We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good place to stay but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

A good location close to the interstate and part of old Rt66. If you like trains, it is close to them as well. Potentially lots of noise but the room walls kept most of it out and I slepy soundly.

The but.... bit. You need to get in your car to get something decent to eat. Only fast food places within walking distance. The staff are well aware of this limitation and know where to point people to eat.

The rooms were well appointed, clean and tidy and the place generally show signs of a recent refit or is kept well maintained. The access to the upper rooms is via an external staircase.
The room had a good size TV and a coffee maker.

Breakfast was well above average with cooked items such as sausages and eggs. It kept me going until late in the afternoon.

I would stay here again. However, from I would eat out first before I arrive and bring a drink in with me.

Room Tip: The room I had faced the railway, I could see it but barely hear it. So probably a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback in regards to your experience at our hotel. The front desk staff members are indeed very courteous and accommodating. They are assertive in making sure that our guests have a pleasant experience. Our rooms are extremely well taken care of by our tremendous housekeepers and their focus is to provide a clean and comfortable room as you have mentioned. Our guests thoroughly enjoy the breakfast room. We understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and our complimentary hot breakfast menu includes: make your own waffles, bacon, sausage, eggs, assorted Danishes, assorted bagels, assorted bread, yogurt, oatmeal, corn flakes, fruit loops, raisin bran, apple juice, orange juice, teas, and coffee. We definitely go above and beyond Best Western requirement for the complimentary breakfast. Our goal is to provide the best experience possible for the guest and thank you for mentioning our 42 inch LCD TV’s including 150 HD channels that our hotel provides for the guests. Free Wi-Fi, In room coffee pot, Microwave, and Mini-Fridges, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
42
30
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

On my way up to Lake Arrowhead I spent the night at the Best Western Cajon Pass. It was a good find - good price, clean and comfortable, with friendly and helpful staff. On check in it came up that I was interested in trains and would like a room with a track view, if possible. The staff was very helpful in recommending a good room for that purpose. The property is right adjacent to the BNSF and Union Pacific tracks to the west, Interstate 15 to the east and a state highway to the west. This has the potential for noise, but all things considered the rooms are well insulated and fairly quiet. For railfans, the nearby area has many places to go watch trains and not have to trespass on railroad or private property. The staff also made a good recommendation for dining that night. The free breakfast was typical for a motel and quite adequate. All in all a good find and an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback in regards to your experience at our hotel. The front desk staff members are indeed very courteous and accommodating. They are assertive in making sure that our guests have a pleasant experience. Our guests thoroughly enjoy the breakfast room. We understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and our complimentary hot breakfast menu includes: make your own waffles, bacon, sausage, eggs, assorted danishes, assorted bagels, assorted bread, yogurt, oatmeal, corn flakes, fruit loops, raisin bran, apple juice, orange juice, teas, and coffee. We definitely go above and beyond Best Western requirement for the complimentary breakfast. The location is indeed great and the food options nearby are tremendous in terms of variety and proximity. There are several dining options nearby. The hotel staff strives to improve the guest’s experience and I hope that you would please consider staying with us again. I am most certain that your stay with us will be a memorable and wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This property is noisy because of the highway but the pluses are a nice staff, clean and comfortable rooms. and a lovely high desert location. Breakfast not bad either, with eggs and sausage offered. Trains are a plus for me.

Room Tip: Unless you have a pet, pick a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback in regards to your experience at our hotel. Our rooms are extremely well taken care of by our tremendous housekeepers and their focus is to provide a clean and comfortable room as you have mentioned. Our guests thoroughly enjoy the breakfast room. We understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and our complimentary hot breakfast menu includes: make your own waffles, bacon, sausage, eggs, assorted danishes, assorted bagels, assorted bread, yogurt, oatmeal, corn flakes, fruit loops, raisin bran, apple juice, orange juice, teas, and coffee. We definitely go above and beyond Best Western, requirement for the complimentary breakfast. As far as noise complaints, we again, apologize about that particular experience during your stay at our hotel. The hotel staff strives to make the guest’s experience a memorable and wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed at this Best Western before and we were pleasantly surprised at how low the room rates were this time, especially over the Christmas holiday period. It is definitely good value for the money. However, between our first and second days there, no one ever came to clean the room even though we notified the front desk about this in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JerSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
There are definitely some key points in your stay which are absolutely unacceptable. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you have may have experienced during your stay at our hotel. We will be discussing this review in our weekly staff meeting and will make sure our entire staff is fully aware of our policies and high standards for this hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was your average Best Western. Two queen beds, mini fridge, and a microwave. The room was clean. The complimentary breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal, plastic wrapped pastries, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. The pool and hot tub are outside, so not very user friendly in the winter. The exercise equipment is old and/or broken. Close to Mountain High Ski Resort.

Room Tip: I chose a ground floor room so that I could park as close to the hotel room door as possible. It ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaJenniTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Once again, from the entire team here at the Best Western Cajon Pass, we apologize about your experience, we currently are undergoing renovations and our exercise room has been addressed as on of the issues and hope that you will try us again in the future. We pride ourselves in providing the best experience that we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Located between very busy rail lines and the interstate (both dealing with the mountain grades) the night's sleep frequently disturbed by the sounds of the many trains and whistles. Motel overall was clean with an OK breakfast selection.
We would stay here again for the location in our travels.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, suggest using ear plugs to deal with the frequent train horns/whistles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Although we are currently undergoing various remodeling and have met the standards for breakfast, eggs, sausage, waffles and a large variety of breakfast items, we truly do appreciate your input. It has been addressed that noise levels have increased over the years. By telling us how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having to visit family (in-laws) in Phelan, it is like another planet to me. I decided to stay at the Best Western just off the freeway. I AM SO GLAD I DID! They had comfortable beds with 5 pillows each! The staff (except one woman) were friendly and helpful, quite like family. I LOVED IT THERE! I plan to stay at this hotel anytime I go visit the family in that area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Our goal is not to only provide superior customer service but to have you feel like you are at home and not on another planet. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phelan
9.6 mi away
Holiday inn Express & Suites Hesperia
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn Rancho Cucamonga/Ontario
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn R...
#1 of 9 in Rancho Cucamonga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Victorville Hesperia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Victorville
Hilton Garden Inn Victorville
#1 of 19 in Victorville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
9.5 mi away
Motel 6 Hesperia
Motel 6 Hesperia
#8 of 9 in Hesperia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Victorville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass

Property: BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass
Address: 8317 US Highway 138, Phelan, CA 92371-4809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Phelan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Phelan hotel located at the base of the scenic San Bernardino Mountains and enjoy a peaceful, serene visit in California. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Highway 138 and Interstate 15 just minutes away from Glen Helen Regional Park where guests may enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trails and camping. The Pacific Rim Trail, Auto Club Speedway, San Manuel Amphitheater, Green Tree Golf Course and Mountain High Ski Resort are all just a short drive from this Phelan, California hotel. Guests will also appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, microwave and refrigerator. Visitors may choose to upgrade to a business suite or a specialty room which will accommodate up to eight people. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass offers a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and spa as well as beautiful mountain scenery. A friendly staff is standing by to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cajon Pass Hotel Phelan
Best Western Phelan
Phelan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing