We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Paris in Petaluma”
Review of Metro Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This place definitely has the look and feel of a nice little three star hotel near a Metro in Paris.
It is a good value for the money in the expensive (even for "budget" hotels) Marin/Sonoma hotel corridor. The building is an older, restored facility with character (e.g. wooden floors, curved staircase, lion claw tub/shower etc.). It is not modern soundproofed, but we simply put a towel under the door, and turned on the small fan to create some white noise, and did just fine. Very conveniently located near the downtown antique shops, theaters, and restaurants, as well as the beautiful St. Vincent de Paul Catholic Church.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 775 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lot to like about this place if you like the whimsical and unusual. Clever and fun, however, I ended up staying in one of the "Bambi Nests" (small airstream trailer) and I am of the opinion for the price you should get hot water. Then when you ask about it the next day and they said they would fix it, they should let you know if they didn't. Felt a bit on the flaky side of things because of it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gelpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This place is adorable. It was refreshingly unique and affordable after coming from the Napa Valley, too. The bed was very comfortable and if I had had more time, the patio and cafe area would have been a great place to sit and relax.
You have to give it to the owners for trying to do something unique, they have created a very comfortable and quirky place to stay in Petaluma. I found the service to be very nice, they were very interested in getting feedback and when we checked out we were sincerely asked how everything was. Staying here was very enjoyable, I'd give my money to them over a corporate chain any day. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times, and each time we've always had a fun experience. The rooms are decorated nicely and the beds are comfortable. Parking is right outside and free and the lot isn't cramped. The whole feeling of the place is very easy going. All of the interactions I've had with the staff there have been friendly. And it's in a good location if you're going downtown to see a show at the Mystic or just out for the evening and would rather walk than drive (about .5 miles away from the Mystic). Definitely a fun place to stay - no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashcalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Metro Hotel feels as though you could actually be in France, with its lovely tasteful decor. I much prefer places with character and this place has it!! Our bed was very comfortable, and our room was cozy. We walked and biked (we had our own bikes) to downtown along the lovely back tree lined streets where there were plenty of adorable homes getting their Halloween vibe on. It is a great location to downtown Petaluma.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

very inobtrusive staff, had small plumbing issue addressed right away, coffee,tea and muffin self service available and uttlerly chraming and cheerful. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, not your place, but for a unique setting within walking distance of downtown and fine dining, this is it!

Room Tip: get a garden room, or go wild and rest a vintage airstream
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Unique eclectic comfortable. Full is surprises. Great service and love the owners

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmcceacken826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
9.6 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
666 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Wine Country
Rodeway Inn Wine Country
#7 of 10 in Rohnert Park
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $111 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning! Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel & Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing