We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location and good value.”

Anderson Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Philo B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here and it was a perfect in between location for wine tasting and even a quick trip to the coast. The area is very scenic and the locals are very nice. I was checking in late and they had no problems accommodating that. It is a small establishment so don't expect too many amenities but the charm of it and the value can't be beat. A bit close to the road noise but that's the same with Boonville Hotel down the way.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gingerita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Anderson Valley Inn for one night while visiting wineries in the area. The location for visiting the wineries around Philo is excellent. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was small and simple, but impeccably clean. It was 97 degrees the day we arrived and the rooms do not have air conditioning. However, it cooled down very quickly when the sun went down and the fans worked very well. The one criticism I had was that the outside area needed some tending. There is only one restaurant in Philo- a Mexican restaurant with decent food within walking distance of the Inn. Their spicy shrimp was probably the spiciest Mexican dish I've every had and I love Mexican food. There are other restaurants down the road in Boonville, just down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the Anderson Valley Inn on TripAdvisor while looking for a place to stay for a two day trip to Anderson Valley. We were intrigued by the description of "no tv or phone", "intermittent Wi-Fi", and the thought of sitting around the fire pit sharing a good bottle of Anderson Valley wine. And that is what we got. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a good supply of books. The fire pit was great and the wine was wonderful! AVI is conveniently located in Philo in close proximity to great wineries and restaurants. A gem in Anderson Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent two nights at the Inn and enjoyed the quiet and attention to detail. We had a unit with a kitchen, which was great for coffee and cheese and crackers. There was big fridge, but no stove. The owner was great--friendly and informative. They use compact fluorescence bulbs and seem concerned about the planet, which we liked. The nearby vineyards were great to visit--particularly Roederer. Afterwards, sitting around the firepit at the Inn was great--wood provided. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

There seem to be a lot of reviews here lamenting the fact that AVI has no TVs, but for me that's the draw. No phone, no TV, perfect. Lovely rustic rooms, comfy beds and great places to sit outside, read a book and enjoy the sunshine. Spotty cell service is another plus! Spending time in Anderson Valley is about exploring wineries, checking out the brewery, eating the great local food and enjoying California in a way few other places can offer. Truly getting away from it all. AVI, please keep doing what you're doing, and if you ever want to sell and retire, let me know!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrfisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here on a last minute impromptu trip to Anderson Valley -- our first visit in late October. Bob was very helpful in getting us set up and leaving a light on as we arriving late and even turning up the heat so it would be warm and cozy when we arrived.

The Inn is basic and comfortable accommodations...and very clean. The room we stayed in had a cabin-like feel to it. The bathroom was clean, simple with shower. This is not deluxe accommodations, it's a relatively quiet place to lay your head.

It is close to the road (route128) so you will hear traffic noises. They thoughtfully supply earplugs. You are not close to any coffee places, but The Inn supplies basic coffee and tea fixings in the main office. If you have more specific caffeine needs, get the suite with the kitchenette.

It's closer to most of the tasting rooms, to the park, and to Libby's -- the Mexican restaurant you won't want to miss (before 8pm).

I would come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. She'd always wanted to go to Napa. I had originally booked a ridiculously cheap Comfort Inn in Fairfield.

"Comfort Inn?" she asked, giving me the look that's become so familiar in 2.5 decades.

"It was a great deal! And it's really close to a lot of vineyards."

The look again.

I decided it prudent to cancel that reservation and see what else I could find. If you're looking for a darling little inn or B&B, you'll find a ton of them. And if you're willing to spend $300 a night, it's no problem.

Then I found the Anderson Valley Inn. It's definitely no frills. They don't even have TVs. But it was darling enough to get me out of the Comfort Inn dog house. Now, the Anderson Valley might seem a bit off the beaten path, but we did Napa vineyards and we did Anderson Valley's and we have to say that the laid-back tasting-room experience and fine wines in Anderson made it a fine choice.

We did a lot of traveling: to the charming towns of Mendocino and Healdsburg and many, many vinyards.

One of the highlights was popping open one of the prized Pinot Noir we purchased at Esterlina (my god, the views), and sipped it with some goat cheese at the fire pit at the Anderson Valley Inn.

And Bob and Lydia were fine hosts, giving great recommendations for restaurants and wine tours.

My only criticism is that they need to get a hot tub. If people want to spend more time on the property, it would give them something else to do.

Oh, btw, the wife was thrilled with the trip, and we just might go another 25 years.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManitouWarren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philo hotels
0.6 mi away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
23 reviews
2.6 mi away
Philo Apple Farm
Philo Apple Farm
#2 of 4 in Philo
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Valley Inn

Address: 8480 Highway 128, Philo, CA 95466-0147
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Philo
Price Range: $65 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi is now available for guests of the Anderson Valley Inn free of charge. Libby's Mexican Restaurant is within walking distance of the Inn. We welcome well behaved dogs. Children are welcome. Two of our rooms have two bedrooms and kitchenettes. Continental breakfast is served on weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anderson Valley Hotel Philo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing