We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could have stayed forever”
Review of Philo Apple Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Philo Apple Farm
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you would like to truly relax in a sophisticated yet rustic and comfortable environment The Apple Farm is for you. Three gorgeous cottages set amongst a working orchard you feel a part of something special. The staff including the animals are friendly and efficient. The breakfast served in the farmhouse kitchen was simple and excellent, homemade jams with toast, yogurt and granola and pressed coffee. For me it doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: There is not a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culinaryescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is very homely with very friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable, with beautiful flowers and grounds. The restaurant was excellent with a fantastic breakfast. We were made very welcome and wished we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: They are arranged motel fashion but don't let this put you off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandNicholsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here last year (see earlier review) and could not wait to return. We ended up coming on a cooking weekend that was not quite full so Karen let us partially participate as we had some other plans. It was wonderful - they either raised or knew where all the food was sourced......everything was outstanding, my preference is simple food prepared well...every meal fit the setting perfectly and they were more than generous with the wine....luckily it is short walk from the table to your very comfy bed...so one could indulge. It is the perfect setting for a weekend gathering, weddings, special birthdays etc. one of the other guests had originally come to wedding and then has returned several times, often to cooking weekends.

Gentle reminder...this is a working farm and the experience is not for those who want room service and a chocolate on their pillow. But if you want a slice of real California in the beautiful Andersen Valley, this is the place for you. It speaks to a place in my soul.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CACuriousVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I attended a wedding that the farm put together for my neice. They were fantastic!
I spent two nights in the "Green Door" cottage. It was so cute and adorable. Fresh flowers were in my room when I arrived, along with my key. I did check out the other cottages and they were all decorated nicely and had different layouts and bath configurations.

I would call this super luxe camping. Since this is a working farm they are busy working and you may not see much of the owners. If you do encounter them, they pretty much leave you be to enjoy yourself. Strick up a conversation with them and will talk with you.

In the mornings they will leave a light breakfast for you in the kitchen. Ours had fresh rasberries and peaches, yogurt, fresh jam, rolls and lots of coffee and apple juice.

Feel free to walk around the property and explore, They have farm animals and dogs. The cutting garden is cute and the patio area near the kitchen is a nice area to sit and enjoy what ever food you brought with you to eat during your stay.

Do not expect TV's or internet or a phone in your room. Bring some games or read a good book and relax. The area outside your cottage is lit. Venture off the property at night and the roads are dark and curvy.

Room Tip: The Red Cottage has a bath tub and an outdoor shower. I personally am glad I had the Green cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ziggy1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights, for a family wedding. They did a wonderful job with the wedding!
We stayed in the "Green Door" cottage, which is also the handicapped room, it has a ramp leaving up to the door.
Its very nicely appointed, the cottage is adorable, and the furnishings have more thought put into them than some hotels I've stayed at. Like other's have said there is not TV or Internet.

This is a working farm, so they aren't really there to attend to your every need, but if you do need anything, all you have to do is ask, once you get them talking they are all really lovely people. Be prepared to bring any food and drinks with you, it's a bit like luxury camping, except they serve a light breakfast in the mornings, coffee, apple juice, bread,farm fresh fruit, yogurt, preserves.

If you make reservations, you don't have to check in or anything you can just drive straight up to your cottage, it will be open and ready for you.
There are lots of animals on the property, cows, goats, chickens, sheep, friendly dogs which patrol and protect the property in the evenings and at night so you might hear them barking if something's rustling around at night that's not supposed to be there.

Also it get's pretty cold at night, so an extra blanket never hurts, be prepared to dress warm.
There's a few tiny spaced out towns and wineries, and a redwood park near by, but not much else.

The apples are amazing, as is the black berry jam and apple juice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelawhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you want some time in the "real" country, this is the way to do it! No phones or TVs, but well designed somewhat rustic cabins in the middle of an Apple Orchard. We knew we would arrive late, so we phoned ahead and left a message and they called back and said the cabin would be open and how to get to it. (this a working farm, so there is not someone available to answer the phone, but they are very prompt with returning call and emails) It had been a very hot day and it was quite warm in the metal (shed style) roofed room when we arrived, but we opened all the windows and truned on the fan and few hours later the cooling coastal fog had crept in and I had to turn off the fan and close the windows! The A frame cabins have a large window up at the
top on both sides and you could lie in bed and see all the stars in the clear dark sky....a real treat for any city dweller.

The bed was very comfortable with soft sheets and a lovely down comforter which we actually used in August after the temp cooled down. Our room had a very large bathroom with an old fashioned slipper tub AND an outdoor shower- which is my husband's favorite. There were fresh garden flowers and magazines the we enjoyed reading.....chairs on the front porch and in the room, so you find your perfect reading spot. We had a wonderful breakfast experience- more than we had barginned for- fresh scones that may have included some of the farms fresh goat cheese, fresh berries, apple juice, fruit spreads made on the farm, and lots of great coffee. The kitchen is very special, open comfortable, but well designed for the cooking classes, it appears. The grounds offered many cozy nooks to sit and a plethora of animals for children ( and adults) to interact with....there is also river access I believe. We could not have enjoyed our stay more....and want to come back for a cooking weekend. This not a typical CA B&B experience......but we do not really cotton to that, so it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Speak to the innkeeper about each room and she will help you select the best one for you. We had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CACuriousVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Apple farm is a cool alternative for families / folks interested in organic produce and some peace and quiet. No tv-computer-stereo. Just dogs, cats, pigs, cows, horses, goats, chickens and apples. Very peaceful and the setting is ideal for kids over 5 to run around and enjoy some independence and freedom on a real farm while you read a book, have a glass of wine and otherwise relax. I say all of this an there are probably only one or two family friendly rooms with two beds, but we got one and our kids loved it (as did we). Looking forward to returning with adults only to cook.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Philo Apple Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philo Apple Farm

Address: 18501 Greenwood Rd, Philo, CA 95466-9416
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Philo
Price Range: $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Philo Apple Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philo Apple Farm Hotel Philo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing