We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This motel needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Petaluma Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Aberdeen, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“This motel needs updating”
Reviewed May 8, 2008

The room we were assigned had a TV that didn't work. When we picked up the phone to call the office, the cradle of the phone was full of brown gunk--either spilled coffee or soda. The bathroom shower door didn't close all the way and the general condition of the room was not in top notch condition. We were assigned the room next door then and in that room the cover to the controls for the inroom AC couldnt be opened (I finally forced it partially open). The pool was closed for the season--thankfully for it had green sludge on the surface. The expanded breakfast included waffles, boiled eggs, and the usual assortment of rolls and cereal, coffe and juice BUT there were only 5 tables in the room to serve the 73 sleeping units. Positive coments are the front desk is pleasant and they accept pets for $10.

  • Liked — accepted pet
  • Disliked — general unkept condition
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    267
    99
    26
    15
See reviews for
198
184
47
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

I was in town for training and this place was the nicest and closet to my training location. I just have to say that this place was the NICEST place that I have stayed in awhile. Even thou it was close to the road / hwy, there was plenty of eating establisments and there was a SAFEWAY across the street. We had a clean, comfy room( and it was really quiet). The bed was comfy and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was VERY nice. There was alot of flowers / bushes around the parking lot and you really felt COZY while staying there. The staff was VERY friendly and helpfull when you needed supplies. The cont. breakfast was also VERY filling and there was many choices ( and a nice sitting area to eat and watch the morning news!). Overall, this place was VERY affordable and we would be happy to stay there again if I have another training session in Petaluma.

  • Liked — great atmosphere and quiet night sleep
  • Disliked — near a busy street (but you really didnt hear that much noise once you are in the complex)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zacman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed here two nights while visiting relatives. Rooms were very nice and clean with coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Included was a typical but nice continental breakfast near the pool. Only drawback was that both soda machines were out of order the entire weekend and the adjoining restaurant had loud music very late. You could clearly hear the beat of the base when you laid your head on your pillow. Ask for a room far away from the restaurant. Otherwise, very pleasant stay and helpful front desk.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and amenities of guest room
  • Disliked — Late night music and noise from restaurant. Soda machines all out of order.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LeMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Room clean and adequate but road noise and loud people in adjoining room kept us awake.

Desk employees helpful

  • Liked — was good that the motel was close to interstate but bad because of noise
  • Disliked — same as above
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nolak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2005

Lots of stairs - not ideal with heavy bags (especially if you are buy yourself)
Too much furniture in the room otherwise it would have been quite a big room
Good value- for what it was
Lots of shops and cheap and cheerful places to eat nearby.
Very near highway 101
Bathroom look tired and somewhat dirty- bath/tub could have done with a good scrub
COmplimentary breakfast - dont expect a lot. Average best western breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmcoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

We planned a mini family getaway at this Best Western Inn. We stayed 2 nights in a junior suite that was very spacious, comfy and clean. The bed was comfortable and, barring the occassional midnight road noise, we all slept quite well. The staff was courteous and helpful in giving us directions to various areas of interest. We felt the rate was excellent for the room we stayed in...

Unfortunately, the hotel is located right on a major street and on/off ramps for Hwy. 101. Outside, the noise was somewhat intollerable at times. The pool seemed cold for being heated, but empty most of the time. Also, the adjacent restaurant appeared to be out of business. There are lots of other restaurants/shopping within close proximity, however, so finding food, etc. was not a problem.

If you are planning a short stay and on a budget, this Best Western may be just the right place for you. It is close to the wine country, Point Reyes and other various points of interest making it a nice place to crash at the end of a day of adventures.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2004_Wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
1.2 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
756 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
8.3 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#4 of 10 in Rohnert Park
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Petaluma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Petaluma Inn

Property: Best Western Petaluma Inn
Address: 200 S McDowell Blvd, Petaluma, CA 94954-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Petaluma Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Petaluma Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Petaluma Best Western
Best Western Petaluma Inn CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing