We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Like a Hostel”
Review of Metro Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Like some of the other reviewers, I don't understand the high ratings for the Metro. My group of 3 was disappointed in many respects. Pluses: Location, reasonable affordability by Petaluma standards, clean. Minuses: A bit shabby, with some maintenance issues--for example, a leaking faucet, and all but one light was out in one of our rooms. In a suite, the bathroom was located on one end, so one person had to travel through the other's bedroom to access it at night. (Would have been helpful to know this in advance, as this is not how suites are normally laid out. Yes, we know the place wasn't designed as a hotel.) No shades, and on the west side in the summer, that is a serious omission. One of our rooms became very hot as a result of the sun, even though the curtains were closed. No control of heat or AC, and the fans that were provided could do only so much. No nite light or the equivalent available in the bathrooms, and none were available to lend out. Breakfast was caffeine-only coffee or tea, 2% milk, and one type of bread (said by another reviewer to be cut-up Costco muffin, and I believe it). For these prices, it seems like skim milk, juice, and a couple other continental breakfast items ought to be available. Most of the time, no one was available to answer questions except by phone, although the staff did try to be helpful. The walls are quite thin, but on the plus side, the hotel has a strict quiet policy after 10, and most people adhered to it. I generally prefer places like this to the chains, but not in this case.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Metro Hotel & Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 762 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stay here for all of our special moments. The metro's character and charm makes it a one of a kind gem. The staff is always kind and hospitable. We've stayed in each of the unique accommodations. However, I would have to say that our favorites are the upstairs double room, the cottage is lovely, and the offsite cottage is amazing! My birthday is coming up Thursday and we will be residing there again! <3 <3 Jennifer & Nick

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this hotel because we saw it in Sunset magazine and loved the idea of staying in an Airstream hotel. What they never told us when we booked the trailer was that it was completely unfinished. No front window of the trailer with sheeting plastic covering and open insulation on the walls. They offered us an "upgrade" to a room but we never wanted to stay in a room. A complete let down, and from reading reviews after the fact, this has been this way for two years. Ridiculous. Love the concept, but don't stay here. Horrible!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrDBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Bambi caravan at the Metro, which was great fun! The entire hotel is quiet and very funky with antique furniture and games scattered throughout.

The only hiccup we experienced was that we arrived at 11.30am to find the hotel locked and unstaffed. We weren't made aware that the office is shut between 10.30am and 2.30pm - lucky for us a really friendly guest helped us out, or else we would have had to sit out the front and wait.

The Bambi was good for a laugh but it was very tiny - it contained a toilet with a shower over it which made bathing interesting. The little kitchenette had a stove top and mini bar, but there was no cutlery or kettle provided. I heard they were about to upgrade these caravans soon with larger models, but if not I would recommend staying in an actual room!

In the morning drip coffee was made available in the main building with a tray of sweet bread, and there is a larger fridge you can use to store your own food if you prefer - this hotel is really self-serve which made for a unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Larissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

When you travel a lot, while you appreciate a clean chain with nothing new to expect other than a clean bed - the Hotel Metro is your salvation from the doldrums. Super clean, super comfortable. Loved the quirky furnishings!

Petaluma is a great stop in and out of the Bay area, as it's a community filled with organic food and great restaurants at much less cost. I feel at home here to rest up, then hit the Big City, and get out as fast as I can!

Room Tip: We had an outside room with a vaulted ceiling and skylights. Ask for that one!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toospirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Metro for three nights as part of a wedding weekend in Petaluma. The hotel is totally quirky and not at all like any "mainstream" corporate hotels -- our room had a bathroom much like you'd find in an old home -- so don't expect standard comforts. But if you want a super clean, very interestingly decorated, off beat place to stay, the Metro is for you! The staff were great and friendly. When you book, be sure you are aware of the airstream rooms so you don't get booked there unless that's what you want, and be aware also that our room (204) had no windows (we did have a skylight). All in all, though, we had a great stay at the Metro and would stay there again if ever back in Petaluma.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting relatives in Petaluma. We booked Anna's Nest a quirky little 2 bedroom cottage in the grounds of the hotel.

The relaxed laid back feel of the hotel and staff made us feel at home, a very help yourself attitude, perfect when travelling with children.

We found Anna's Nest very clean and spacious, it really was a home away from home. The bedrooms were large and the Master bedroom had a circular bed!!

The town centre was a short walk away and although we ate with our relatives there is no shortage of lovely looking restaurants. There was a list at the hotel of recommendations which was a lovely touch.

The town is very quaint and pretty, and our children loved the play area which was a 2 minute walk away.

Our stay here was relaxed and fantastic and we would definitely stay again if we had the chance.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Elspeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.3 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 9 in Petaluma
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
10.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
9.6 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $118 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning! Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metro Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel & Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing