We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Cajon Pass
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phelan, California
1 review
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've stayed here when working a lot of overtime down in valley. It's more econimical than wear & tear on vehicle, and cheaper on gas, rather than driving 120 mi/day! I've always had clean rooms and the staff is excellent. It's NOT a resort, but is well worth the price/convenience. The trains/nor freeway noise bother me at all and I'm a day sleeper, due to work schedule. The staff will catch me coming and going and ask if I need ANYTHING, or if I ask, they're more than happy to accomodate any needs.

Room Tip: Call ahead! This location is normally quiet during week, but used by many contractors on railroad/fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the compliments that you have given the staff members. The staff members are aggressive in making sure that our guests enjoy their stay and we see ourselves as a support system if the guest ever needs anything. They are accommodating and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and the attractions nearby. We look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
46
36
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Foothills
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a very nice place, comfy bed, clean room, excellent staff, and very reasonable rates. Only complaint is signage - we came in from Hwy 138 and had a hard time finding the right driveway. Go in thru the Circle K driveway and head towards the back side of that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamNGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your terrific experience with us. We work very hard to make the establishment a wonderful place to stay and when we hear words like comfy, clean, and excellent, we know that we are headed in the right direction. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for providing us with this feedback and we want to continue to make sure that our quality reminds high and our guests continue to come back. I apologize for the difficulty in finding the correct driveway. We are in the midst of making the driveway more noticeable and easy for our guests to locate. We have a large Best Western sign mounted high in the air, and we will continue to find various ways to capture the guest’s attention. We hope to see you again shortly. Please stop by again soon.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branscomb, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our first room was not cleaned well at all. The carpet was was littered with debris. I guess the housekeeper doesn't want to pack her vacuum cleaner up to the second floor. I requested a new room & was promptly assigned a new room. The second room was cleaner but still had issues. The carpet still did not look like it was vacuumed lately. After getting unpacked & situated I happened to walk by the refrigerator & stepped onto soaking wet carpet! I opened the freezer door to find it full of water! It looks like it was defrosted & allowed to just drain onto the carpet. At this point I wasn't gonna request a third room. Good thing I didn't need to use the fridge seeing as it was still flooded with water. Luckily this was just an overnite visit as I would not want to stay here ever again. One more thing.......the bathroom faucet barley flowed water with most of it leaking out of the handle onto the vanity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombero-redbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for completing this survey and your feedback provides great insight into how we can be the best hotel possible. I sincerely apologize if your expectations were not met and I can assure you that I will address this with the entire staff. We make sure that all of our housekeepers clean each room thoroughly and they have a checklist that they must fill out before they can proceed to the next room. We are currently completing our routine quarterly deep cleaning, where we will shampoo all the carpets, wipe/wash the walls, deep clean the bathrooms, steam clean the curtains, and really make sure that each room is stellar. In addition, we have a full-time maintenance employee who is adamant on fixing all damaged products on our property. Any damages are reported to the maintenance department, and they are determined to fix it immediately. Sometimes, a guest would damage something in the room and it wasn't reported to the front desk. However, we complete inspections to all the rooms and make sure that everything is working properly. We do not overlook any aspect of the guest’s stay with us and we hope that you can give us another chance to provide you a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

On I-15 between San Bernadino and Victorville is the turnoff to Wrightwood and Palmdale. It' route 138. At the exit sharing the interchange with 3 gas stations, a Del Taco, a Subway, and a McDonalds is this Best Western. The closest restaurant is 15 minutes away either in Wrightwood, Phelan, or towards Victorville. If you find railroad trains comforting and the freeway something you can ignore, this is a great hotel. The rooms are well maintained. The internet worked great. The room was clean. The bed was comfy. It's not a destination, but a great layover. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room away from I-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We appreciate your encouraging comments and we will continue to work towards improving all aspects of your stay. The location is quite unique and there are many different attractions nearby that many of our guests enjoy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and hope that you stay with us again. I am confident we will provide another memorable experience.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The staff was so nice and the view was beautiful. You can't beat this place, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad that you had an amazing trip and enjoyed your stay at our property. The compliments that you have given the staff are quite insightful and it lets management know that we doing our best to provide guests a memorable experience. They are always ready to share any knowledge that guest might have. We would like to have you come again shortly.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Historic US 66 is nearby if you want to take that drive. We stayed overnite to visit Wrightwood where you can have a peaceful day in town. The motel has all that you need, clean room , breakfast, helpful staff. Freight trains that keep rolling though day & night. The pool area was in great condition.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoHop132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
This motel is in a great location near the Historic US 66 and we do have helpful staff members looking to provide any knowledge they have about the surrounding attractions. Thank you for giving us the chance to be part of your trip visiting Wrightwood. By letting us know that our rooms are clean, many breakfast selections, and a great staff, we will continue to build on these attributes and provide great value to all of our guests. I hope you can give us another chance to provide a wonderful experience and I am confident we can achieve that goal.

Sincerely,

Mangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here overnight to go skiing at Mountain High. This hotel was so much nicer than we imagined. Trust my review because even though we knew this wasn't a 5-star luxury hotel, we've stayed at some of the best places (Four Seasons Los Angeles, Four Seasons Bora Bora, the W in NYC) and know what we're talking about. Having said that, our room (ground floor, room 119, even parked our car 3 feet from the door to our room) was super clean with fresh linens and 4 fluffy pillows. The beds were perfect--really. Adequate lighting in the room and even though people have written about the highway noise, we barely noticed it. Just bring a sound machine or find an app on your phone if you think it's going to affect your night's sleep. Sink space was perfect, and to our surprise, the bathroom was not only fine but SUPER CLEAN. The shower was great and there's even a wall-mounted soap dispenser with soap, shampoo and conditioner. Because we didn't know what to expect, we brought with us a variety of things that we thought we'd need (soap, shampoo, Windex wipes) and we ended up using NONE because the room had everything and it was clean. There's a frig and microwave. Didn't use the micro and the frig worked perfectly. Not a huge fan of walking around barefoot on dirty hotel carpet, but the room was so clean, this was NOT an issue. Even my kid asked me why I wasn't wearing flip-flops, and I said, "this place is really clean. Don't worry about it." Now I know it sounds like I have an OCD about cleanliness, but that's not the case. I just don't like sleeping or using stuff that's not been cleaned, and this place satisfied me completely. TV had plenty of choices and we had what appeared to be a new remote. Had the breakfast the day we checked out and it exceeded our expectations. From other reviews, it didn't sound too good and we were prepared to go to the nearby McDonalds. Take it from someone who's eaten $30 breakfasts at the Four Seasons--this was totally fine and filled us up for a morning of skiing. There's instant oatmeal, three kinds of cold cereal, bread and bagels, and a few other items. We missed the eggs and hot selections because we got there late, but we didn't even miss it. Check out and in was super fast. Desk personnel were friendly and nice. When we left, I told the front desk person that I was going to write a really good review because we were really pleased. Overall, this place was--as I wrote in the title of my review--way better than we imagined.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketheman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at Best Western Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Your wonderful comments lets us know that we are on the right path to providing a great experience to all of our guests. We have worked very hard to make your stay with us a memorable and enjoyable experience. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we will continue to find ways to improve. The amenities and breakfast selections that you have highlighted are terrific and we continue to look for ways to upgrade, but the compliments that you have given our staff members is terrific. They are indeed very courteous and accommodating. Please make sure to visit us again sometime soon in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phelan
9.6 mi away
Holiday inn Express & Suites Hesperia
15.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn Rancho Cucamonga/Ontario
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn R...
#1 of 10 in Rancho Cucamonga
486 reviews
12.5 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Crestline
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Motel 6 Hesperia
Motel 6 Hesperia
#7 of 9 in Hesperia
48 reviews
9.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Victorville Hesperia
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn I-15
Comfort Inn I-15
#3 of 7 in Fontana
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cajon Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cajon Pass

Property: Best Western Cajon Pass
Address: 8317 US Highway 138, Phelan, CA 92371-4809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Phelan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cajon Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Phelan hotel located at the base of the scenic San Bernardino Mountains and enjoy a peaceful, serene visit in California. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Highway 138 and Interstate 15 just minutes away from Glen Helen Regional Park where guests may enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trails and camping. The Pacific Rim Trail, Auto Club Speedway, San Manuel Amphitheater, Green Tree Golf Course and Mountain High Ski Resort are all just a short drive from this Phelan, California hotel. Guests will also appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, microwave and refrigerator. Visitors may choose to upgrade to a business suite or a specialty room which will accommodate up to eight people. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass offers a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and spa as well as beautiful mountain scenery. A friendly staff is standing by to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Cajon Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cajon Pass Hotel Phelan
Best Western Phelan
Phelan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing