We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our room was awful.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our room was awful.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

If our entire stay were a reflection of the front desk staff and the restaurant, this would be 4-5 stars. I had made my reservation for the wrong day, but the front desk found a room for us 'the last one' in the hotel. Unfortunately, the "last room" should be as clean and well-maintained as the best room available. (Particularly for a Starwood Hotel).
The carpet was filthy, and the room smelled. There was lotion or some kind of nasty something on the door and on the wall next to the sink that was old and dried up. There was no proper toilet paper holder - the plastic rollers were gone, so the rolls were suspended on the metal frame and fell when pulled on. The wallpaper was just dirty. If all the room ear like this, they should just rip the place apart and start over.
With my mistake in booking dates, I didn't expect a view (none given) or perfect location - but I always expect a clean room. Will not stay here'd again,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FDA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello FDA61,

I am very disappointed to hear about this as we usually get such positive feedback on our housekeeping and cleanliness. Your experience is not acceptable and has been reviewed with our Housekeeping department. Thank you for taking time to help us improve for future guests.

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    234
    103
    36
    28
See reviews for
110
265
30
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here after a long trip with flight delays, so arrived very late. Without exception, the staff were really helpful, very pleasant, and made our stay really nice. The hotel is clean, with some really nice amenities. My only negative was that an exterior door ( leading out to a shared roof /balcony) was slightly ajar when we got into the room. Given the late hour we didn't call to complain as we just wanted to sleep. I'm quite sure that given the attentive staff the hotel would have moved us if we had requested, but we did not ask. Beds were super comfortable, reliable wifi, overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Just check that exterior doors are secured at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRSbuyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Sonoma on a trip to wine country with my husband. We chose this hotel because we were staying on SPG points and the Westin Napa was full. The hotel was exactly what we have come to expect from a Sheraton: solid, no frills, clean. The downsides to this hotel is that it is not within walking distance of anything so if you want to leave the hotel, you are driving. The view of the water is pretty but behind it is a large highway that is under construction. Staff were friendly, food in the lounge was decent.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeldalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We did not book this hotel for the hotel's view, although we had friends who said they really enjoyed being able to take some very enjoyable walks around there. We were in California to do sightseeing, so views, location of room was not important. Room was clean, comfortable. Staff was very helpful and accimodating. We found that the hotel was ideally located to access not only all the wine areas, but when we were "wined" out, we were able to take some absolutely beautiful drives to the coast and oyster bay regions. We would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We selected this hotel thinking it would be a good base for exploring Napa Valley, the hotel is in an industrial complex, it's view is of a parking lot or a bypass bridge with a crane, the floors we're dirty, the staff were all students and the restaurant was a poor. We planned on staying 2 nights but at 4 am decided that nothing was going to make this hotel work so we used our Marriott points and switched to Renaissance Napa Valley which was the best decision we could have made. Tried to Club Lounge where there were only battle hardened road warriors scavenging the buffet

Room Tip: Personally I would just skip this hotel as an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We decided to stay here because we're SPG members and because we have a small dog. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and the location was great. The hotel is on a small marina and directly outside the door is a wooden boardwalk path that meanders through a wetland area. It was perfect for morning and evening dog walks and we even saw some cool birds. On the walk, you can see a nearby off-leash dog park. We drove to that, too. The rooms have mini fridges and there was laundry on each floor. Petaluma has some great coffee (Acre), excellent brunch and bread (Della Fattoria), a nice little river walk, some cute shops and friendly people. It was the perfect location to go to the gorgeous Sonoma Coast beaches, to and from San Francisco, Marin County, Sonoma, Napa, Healdsburg, Calistoga, nearby hikes and more.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the marina are further from highway noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: We got points back for not having maid service daily and they recycle.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurrybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I typically go with Starwood hotels because of our status. We spent one night here with the goal of visiting a couple vineyards and then heading back to SF. They upgraded us for free to a marina view room and had a wine tasting in the lobby that evening. They also offered us passes for free or discounted tastings at a few wineries w/in a half hour from the hotel. They had cabs lined up there so we had no trouble getting to and from local spots (though you should drive to the wineries as the cabs are not cheap). The original Lagunitas Brewing company is in Petaluma so we were able to go there at night and then had a great meal at Risibissi in town. The next morning we were able to grab a latte in the lobby before heading out. It was a great stay. Nothing fancy, but just right.

Room Tip: choose the Marina side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitwntrvlgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel and Cafe
Metro Hotel and Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
15.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Property: Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Address: 745 Baywood Dr, Petaluma, CA 94954-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing