We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Right in the river, nice clean rooms, and of course we love that they are dog friendly. The staff was great too! There is a great little walk along the river that's great to do. Wish the bed was more comfy, but it really wasn't that bad, so it's a returning place for me when we go back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RperuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 685 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is basically in the middle of Napa and Sonoma so you have the best of both worlds. Hotel was nice, staff very friendly. We had access to the club lounge so the free breakfast was quick and convenient. Used the gym - plenty of equipment to go around and also ran outside in the park adjacent to the hotel. Petaluma has a cute town with some good restaurants and Lagunitas brewery is just a few miles away. No where to just walk to from this hotel but plenty of things within just a few miles.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Sheraton at Petaluma is an odd place, it's in a mismatched marina & business facility just across the river, but by road, miles away from the cute town of Petaluma. Isolated and out of place in its environment, the hotel itself is, perfectly adequate. Adequate, not good. I paid for an upgrade to a marina-view room; which meant I looked out over the dining room roof with all its aircon apparatus and clutter (including a lot of rubbish), between two large wings of the building that project out towards the marina (presumably housing conference suites) to a glimpse of half a dozen boats, and a motorway construction site.

Heavenly beds are, as always, superb. The bar and restaurant were fine, staff were fine, service was fine - all perfectly fine. Maybe good, certainly not great. Or memorable. This appears to be a conference hotel, and their emphasis is certainly not on their in-house guests needs. I think it's overly expensive for the experience provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were at a 5 day conference here at the Sheraton and nothing was done, the staff were all yes men, tell you yes and NEVER do what you ask, the floor was VERY slippery with the plastic on plastic and very dangerous, the trash was not emptied, the water containers never emptied, and maintenance not done, they definatly do not have enough help, I will say the food was wonderful so bravo to the staff in the ball room, they did forget the sugar and ice for the tables on many days, but the buffet was great. Get more help and this will be a first class place to stay, didn't like the freeway above and the mucky water of the canal. Pool area beautiful.

Room Tip: don't book a room here, or a conference, not enough staff to run this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supertraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Supertraveler33,

I am very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during your stay. The Art Is You group you were a part of usually has a terrific experience and has been with us for several years. I have forwarded your comments to our team for follow up and I am very grateful you have taken the time to comment.

David Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The bathtub and hand basin sinks were stopped up and would not drain. The carpet was stained. The service was less than service: It took two days of complaining to have someone take care of the sinks and housekeeping would not show up to tend the room until late afternoon. We would not choose to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVirginian1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice big rooms. Very clean. .... with one minor notice - some mildew on ceiling and wallpaper going through. .... however house keeping very good job. The bar prices were too high. Overall nice. Stayed one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alafaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was just a one night stay for a work project. The hotel is clean & airy and my room had a pretty view of the small harbor. The freeway is under construction, as is the exit/interchange, so it's not the easiest location to find and/or navigate in and out of. I suppose that issue will be resolved eventually though. My colleague had super-duper Sheraton status so he had access to the "free" breakfast/appetizer/wine/beer room that required staying on the fourth floor (I think). The extras were a nice perk, but I wouldn't have normally experienced that. The room came with Starbucks coffee which was MUCH appreciated as I was under the weather and needed all the pick-me-up possible. The only downside was the hotel bar & restaurant. I don't recall the name- but avoid it unless you're desperate or can't drive elsewhere. We were completely zonked from the day (record heat) and tried our luck. Ha! What a joke. One bartender serving everyone (bar AND restaurant) - she was completely overwhelmed and it was her first day on the job. Uhhh. . . . okay. When she finally took our dinner order (45 minutes later), the food arrived hot and in a timely manner, but it wasn't anything special. How Sheraton didn't have more people on staff and working with a hotel this size is beyond me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 9 in Petaluma
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Address: 745 Baywood Dr, Petaluma, CA 94954-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $174 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing