We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always great food”
Review of Caffe Giostra

Caffe Giostra
Ranked #13 of 265 Restaurants in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“always great food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we have been eating here for years. The food is always great and the servers are friendly. I usually order one of the specials and the bruschetta, with one of their great wine selections.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PetalumaKOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Italian Surprise! in a strip center next to a hardware store”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is so much better than you will believe! The small space and strip center location trick you into thinking that this is going to be a place to skip. Enter inside and the attentive wait staff will treat you to excellent service and the food is delicious. The Greek Salad with grilled chicken and goat cheese is my favorite lunch! I would recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were in Petaluma for the day and found this restaurant on yelp. We were not disappointed and have returned since. Appreciated the yelp mention that the Caffe was located near OSH Hardware. Made finding this tiny restaurant easier to locate.

We've tried their salads for lunch. Greens, etc. were crisp and fresh; dressing tasty. Adding chicken on top for a modest price, made for a filling salad for lunch. Their Gnocchi with pesto and Chicken Piccata were delicious.

The service is good. Wine by the glass selection is good; pours generous. Seems like a lot of locals frequent the establishment. Always a good sign. If we lived closer to Petaluma, Caffe Giostra would be one of our go to places for a nice casual week night meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patti160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Dont be put off by the location; this is a very nice restaurant with great food and excellent service. Lots of specials. Watch for coupons too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yapper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple and Good Italian”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Located in a strip mall next to the Orchard Supply Hardware.
I ate at Caffe Giostra for the third time recently and was not disappointed.
They cook up nice food. I had the Carbonara which was flavorful and yummy.
Others had the special salmon and another had the veal saltimboca, all were happy with their choices. Although I didn't order the wine, they have some nice reds available.
Desserts were good-bread pudding, cappachino ice cream and mango pana cotta.
Place is small and the tables are tight. Can get a bit noisy but I was too busy enjoying the food to really care.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spinnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Giostra also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Caffe Giostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing