
12.8 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
257 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
8.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
7.1 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchanted April Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchanted April Inn

Address: 5950 Salmon Falls Rd, Between Coloma, Placerville, Auburn & El Dorado Hills, Pilot Hill, CA 95664-9693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pilot Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pilot Hill
Price Range: $261 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enchanted April Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 hours from San Francisco or Reno, 40 minutes from Sacramento. Close to everything yet you feel like you're a million miles away.Come enjoy luxury country estate lodging at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Enchanted April Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing