We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for quick weekend getaway”
Review of Metro Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This was a quirky and unique place that was perfect for our quick getaway on Mothers Day weekend. The rooms were full and it was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast was nice in the morning. Pete's coffee and breakfast bread hit the spot. If you enjoy Med/Turkish food at all, we had a fantastic meal a couple blocks away in the direction of downtown. The residential area and parks in the immediate area of the hotel were very nice as well. It made for a very nice walk. We asked for a crib and they brought it right up to our room in no time. The staff are hardly around and seem quite busy. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorman4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 783 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

Ten days after we made a one-night reservation. we got an email from management asking if we could extend to 2 days. When we restated our need for one night only, we were informed the hotel was "fully booked" for two night stays. Fortunately, there are other hotels in Petaluma...

Room Tip: Good luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldTraveler0857, Management at Metro Hotel & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

We do have a 2 night minimum on the weekends from May to September which is our high season. It is posted on our website. However, 10 days prior we open rooms for one night for the next weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We spent two nights at the Metro with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed it. The casual French atmosphere is charming. We loved making our individual filtered, Peets coffee in the morning in the small cafe there. The rooms tend to be small, which reminded us of rooms in Europe. It's an easy, interesting walk to downtown Petaluma. Loved our dinner down the street at Le Bistro.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank les0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Jaw dropped when we entered- Roomy, high ceilings, fun colors, French bistro like, vintage bathroom, cute corner faux woodstove cranked the heat!
Asked for & got room on bottom floor- amazingly quiet even w/ windows open. Soft & fluffy bed linens.Spotless, good value & great location. The 12 TV channels were snowy. No shower regulator, so don't let your partner flush!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperPickyTraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed in their unique Airstream hotel room ... as in an Airstream mobile trailer. But this little unit was done up to the hilt complete with small little front lawn with lawn pelican art! A book on Airstreams in the "room" completed the package for a room that was one-of-a-kind and surprisingly comfortable. Just a short walk to downtown Petaluma and a great stop over on your way to the wine country.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanjoDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

It's like hipsters from SF got lost in Petaluma and decided to put up camp and make a chic hotel out of an old boarding house. Maybe that's what really happened, how do I know? From garden gnomes to Peet's Coffee in the morning, this place has charm, is within easy walking distance of downtown, and best of all, affordable.

I don't know anything about the other hotel options in Petaluma, but if you are looking for something fun and a little out of the ordinary with none of the discomfort associated with out of the ordinary, then this is your place.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The area is an expensive one, so we were pleased to read the reviews for this affordable hotel and stayed for three nights. Manager said they had reduced prices, but I wouldn't have paid more than the 79/89 dollars charged. It was so nice to find somewhere independant and individual, but it is spoilt by a few easily remedied niggles. Shabby chic shouldn't mean unhygienic and the sink was certainly that - cracked, stained and with the overflow grid clogged with dirty, soapy gunk. Breakfast coffee is unnecessarily fiddly, filling a jug with hot water and pouring this through filter papers precariously held in a rack - just provide a cafetiere or two and ask people to wash them up if you don't want the staff to have to do so. Having read other reveiws I've just realised the kitchen was available for the guests' use - no-one told us. The chairs in our room and the sofa downstairs were very uncomfortable. That said, the decor was certainly different - loved the framed posters - and the bed very comfy. Pray for quiet neighbours - we had drunken birthday revellers one night who kept us awake till 2 a.m. Petaluma itself is a lovely town and a convenient base for Point Reyes, which was the highlight of our three week California Road Trip. Can't understand why Petaluma doesn't feature in Lonely Planet. Central Market cafe, suggested by manager, was great too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plantfanciers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
9.6 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
668 reviews
10.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $113 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning! Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel & Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing