We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To err is human ...”
Review of Metro Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“To err is human ...”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

To make it right makes people give you a shout out. We had a problem checking in and the owner personally intervened to make it right. It's a cute place with a good location. I'd happily recommend it because the owner takes a personal interest in doing the right thing. We're local (SF); we'll be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TimFitzpatrickWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    212
    51
    21
    19
See reviews for
112
345
78
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Tired of ordinary lodging and want a unique adventure? This hotel is not for everyone, but if you tend toward the offbeat and creative then you should consider Metro Hotel. Carefully decorated with Parisian artifacts and serving French coffee and pastries, you get an excursion of the mind in downtown Petaluma. As a bonus, the Thai restaurant next door is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakkaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot for work so this hotel was a nice change of pace from a chain. My impressions are probably a bit different because it was a work trip, not a vacation (though I'd give it 3.5 if I could). The location is great - walking distance (1mile) from Whole Foods & several restaurants nearby. Even though it's on a main drag there is plenty of offstreet parking in the surrounding neighborhood (nice old houses, parks). Between the fairly busy street & having the 1st room at top of stairs I thought my room would be very noisy, especially over a weekend, but it was really quiet. Punchkey entry adds security as staff not there at night.

Room was spacious (bathroom was huge), beds clean & comfortable. Fixture etc worn as would be expected in old house. Not for folks with mobility issues--staircase is steep & windy (felt very tippy wrestling my bag & field gear up!) and claw foot tub has high edge that's easy to trip over. Not excited about housekeeping--got gravel on floor Friday night taking off boots & in shower, and on Saturday evening the pikes of gravel were still on floor & in tub. The "breakfast pastry" was actually stale-ish supermarket banana bread, bleah. The coffe system is only charming if you really don't need coffee in the morning--standing & waiting for water to drip slowly through a filter into a cup so small it's gone in 3 swallows.

My main issue is really that for what you get, it's overpriced, but I would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sympetrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is very cute -- kind of shabby chic/French. There are interesting gardens on both sides, and there will be a bocce court in back when landscaping is all done. Unfortunately, I accidentally rented a room in one of the "nests". It was a fine room, with a comfortable bed, a mini-fridge, and a coffee maker with good coffee supplied. But it was extremely quiet and isolated in a neighborhood of single-family homes. I really wanted to be in the main building close enough to walk to downtown Petaluma. So beware -- when it says 1.5 miles away, that's not a typo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is very charming and cute. I felt a bit like I was Alice in Wonderland with the oversized windows and decor.

Breakfast scene was a bit like a hostel (which I like) - very do it yourself in a bit a shared mini kitchen.

Some of the staff I thought was a little droll while some were super friendly and made me feel taken care of.

The location was great - within walking distance from downtown, but not in the middle of it. Quiet street with a few good eateries really close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We rented a two bedroom room for a weekend. The beds are very comfortable and very clean. The decor is eclectic - very fun. We enjoyed spending afternoons in the court yard drinking local wine. We walked to town and enjoyed several good restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sonoma, Napa and San Francisco very close by. It was a nice weekend and I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgringel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved everything about this place; the owner has a created a unique French-feeling boutique hotel that is welcoming, warm, and fun. The room had a great ambiance and was so relaxing. It is not your run-of-the-mill chain hotel, which I loved. No corners were cut when it comes comfortable beds, lush towels, cleanliness, and linens. The funky decor gave the hotel the kind of character I love. There is a little cafe/lounge area were you can make your own drip coffee - delicious - and tandem bikes you can take out for a ride. The location is perfect. We easily walked downtown where there are lots of great restaurants. The pricing was reasonable - I will definitely be staying here from now on when I visit the area.

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio. The two bedroom suite is very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.3 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
10.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
9.6 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Cafe

Property: Metro Hotel & Cafe
Address: 508 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning! Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Metro Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel & Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing