We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phelan Best Western Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Cajon Pass
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very old run down hotel. The swimming pool was ice cold and the jacuzzi was not operating. I was very turned off by these two points. When I arrived at the breakfast at 7:30 a.m they were out of the scrambled eggs and they never made one canister of decaf coffee. I would never stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lacosta43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Once again, from the entire team here at the Best Western Cajon Pass, we apologize about your experience and hope that you will try us again in the future. Our pool is not heated and our Spa is upon request, as we operate on propane and do our best to conserve energy, yet be green friendly. As for our breakfast we take pride in since we do exceed most requirements of other hotels in our area. We do try to provide the best experience that we can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stay near san manuel for iron maiden even people party the night before the concert we have quality rest location of the hotel is very good if you are going to a event in san manuel amphitheater is only a couple of exits from there and no traffic in the way in

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your posting. Since your stay, our bathtubs have been refinished and we are in the process of replacing carpeting and our TV system has been upgraded to HD with over 150 channels, including HBO and Cinemax. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future. We are the closest hotel to the amphitheatre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I found the price surprisingly low for a Best-Western quality room. I would have expected it to be so popular with railfans that it could charge a premium: some of the rooms on the side facing the tracks afford you a view of all 4 lines leading to the summit of Cajon Pass, and there's prime train-watching near the first freeway interchange to the south, as well as to the north at the summit proper. Breakfast exceeded expectations: scrambled eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, cereal, bagels, pastry. Noise is very subjective, but I felt the sound of the trains to be well muffled: loud enough to know that one was coming without having to watch out the window, but soft enough to be drowned out by conversation or the TV.

Other than fast food at the adjacent gas stations, the closest place for a real restaurant is the Summit Inn Cafe at the next freeway exit to the north: it offers okay diner food and lots of Route 66 memorabilia. For more choices, you could go to Wrightwood, less than 15 miles away, which has a fine bakery and several restaurants catering to vacationers; or to San Bernardino or Hesperia, which have the kind of places you expect in suburbia.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bicycledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We do appreciate your warm kind comments. Since your stay, our bathtubs have been refinished and we are in the process of replacing carpeting and our TV system has been upgraded to HD with over 150 channels, including HBO and Cinemax. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future. There is a local cafe just 8 miles west on hwy 138 just before the turnoff to Mt. High ski resort and the city of Wrightwood on hwy 2.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Pretty good for a place in no-man's-land. It exists to service a freeway interchange. Phelan is ten miles away and there are really no nearby restaurants (unless you count Del Taco, Subway and McDonalds) and there are is no residential area that I could see. There is no 'town'.

Having said that, the property is well maintained for its extremely high turnover and hard use. Except for tradesman, no one would stay a second night here...there's no reason. The motel is sandwiched between a railroad mainline and I-15, two arteries that are always active. Yet the room was surprisingly quiet. It must have good soundproofing. It could have been cleaner; carpet and one chair had stains.

I'd stay here again but eat dinner in Victorville or San Berdo before checking in.

Room Tip: Get a room on the RR side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtismapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback in regards to your experience at our hotel. Since your stay, our bathtubs have been refinished and we are in the process of replacing carpeting and our TV system has been upgraded to HD with over 150 channels, including HBO and Cinemax. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future. There is a local cafe just 8 miles on hwy 138 just before the turnoff to Mt. High ski resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This property is very well maintained and meets the criteria of a 3 star moderate hotel, but is priced much lower. I travel often and stay with Marriott and Holiday Inn properties, but I have to say that I am impressed with Best Western - at least this one. The property is very clean and parking is very easy. Check in is quick, staff is very friendly. The rooms are very clean, and are the pictures are very up to date. The beds are very comfy, and the ac works very well. The TV has a good selection and is positioned perfectly in the room. The room has all the extra amenities, including fridge and microwave. The bathroom is the only down fall. They are small and the shower can use upgrading but the water temp was great. I like that they have liquid soap, conditioner, and shampoo dispensers in the shower. The rooms are soundproof too. good plus. The pool area is basic but very clean and the hot tub is nice as well - they even provide pool towels. Breakfast was very good! Lots of choices, including hot items (eggs and sausage). The host is VERY VERY nice, and they keep it well maintained and fresh. Very clean too. Overall, I was extremely pleased. This is a nice property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VPNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback in regards to your experience at our hotel. Since your stay, our bathtubs have been refinished, and our TV system has been upgraded to HD with over 150 channels, including HBO and Cinamax. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The showers are cold. I like that this hotel is near the ski resort. But the cold showers make me not ever want to go back. If you want to stay near the resort, be sure to call in advance. The other hotels fill up quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoccerCentralCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Once again, from the entire team here at the Best Western Cajon Pass, we apologize about your experience and hope that you will try us again in the future. Our water is provided via a well and needs adjusting through out the year based on the external elements, We pride ourselves in providing the best experience that we can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here on night during the Amgen Tour of California bike race in 2013. Was pleasantly surprised. Clean, well-maintained room. Room faced away from freeway so traffic noise was not an issue at all. Plus the included breakfast, free WIFI, and friendly, helpful staff made me quite happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M, General Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Our entire staff strongly take your comments into consideration which offers tremendous value to the hotel and helps our staff achieve the goal of providing the most wonderful and memorable experience. I hope to see you return next year for your bike tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phelan
15.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn Rancho Cucamonga/Ontario
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn R...
#1 of 10 in Rancho Cucamonga
503 reviews
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn I-15
Comfort Inn I-15
#3 of 7 in Fontana
55 reviews
12.6 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Crestline
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Holiday inn Express & Suites Hesperia
9.6 mi away
Motel 6 Hesperia
Motel 6 Hesperia
#7 of 9 in Hesperia
49 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Plus InnSuites Ontario Airport E Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cajon Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cajon Pass

Address: 8317 US Highway 138, Phelan, CA 92371-4809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Phelan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
Price Range: $78 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cajon Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Phelan hotel located at the base of the scenic San Bernardino Mountains and enjoy a peaceful, serene visit in California. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Highway 138 and Interstate 15 just minutes away from Glen Helen Regional Park where guests may enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trails and camping. The Pacific Rim Trail, Auto Club Speedway, San Manuel Amphitheater, Green Tree Golf Course and Mountain High Ski Resort are all just a short drive from this Phelan, California hotel. Guests will also appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, microwave and refrigerator. Visitors may choose to upgrade to a business suite or a specialty room which will accommodate up to eight people. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass offers a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and spa as well as beautiful mountain scenery. A friendly staff is standing by to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cajon Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cajon Pass Hotel Phelan
Best Western Phelan
Phelan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing