We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morgan Taylor at the desk RAWKS! The executive room needs work...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nirvana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Morgan Taylor at the desk RAWKS! The executive room needs work...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Morgan is what every hotel manager dreams about...smart, lovely, kind, and always gives service with a smile. The maid staff terrific...and the female bartender working last Sunday night (6-24) most helpful with the bar menu (I arrived late after a 10 hour drive from LA).

OK, the Concierge Floor breakfast help needs...help. Asked for a tray...they don't have trays but she handed me a filthy one Monday morning...I found a napkin to put on it and did the same thing June 25 w a different person...they are nice enough just kinda clueless...never a "good morning"...really no smile...made me wonder...

The room was just great tho...

Room Tip: The 4th floor is probably worth the extra dollars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    243
    106
    38
    28
See reviews for
116
274
30
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Basically your standard sheraton. Nothing extraordinary, but relatively comfortable. Would try to get a floor above the ground floor as there was tons of outside noise in the room I was in on the first floor. The main problem about this place is the location, it's sort of too far from the wineries and still about 1 hour north of SF. But if you need to be in petaluma for any reason, i suppose this wouldn't be horrible place to stay the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s3jwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear we were only average as we certainly strive to be much better than that. Regarding our location and visits to wineries, there are roughly 100 wineries within a 30 minute drive and over 300 in Sonoma County, so most guests find this an ample number to choose from. We are just 30 minutes to the coast and 35 - 45 minutes to downtown San Francisco, including a lovely drive over the Golden Gate Bridge. Please come back and we will turn you on to some outsanding local wineries... thanks again!

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We visit this property once or twice a year while wine tasting in the Sonoma area. Staff are very customer oriented. If you can, book an end room with balcony overlooking the marsh or marina. Pool is heated and the furniture has been recently upgraded. Free parking. You do have to drive 5 minutes to restaurants downtown. The on site restaurant, Tolay, serves delicious breakfast. The Sheraton Club lounge on the 4th floor has snacks and wine. They frequently bring in local wineries for tasting in the lobby. Warning, traffic on the nearby 101 Northbound can slow to a crawl on weekends, so plan your arrival accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here three times in the past few months, each time asking for a quiet room, stressing that I'm a light sleeper, sensitive to noise. But everytime I end up in a eoom with noisy neighbors... I think the problem is very thin walls and very wide gaps between the door and the frame, not noisy fellow guests. Here I am again and I can hear fully the conversation going on in the room next door. When people walk down the hall, i hear their every word and footstep. I keep coming back because I like everything else about the hotel--location, price, staff and accommodations. But I think this is my last try. It's just far too noisy and I can't afford to get bad sleep.

The front desk personale are always very friendly and always assure me it's a quiet room but if I have a problem to call and they'd do what they can. I'm sure they would. But who wants do change rooms after settling in? And who wants to be that kind of bother?

If noise isn't an issue for you, I do recommend the Sheraton Sonoma County here in wonderful Petaluma. Otherwise, you might want to try Doubletree up the road in Rohnert Park to the north or the Sheraton Four Points in San Rafael, a little further south.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisElleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks very much for your candid comments and I am very sorry to hear of the issue of the noisy neighbors. We get very few complaints of noise coming through walls so as a general rule, most guests find the hotel peaceful and quiet. Of course, occassionally some people in nearby rooms can be noisier, prefer a louder TV etc.

It is always good to get this type of feedback as it can be considered when we renovate our rooms in the future.

Thanks again,

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton! Although it doesn't look like much pulling off the highway, when you enter it is very beautifully designed and decorated. And we commented the whole weekend how brand new it looked!

There were a few hiccups... The girl at the front desk first gave us keys to the wrong room (maybe she just thought we'd like to get to know some of our fellow hotel guests *very* well?), our coffee machine didn't work, the tv is a nightmare to use, and my parent's toilet paper holder was installed in such a way that it was not really usable.

The fitness center is really quite nice, and the hotel area is too-- although if it's a chilly or windy day, it's hard to get comfortable even in the hot tub. Maybe some more shielding from the wind is in the works?

The rooms themselves are really nice-- very spacious and the beds are soft and comfortable. The tvs are big and new, and the rooms have mini-fridges for chilling your just-purchased California Chardonnay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this Sheraton in Petaluma. I was clean and had most amenities one would expect, plus the location was great for either Napa or Sonoma wine tasting! The pool has a couple lava pits for evening cozying, and a whirlpool.

Room Tip: Don't bother with spending xtra $ overlooking the "wharf". It's basically just a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark12572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
533 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked two rooms here the Saturday night of Memorial Day weekend. It was really the only hotel with any rooms left in either Napa or Sonoma.

Even though this was not our first choice it worked out just fine. We booked two non smoking King rooms. Happily that is just what we got, as often we arrive at other hotels and are told "Sorry we are out of King rooms. Tough Luck"

The front desk was very busy but they attended to us promptly. Check in was pretty smooth with the small exception of a little hiccup. (She wrote down the wrong room number so we went to the wrong rooms first - no big deal)

The rooms were large with comfortable beds, nice TVs and a good size mini fridge. Though the bathrooms weren't bad by any stretch of the imagination they could use a little updating. And I know it is a nit picky thing but the toilet paper dispensers in our room would hold the rolls of toilet paper, so they would tip off kilter and would unroll.

Your only choice for breakfast at the hotel is the hotel restaurant. Though they have a small gift and coffee-only shop in the lobby, it doesn't sell any small breakfast items like a box of cereal or cup of yogurt. It should for those who don't want the whole breakfast deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpmicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Hpmicks,

Great to hear from you and thanks very much for your (overall) positive comments. Thanks for the tip on the TP holder and I also appreciate your thoughts on light breakfast items in our gift shop. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise.

Cheers!

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
1.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
9.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Property: Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Address: 745 Baywood Dr, Petaluma, CA 94954-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing