We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Cool Place!”
Review of Metro Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Yes, we would stay here again! Very clean, fun and funky, very loveable! Staff is great. Super location for visiting wineries and a beautiful drive up to Mendocino. If you have a chance do stay here..walking distance to town is a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

The decor at Metro Hotel makes you feel like you're in a French antique/curio shop and museum, but it's your home away from home. Your uniquely decorated room is comfortable, but be sure to also enjoy the lovely garden/grape arbor, pond and outdoor terrasse, whether to relax during the day/evening and/or while savoring Peet's coffee at breakfast. A mere 10" walk from downtown, and personnel is friendly/helpful. We'll defnitely return and bring family, friends. Metro Hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjmMenlopark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My friend and I were planning a wine weekend and decided to book the Metro because the price was right. This place was unique, charming, and well appointed, especially considering the great deal we got! The highlights were the DIY pourover coffee in the lobby, the luxurious comforters on the bed, the many indoor and outdoor spaces to relax (including a cafe table on the patio outside our room).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This characterful hotel is full of quirky stuff in the downstairs communal areas, which added to it's relaxed atmosphere. The high ceilings and large ensuite were appreciated in our fairly spacious room, with worn timber floors and roughly painted doors adding to the ambience. The fairly noisy A/C unit outside our room detracted somewhat from the otherwise nice outdoor patio area, but thankfully cut out and was quiet during the cool evenings.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room opened onto the garden area, which the kids loved. If only there was a gate bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

checked into the airstream trailer room at the metro and what a trip.
Location was great close enough to down town to walk ( great no DUI) .
And the trailer what a gas! As my wife said "it's like being in a space capsule" cue "ground control to major tom"
Staff was great . Wish I had more time to hang out in the hotel looked great . Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harleysmomxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Paris in Petaluma...ooh la la.We totally enjoyed everything about this unique small hotel. The staff was welcoming & very helpful. Our rooms were wonderful & spacious. Great location. Would recommend to everyone looking for unique experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room with windows on patio...or do you want to stay in retro air stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a nice hotel, with friendly staff. The extended weekend that we stayed at the hotel, there was lots of construction work being performed throughout the weekend, which was disturbing both for noise, but also for kids and construction workers peering through windows and skylights. In addition, there was an issue with one of the wedding party guests being asked to leave the hotel after staying 1 night because there was a mistake made in the reservation system. This issue was not handled well by the staff, they were somewhat confrontational on the issue, and also they asked him to leave to make room for someone showing up for their first night stay. Very strange. I would say the hotel is nice, and without the issues that I referred to, I would highly recommend the hotel for a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: In truth as we had lots of friends staying in the hotel, there were no real issues with the rooms. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
17.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
10.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $116 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning! Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metro Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel & Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing