We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasteful food, atmosphere and service”
Review of Thai Issan - CLOSED

Thai Issan
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Petaluma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tasteful food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Enjoyed dinner here. Many flavorful selections with your choice of degree of spice. Curries very good. I prefer table near window, pleasant experience. Waitress attentive without being intrusive. will definitely go back to try more items on menu. Ingredients were fresh and not over manipulated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skypuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great!!!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Great food and authentic atmosphere. Pumpkin curry to die for. Pineapple fried rice good as well. Definitely would go again, unfortunately don't live in area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alafaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, boring food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just tried Thai Issan for lunch today with a friend while visiting Petaluma. The restaurant itself is lovely. Beautifully decorated, spacious, quiet, with lovely views outdoors. As others have said, there is seating both on the floor, and at tables with chairs. Despite being on a busy corner, the traffic outside could not be heard. A great place to have actual conversations with friends! The server was gracious and kind, and took our orders promptly.

I ordered my gold standard: Pad Thai with crispy tofu for $8.00 (lunch price). The menu did not reflect that it had any vegetables in it, which most other places have. I had to pay $1.00 extra to have them put broccoli in it. Also I had confirmed with the server that the tofu was crispy. When my dish arrived, it contained chicken. They graciously returned it and brought a new dish, piping hot, containing tofu. I should mention that a tasty salad was served before the meal and had a delicious dressing on it. Small, but good.

So why only 3 stars? Well, the Pad Thai was boring and somewhat dry. I am used to a more flavorful sauce, where the sweetness of the tamarind paste stands out. My noodles were thinner than usual, and nearly flavorless. It also needed way more sauce to keep the noodles from congealing when cooled off. My friend had the Pad Se-ew - pan fried noodles "with a sweet garlicy soy sauce". I tasted it, and it too was bland. I did not pick up any flavor of garlic or soy. Plus, her noodles were even drier than mine. They were really unappealing.

Overall, the place is lovely but if you are a noodle fan, this is likely not the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very flavorful Thai”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A great restaurant that has stood the test of time. The restaurant has a full bar, seating at tables and on the floor with low tables and back rests. The food is fresh and many dishes feature lots of veggies! The laab gai is one of the best I've ever had (especially the duck). Curries (this time had the pumpkin) are very flavorful and not over cooked. Lots of nicely cooked eggplant dishes. Plenty of vegetarian options. The sticky rice is an added charge but some of the best Sticky rice in CA. Entertainment coupons are often available. Prices are reasonable even without coupons.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiker-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“cozy and fun, sit on the...”
Reviewed January 12, 2008

cozy and fun, sit on the floor, get an appetizer. its vegan and veg friendly. how has a full bar!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Issan also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing