We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property has declined. Customer Service Lacking to the Max.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This property has declined. Customer Service Lacking to the Max.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel approx five times a year over four years. It used to be a friendly, clean motel with comfortable rooms. Over the past year every stay has included problems with the room. In Nov 2012 the heater didn't work during our five day stay, and we were very uncomfortably cold. Managements response was lukewarm as well.
The next stay we had problems with the TV. After traveling all day we wanted to relax in the room but instead had to wait for tv maintenance.
Recently our stay included a guy in the next room standing on his balcony smoking, the smoke being sucked into our room by the heating unit. The room smelled like cigarettes as did the bedding.
This past weeks stay we reported the window didn't lock. The desk clerks response was indignant and rude. He totally failed to satisfy us and instead displayed horrible people skills.
We are done with this AWFUL property and tired of things not working. I'm not staying here again. It is really sad because once it was such a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelstoomuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    134
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
95
119
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Put off by the sky high hotel prices in San Francisco, my family and I used this hotel as a base and commuted into the city from Petaluma.
The hotel is clearly family run and you can see that they take pride in the place and are trying very hard to make it a success.
Our double queen room was a little on the small side but adequate for our needs. The hotel is located right next to a highway so expect some traffic noise.
The outdoor pool was great for the kids.
Breakfast is served in the lobby every morning. The selection is perfectly adequate but be aware that it can get congested as the area is small and there is not a great deal of seating. The owners do very well however with the space they have.
An easy 45 mins into San Francisco but would be wise to avoid rush hour.
Applebee's restaurant right next door to hotel and an IHOP right across street (kids eat free after 4pm with the purchase of an adult meal).
Safeway supermarket in town. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgieGirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this great hotel. It has the feel of a condo rather than a hotel. Wonderful beds and breakfast. Centrally located to wine country too. Downtown Petaluma is an adorable historic shopping area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissssBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I choice this hotel because we are Choice Privileges card holders. We were there June 21,22 & 23, to bowl in the California USBC Open Championships. They were suppose to be offering a discount for bowlers, but there was a NASCAR race close that weekend. So their rates were inflated, because of NASCAR with no consideration for the bowlers. The hotel rooms and building need updating and although it is a non-smoking establishment there are cigarette butts laying everywhere outside the doors and on the staircase. The television was hard to figure out and the keyboard would not function. If you do stay here, request a room closer to the office, to get away from the freeway noise, but not over the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
George S., thank you for your comments. Yes, in general, the summer months and event weekends(whether summer time or not) drive our rates. In your specific situation, this year one of your games for the USBC Open Championship fell on the same weekend as NASCAR happening in neighboring Sonoma. Our agreement with the Bowling Commission was to extend a special rate to bowlers for all tournaments scheduled in Petaluma except for the one happening on NASCAR weekend. It was the Commission's responsiblity to let all the bowlers know about our decision.

I am very sorry you weren't happy. We would love to have your tournament happen during the fall or spring when we are not in high season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family and I rented this hotel looking for a place to stay near the wineries of Sonoma / Napa. It was conveniently located (about 15 - 20 minutes drive) to both areas. The staff, the rooms, the breakfast, the facilities in general are great! As something very positive, the breakfast had boiled eggs, scramble eggs, bacon, sausages, a good variety of breads and muffins, hot chocolate/coffee and many more. I will love to come back and stay in that cozy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaraElba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
750 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Quality Inn in Petaluma for 3 nights on a 2 week CA road trip. The hotel was adequate for what we needed it for. Convenient location, right off 101, a short drive from Santa Rosa, Sonoma & Napa & a short drive to Point Reyes Seashore.

The continental breakfast was good & had more choices than most. There was a cross-fit tournament in town the weekend we were there so the hotel was completely booked which meant there were always a lot of people in the breakfast area. We were always able to find a place to sit though (even if it was on the couch).

We stayed in the building that you see right as you exit 101 which meant we had a lot of traffic noise (under the red sign). I think if you were in any other building you’d be far enough away not to hear it.

My biggest complaint is the slooooooooooow internet. Heck, we had better internet service in the middle of the wilderness than we did while at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great staff-friendly helpful. Great hostess at breakfast. The rooms-average quality budget room. The TV remote-impossible to figure out. The internet in the room, the keyboard didn't work. Ended up using the computer in the office. Clean room but nothing special. You get what you pay for. The Comfort Inn in Ukiah-so much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.6 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 10 in Rohnert Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma

Property: Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
Address: 5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954-6535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern edge of Petaluma, one of the oldest cites in California founded in 1858, stands the distinctive Cape Cod style complex of buildings that is the Quality Inn Petaluma. Rated three diamonds by AAA, the 108 room hotel serves as the travelers comfortable and convenient hub to historic downtown, pacific coast beaches, wetland hiking trails, golf courses, wineries and family farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Petaluma
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma CA - Sonoma County
Petaluma Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing