We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hospitality in Petaluma”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petaluma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Petaluma B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2013

On our latest trip to Northern California we decided to travel to Petaluma. The town is charming with excellent restaurants, a walkable downtown district and a more laid back feel than San Francisco and the surrounding communities. Cherry Hill B&B is a beautiful old house in a residential neighborhood, walkable to the downtown district (about 2/3 mile). The host, Michael, is knowledgeable about the local area and much more. He is refreshingly opinionated for a B&B host. We stayed in the Lunchbox room - fittingly named for the adorning ring of vintage lunch boxes. The bathroom is recently renovated and fully functional. Breakfasts are perfect for our kind of travel - local pastries, coffee and organic fruit. A great start to the day, unlike some of the 2000 calorie breakfasts frequently offered at B&B's which make one want to go right back to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TardisEnvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 5 days at Cherry Hill. It is a small family style B&B with only 3 bedrooms located in a quiet part of town, a fairly easy 10-minute walk to downtown Petaluma. A beautiful historic home, Cherry Hill is furnished in Victorian style and decorated with several paintings by the artist/owner. While some B&B are more like hotels (i.e., daily room cleaning), this feels more like home and no one will come to your room unless you request a change of towels or bedding. The owners Michael and Kathy are very friendly, welcoming hosts who made us feel comfortable right away. They also have a beautiful gentle and mellow Akita dog. We did not hear him bark once during our 5-day stay. There is a good selection of area maps and guidebooks available for guests. For breakfast, they serve fresh local pastries, fresh organic fruits and juice as well as tea and coffee. We stayed in the Parlor room, which has a pleasant seating area by the bay window. The queen size bed was very comfortable. Adjacent to our room, we had our private but tiny bathroom with a small corner sink, a shower and a toilet. Only one person at a time in there! This bedroom has a separate entrance from the outside, which we found quite convenient. A good stay in the wine region.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sild-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a nice stay in this quiet neighborhood B&B. We stayed in the Parlor Suite and the Butler's Suite. The Parlor Suite was more open and had a nice sitting area, but we just as comfortable in the Butler's Suite, which had a larger bathroom. Both rooms were very clean which is important to me. We didn't spend a lot of time at the B&B since were visiting family, but it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LHJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

So, let me start by just talking about Petaluma - What a quaint and sweet little town! We went 4th of July weekend and had so much fun at the Marlin County Fairgrounds watching the fireworks. We also visited Lagunitas Brewery which was a lot of fun (live music, great beer, mediocre bar food).

We didn't spend too much time in Petaluma because our real purpose in visiting Sonoma was for the wine! As wine lovers, we enjoyed traveling along the gigantic nearby trail, and if you're traveling on a budget, Sonoma is definitely a better bet than Napa because the wineries are cheaper and you can find reasonably priced wine tastings ($5 - $10, or free with a bottle purchase).

Now on to the Bed and Breakfast. What a sweet place overall - Michael was friendly (a little chatty when we were trying to get out the door and kind of negative about the wineries, which I didn't like, since this was the whole purpose of our trip), but he was knowledgeable about the area and the local fare. He served great pastries in the morning with fresh coffee...I did miss having a full breakfast, especially because we were going to drink wine all day and left hungry most mornings.

We stayed in the lunchbox room which was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. The shower head didn't really work, though and there are no locks on the room doors, which ended up being fine. Their dog also stayed in the room with us, which made it hard to shut the door since he kept coming in and out. I love dogs, but that got to be a little annoying.

All-in-all, the rooms were well-priced and it did the trick, but I would prefer to stay in a place with more privacy, more scenery (off of a lake instead of in a neighborhood) and a larger breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxed laid back feels like home place to stay on the west side (best side) of Petaluma then look no further then Cherry Hill. The b&b iis in a quiet neighborhood, close to downtown, and the hosts are helpful and friendly. Breakfast includes juice, excellent coffee, fresh fruit, and tasty bakery items along with interesting conversation. If you want corporate stay at a chain motel, if you want fancy stay at a formal inn, if you want friendly and comfortable stay at Cherry Hill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank riceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A delightful, quiet and soulfully-rich place to stay. The old house is quite a beauty. Very interesting owners to meet and a wonderful dog to complete your stay. Beautiful artwork throughout done by the owner which I greatly enjoyed. Very comfortable and in a nice, quiet neighborhood yet close to the downtown area of Petaluma.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful experience. The owners were warm, friendly and helpful on my first visit to CA. I would highly recommend this B&B. I loved the artwork by the owner...a memorable and unique experience. Clean, professional, and fond memories. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Willow143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 9 in Petaluma
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 9 in Petaluma
166 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
10.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 520 Galland St, Petaluma, CA 94952-2715
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petaluma
Price Range: $150 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn, a boutique, 4 bedroom Inn, is the only Bed and Breakfast Inn located in Petaluma, CA, 40 miles north of San Francisco, in the heart of Sonoma County Wine Country, and a short drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. This 1897 Victorian is decorated with period antiques and the pleine-aire oil paintings of internationally renown artist, Kathy Mason Lerner. All 4 suites have private bathrooms, HDTV, Wi Fi and in room refrigerator, located on top of Cherry Hill, a short 5 minute walk to the center of Old Town Petaluma. Our newest and most romantic suite, the TreeTop Suite, has a private entrance, and its own large private deck with a spectacular view of Sonoma Mountain and the Sonoma Ridge. The large bedroom has a king bed, 50" HDTV & WiFi, adjoining a sitting room with a refrigerator, and a bathroom with a large sunken spa/tub. The Parlour Suite and Lunchbox Room each have their own private entrance and King bed, while the Butler Suite has a queen bed, small sitting room and large clawfoot tub/shower. We offer a Continental breakfast of Organic coffee or tea, fresh tangerine juice, fresh baked French pastries, and Organic fruit or berries. All of our body and bath products are locally made Organic EO hair and body products, and all of our cleaning and laundry products are only Mrs. Meyers with no chemicals or harsh fragrances. Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn maintains a very private, personably comfortable atmosphere just like your own home, with the highest quality in everything we provide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Bed And Breakfast Inn Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing