We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“French, friendly, funky, fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel and Cafe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metro Hotel and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
menlopark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“French, friendly, funky, fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The decor at Metro Hotel makes you feel like you're in a French antique/curio shop and museum, but it's your home away from home. Your uniquely decorated room is comfortable, but be sure to also enjoy the lovely garden/grape arbor, pond and outdoor terrasse, whether to relax during the day/evening and/or while savoring Peet's coffee at breakfast. A mere 10" walk from downtown, and personnel is friendly/helpful. We'll defnitely return and bring family, friends. Metro Hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjmMenlopark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    192
    46
    20
    19
See reviews for
102
306
71
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My friend and I were planning a wine weekend and decided to book the Metro because the price was right. This place was unique, charming, and well appointed, especially considering the great deal we got! The highlights were the DIY pourover coffee in the lobby, the luxurious comforters on the bed, the many indoor and outdoor spaces to relax (including a cafe table on the patio outside our room).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This characterful hotel is full of quirky stuff in the downstairs communal areas, which added to it's relaxed atmosphere. The high ceilings and large ensuite were appreciated in our fairly spacious room, with worn timber floors and roughly painted doors adding to the ambience. The fairly noisy A/C unit outside our room detracted somewhat from the otherwise nice outdoor patio area, but thankfully cut out and was quiet during the cool evenings.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room opened onto the garden area, which the kids loved. If only there was a gate bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

checked into the airstream trailer room at the metro and what a trip.
Location was great close enough to down town to walk ( great no DUI) .
And the trailer what a gas! As my wife said "it's like being in a space capsule" cue "ground control to major tom"
Staff was great . Wish I had more time to hang out in the hotel looked great . Will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleysmomxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Paris in Petaluma...ooh la la.We totally enjoyed everything about this unique small hotel. The staff was welcoming & very helpful. Our rooms were wonderful & spacious. Great location. Would recommend to everyone looking for unique experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room with windows on patio...or do you want to stay in retro air stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a nice hotel, with friendly staff. The extended weekend that we stayed at the hotel, there was lots of construction work being performed throughout the weekend, which was disturbing both for noise, but also for kids and construction workers peering through windows and skylights. In addition, there was an issue with one of the wedding party guests being asked to leave the hotel after staying 1 night because there was a mistake made in the reservation system. This issue was not handled well by the staff, they were somewhat confrontational on the issue, and also they asked him to leave to make room for someone showing up for their first night stay. Very strange. I would say the hotel is nice, and without the issues that I referred to, I would highly recommend the hotel for a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: In truth as we had lots of friends staying in the hotel, there were no real issues with the rooms. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights while visiting our daughter in Petaluma, and had a great time. The hotel is small and funky, even has a couple of Airstream trailers parked on the property for adventurous guests. The room was spotless and we even had a small private deck to enjoy at the end of the day or for our morning coffee. We could walk to downtown for lunch or shopping. We will definitely stay there again any time we're in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms outside the main hotel have private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyGoldie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
9.6 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
11.0 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel and Cafe

Property: Metro Hotel and Cafe
Address: 508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel and Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning!Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Metro Hotel and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel And Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing