We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    239
    89
    25
    13
See reviews for
176
163
43
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yosemite National Park, California, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have a tendency to get really cheap deals, but that often comes with it's own price... like drug deals happening near my hotel room door! Not this time!!! The room was very clean and the area was great! The guys who worked the evening of November 5th was first class and helped answer all of my stupid questions without even batting an eye! I manage a guiding agency at a first class resort and I would love to have this guy on our team... seriously wonderful! The lady working breakfast the next morning was also amazing and very sweet!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Easy on/off 101.
Great price for a nice room w fridge and micro. The room was older but updated nicely and in good condition.
Breakfast ok with boiled eggs, waffles and fresh donuts etc. along with all the regular continental breakfast supplies.
We did not notice noise from the traffic that bothered us. We did get up at six as the traffic started to build.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Petaluma Inn this summer with the intention of spending most of our time at the beach north of Point Reyes. It is located right off Hwy 101, so easy to find. The motel is nicer than it's website would indicate. We had the two room suite with a kitchenette, and the kitchen was nicely appointed, the living room furniture was comfortable, and the bedroom was large. The bed was very firm, a little too firm for me but my husband didn't seem to mind. The down sides were that it's right by the office, so people are walking RIGHT outside your windows all day long, and naturally looking IN the windows unless you keep the shades drawn all the time. Also the second floor room above us had very squeeky floors, which wasn't great. The hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, grocery stores, coffee shops...pretty much anything you'd need, but not in the greatest part of town. Short drive, though, to historic Petaluma. I especially recommend the Petaluma Pie Company. Nice couple owns it, and delicious little pies. If you're a gardener go to the Seed Bank, which is actually housed in an old Bank! Every conceivable kind of seed is available, along with some nice gift items. It's about a 45 minute drive to the beach through very pretty country. I don't know that I would stay there again, because I had such difficulty sleeping on the bed, but if you get the rooms away from the freeway, it's a convenient stop for a night or two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway, on the second floor for the quietest stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't let their on-line photo make your decision, it's a terrible picture. Though there could be some upgrades (hallway carpets), this is a decent BW in a good location, breakfast included. If you can get a price lower than $99, it's a deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in this hotel.

We requested a king size bed and were sent to the second floor to a room facing the street well away from the highway. I was wondering what we had gotten into as the hallway carpets were so badly stained and filthy looking, however we got to the room and it was clean and comfortable.

Unfortunately, the street that we assumed would quite down as the night went on seemed to be where all the noisy vehicles in town drove. We were so tired that we slept pretty well until about 6am when traffic became busier and then the noise was just ridiculous.

We just got up earlier than expected and headed on our way.

We did get a little surprise on the bill though with an extra $9.00 charge for "city transient occupancy".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs. Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were somewhat ready for this hotel to be questionable when we booked it based on the photos and it's proximity to the main highway, but the AAA price was the best in the area and we were taking a chance because we knew we would not be int he hotel much with all of our plans to travel the Sonoma / Napa valleys and coast. The exterior is pretty unattractive, but once inside our room we were immediately pleased with our choice to book here. The room was clean and the perfect size to accommodate our luggage comfortably. The bed was surprisingly comfortable as were the pillows. I have a bad back and was concerned that i would wake up miserable or not be able to sleep at all if the bed was too firm. The fan - A/C heater did help with some of the noise we heard from the highway. We were in a room over the office and had our own private balcony. Just a view of the parking lot, but it was nice to be able to step out and have the deck door open in the morning. The breakfast options were standard continental style which was perfect for what we needed to eat and run - we did a lot of touring in the area. It was a perfect location to head east to the wineries and west to the coast for some of the most spectacular views and plenty to do and see. I can't wait to be able to come back to this area again. The low price of this hotel afforded us the options to spend more in the area on other tours and adventures, including zip-lining through the redwoods up near Occidental (Sonoma Canopy Tours). There are a number of great dining options in Petaluma and shopping and antiques in the downtown area. The staff here was very helpful with giving information on drive times and places to see - even though we had a pretty good idea of what we doing, their input was welcome and we followed through with some of their advice. If you are looking for a great "home-base" for touring the Sonoma Coast/Valley and not in need of a luxury resort, this is a perfect choice!

Room Tip: The few rooms over the office seemed to be the most quiet choice and a few offer a private balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWbonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
1.3 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#3 of 10 in Rohnert Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.3 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
Address: 200 S McDowell Blvd, Petaluma, CA 94954-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Petaluma Best Western
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing