We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST LITTLE INN YOU'VE EVER STAYED IN”
Review of The Madrones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Madrones
Ranked #1 of 4 Philo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE BEST LITTLE INN YOU'VE EVER STAYED IN”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

what a little gem--we're only sorry we didn't book it for more than one night. Beautiful rooms, calm, peaceful exterior. Our room overlooked the vineyard, and it felt as if we were somewhere in the champagne or Bordeaux region in France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    17
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
87
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As annual pilgrims to the Mendocino Music Festival, we've always whizzed right through the lovely Anderson Valley. This year I convinced everyone to stop at The Madrones along the way, and we were so glad that we did. Waking up to the gorgeous vineyard views and the idyllic setting was the highlight of our entire vacation. We also had a fabulous down-home Mexican meal at Libby's, and stopped for a Navarro wine tasting the next morning. We will be staying longer the next time, to enjoy more wineries and hike through the Hendy Woods. It's picture perfect, and Jim was a wonderful host. He has put tremendous thought and care into his property, and it shows! We can't wait to return and enjoy his new pizza oven (restaurant soon to open).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmheilpern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Three couples (extended family) spent two nights at The Madrones. Despite glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, our expectations were exceeded. The proprietor Jim Roberts' design was inspired by Italian villas. We loved the design, the furnishings, and the location; the room overlooking the vineyard is amazing. Early July was very hot (high temps 105), but it was dry heat, and things cooled off quickly in the late afternoon. The rooms have AC and were quite comfortable. A few reviewers have complained about the lack of daily maid service and the absence of a full breakfast service at The Madrones. However, this was not a problem for us, because we are not big breakfast people. Pastries, yogurt, and granola were perfect. Clearly there is no need for daily maid service and clean linens for people staying only a few days. It is a matter of expectations. We appreciated the privacy, and the ability to have breakfast and our happy hour outdoors in the beautiful courtyard. Probably not a great place for young kids. Jim was helpful and happy to discuss local attractions, but he stays very much in the background. Philo/Anderson Valley are well worth 2 days (Hendy Woods trail, wineries, restaurants), and this provided a nice contrast to our next stop in Mendocino. Note that several of the vineyards/tasting rooms in Anderson Valley are not open Tuesdays/Wednesdays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Madrones for the first time this past month when I was in for Pinotfest. This is the ideal spot for anyone looking for a true escape, privacy and comfort. My room (#3) was in the newly-developed back section, and the appointments were perfect, from the linens, to the bath, down to special little touches like the granola left for first-morning breakfast. The room decor was incredibly tasteful, the bed itself both gorgeous and comfortable, and the views of the hills and vineyards nearby. Access to the room includes availability of a lovely little outdoor patio with cafe tables, which was a nice place to catch some sun.

The proprietor/owner Jim gets all the credit for the vibe and the decor. He has also planted the beautiful gardens on the property. Jim was always available if I needed him, very helpful with everything from my bags, to suggesting a good running path for me.

The other huge bonus of this location is that it's walking distance to the absolute best tasting rooms in the area, including Balo, Goldeneye and Drew. I can't wait to go back, especially with the addition of the restaurant that Jim is opening this summer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Extremely happy, peaceful, and picturesque only begins to describe a weekend at the madrones. Jim and the winery's located at your backdoor exceed all expectations. Each guest suite has a boutique feel of being right at home. Be sure to enjoy bocce across the street at Ballo or an afternoon game of backgammon and a glass of wine in the garden. Truly looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlelizabeth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Madrones is perfectly situated between Boonville and Philo for that wine tasting overnight or just a peaceful escape from the hub bub and fast paced daily life. Owned and operated by accomplished interior design pro, Jim Roberts, The Madrones 4 guest suites are all tastefully decorated and uniquely appointed. Think interior design magazines! Each suite has an ensuite bathroom and all the necessary appliances and amenities including free wireless Internet. Making the experience perfect are the retail spaces below including 3 tasting rooms: Drew (outstanding Pinot Noir), Bink and coming soon Knez. Jim operates a gift shop, Sun & Cricketts with an amazing collection of uniquely eclectic wares. Of course the retail closes at 5pm assuring restfulq quiet sleep. Jim is wonderfully gracious and will do anything to make your stay perfect. The capper, the surrounding fields and hills have some of the best Pinot and Alsatian wines in the U.S. Make your reservations early for any event weekend.

Room Tip: They are all great. One two bedroom only. For couples ask for one of 2 rooms that have window overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Madrones for three days over Thanksgiving while visiting family in the area and found it to be a wonderful choice. We had the two bedroom suite even though we only need one bedroom but enjoyed the luxurious spacious living and dining area and the first class well equipped and supplied kitchenette. No daily housekeeping service is offered but the unit was so well supplied that was not a problem.

The hospitality and helpfulness of the host Jim Roberts was outstanding. He even telephoned us prior to our arrival to confirm that our expectations would be met.

All of their four units are on a second level with stairs that might challenge a disabled person but were not a problem to us, and we are in our eighties.

The furnishings, views, and general amenities were superb, the best in Anderson Valley in our experience. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philo
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
517 reviews
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
0.3 mi away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
21.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
633 reviews
23.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madrones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madrones

Property: The Madrones
Address: 9000 Hwy 128, Philo, CA 95466
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Philo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Madrones 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen in Sunset, Food & Wine and Departures Magazines, The Madrones is an Agriturismo style destination which offers just four luxurious guest quarters for travelers who seek something unique and intimate in rural setting. This is not a hotel or B&B, so the service is very low touch...no daily maid service is provided. Perfect for travelers looking for a place to get away without someone hovering over you. If you are looking for accommodations rich in amenities, such as spas, restaurants, room service & breakfast, this is probably not a good fit. Surrounded by vineyards and wineries in the heart of the Anderson Valley, this Mediterranean styled compound which was originally a home and private business has garnered prestigious national awards and recognition. The property has four separate tasting rooms offering local small lot wines, as well as a curiosity store, cheese counter and private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Madrones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing