We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick get away...”
Review of Metro Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We usually stay at "big" name hotels, not this time and we were so happy with our choice! Metro Hotel in charming Petaluma was a perfect get away for us. Our room was cozy and the vintage touches amazing. We loved every minute we were there. It is definitely on the list of places to go and stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 772 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

A very friendly place with a mom and pop feel. My room had a comfy bed and the bath...oh man the bath. It was huge, I probably spent 2 hours in there, and it came equipped with rubber duckies to play with!

Easy parking in the back, blueberry muffins in the morning, and there was a cute little girl who sold me a plate of lemons. I managed to haggle her down to 1$ but she did drive a hard bargain.

Overall it was a great . If you're looking for small quiet family run place with a huge bath this is your best bet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ren0cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Petaluma seems to have prospered in the last decade. They're proud of their past as "the egg basket of the world," and they should also be proud of the amenities they now offer tourists. This hotel is colorful, stylish and affordable. Much more comfortable than what you would find in a town of comparable size in France!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I booked this hotel as a Valentine's getaway for my husband and I. Great location within walking distance to restaurants in downtown Petaluma. Great wine bar near the movie theatre and excellent dinner at Cucina Paradiso on the main street! Everything is sort of do-it-yourself at the hotel which was fine for us. Great decore, comfy beds! Shower could have a little more pressure, but we were upstairs. Hallways and stairs a little noisy, but guests were very considerate of each other. Adorable little garden area with bocce ball court. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckie94954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Thank you for giving us a truly unique French experience in your lovely town. The hotel was further evidence that we can't go wrong when we stay away from the cookie cutter hotels on the busy interstates. Our room was quiet and nicely decorated and we got a good night's sleep. We enjoyed our visit with the owner before leaving and have promised we will be back to further explore Petaluma and the surrounding area.

Ralph M.

Room Tip: If you can manage stairs stay on the upper level. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We spent one night in this sweet little spot you wouldn't expect to find in the middle of a small city. Sort of French-country-meets-hippie. Everything about the decor is charming, quirky and comfortable, people friendly and helpful. Not at all corporate (a relief!). Our room was small, with an outside entry off a little patio. High ceilings, well equipped, everything we needed. A sign in the lobby requests guests to be courteous about noise, and we could hear conversation through the wall and footsteps overhead, but not enough to keep us awake. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were happy to stay on the ground floor so we didn't have to haul our big suitcases up the tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a whim one night while passing through Petaluma, and we loved it! The attention to details, the service, and the cleanliness made us feel we were on vacation even thought we were off to work the next day...a highly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
10.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
17.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $116 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning! Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Metro Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel & Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing