We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is gravitation? Nobody knows.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Confusion Hill Gravity House

Confusion Hill Gravity House
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What is gravitation? Nobody knows.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having visited the awful Trees of Mystery tourist trap up the coast I wasn't looking forward to this visit at all, but the friends I was travelling with insisted on it. One friend had been talking about visiting this attraction, where balls roll up hills and the laws of gravity seem strangely not to apply, since the beginning of our USA road trip, stating that this place was one of only two in the world (the other being in Ireland) where an anomaly in the Earth's magnetic field meant that gravity did not apply as normal.

Having handed over our $5 each to the friendly lady at the desk, who further built up the mystery of what we were about to behold, we entered Confusion Hill. Various gravity and perspective-defying interactive displays were set out, which genuinely puzzled and confused, but mainly amused. The highlight was the disorientating crooked house, where balls roll up hill and people walk on walls.

I won't say too much in case I ruin the fun, but if you fancy a frivolous few minutes and a good laugh, drop in on this charming attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ykims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skip the Train”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the Gravity House on recent trip to California and it was indeed a fun activity for the kids. The whole concept was quite mesmerizing. I would however suggest that you skip the miniature train ride up the hill. The conductor was obnoxious and arrogant and relayed relatively little information about Redwood trees. He was more interested in telling bad jokes and talking about his children, which had nothing to do with the train ride. Also, most of the redwood trees in their forest were cut down by previous owners so there really isn't anything to see. You are much better off to go to the Visitors Centre in Phillipsville and tour the 1/2 mile Founders Tree Trail. Ask for directions to see the albino redwood tree as well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Twisting turning road but beautiful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nothing to dislike about the hotel! Clean, attractive, well staffed, nice grounds, good value and the views are awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Colorado
Level Contributor
198 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The gravity house was interesting, but the real enjoyment was taking the train ride. Learned a lot about the mountain and had a humorous conductor to narrate. Worth the stop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
795 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Fun place for kids and adults”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Been around for a long time but still interesting and entertaining. Take the short train ride through the redwoods and see interesting logging artifacts spanning last century and beyond. In the gravity house watch water run uphill...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiefly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confusion Hill Gravity House also viewed

 
Garberville, Humboldt County
Piercy, Mendocino County
 

Been to Confusion Hill Gravity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing