We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Game in Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only Game in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Needed to stay in Petaluma for business and this seemed to be the only decent property avaiable, but it was a bit over the budget. The rooms are nice and clean and a decent size. My room had a nice view of the tiny Marina at the back of the property. The property was nicely laid out and super quiet a real plus for a light sleeper like me. The doors even closed extremely quietly so whenever someone left their room the whole floor didn't hear it. Bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. For those of you who like to jog or hike there is a great 4 mile trail within a bird sancuary just steps from the lobby and it's really a great place to lose yourself in the peacefulness. The only issues I had were the Starbucks didn't open until 7:30 not good when you are trying to kick start your day. The other issue was my package included 2 free glasses of wine each night but they only offered a red or white from the same unfamiliar winery and wasn't very good. This coming from a hotel that boasts a huge list of wines rated 90+ points.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Ed,

Thanks for your review and feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and hopefully you will make a return visit in the future.

Regarding our wine selection, yes we do have an extensive list of wines and it has been recognized with a Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence. The wines we pour with the package you were on do change on a regular basis and we frequently choose wines from smaller, less well known Sonoma County wineries. Come on back and try another one!!

Thanks again,

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    241
    106
    38
    28
See reviews for
116
273
30
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for Sonoma, but be prepared for a good drive to hit the vineyards and wineries of napa. The hotel staff are friendly, but the front desk is overwhelmed. They don't have a concierge so at busy checkin times the front desk deals with the new and exiting clients an tries to respond to typical questions for recommendations about restaurants etc. they are overwhelmed. At busy times they need to dedicate someone separate from the registration desk to help. Also, when you check out, be prepared for strange looks from front desk staff if you say thanks and jan them your keys. Seems the express checkout is too much for them! All in all a good stay, but will look at other locations closer to napa next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Fred,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Regarding our front desk being busy, this is a great comment and will help us adjust our staffing, especially in our high season months. We certaonly don't want guests to wait in line any longer than necassary. Thanks again!

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on four separate occasions. It is a really lovely hotel, with great access to highway 101 and also easy access to the Sonoma Valley and Napa beyond.
It is a part of the Starwood program and the point count for a free night is excellent, as is cash and points, if it is offered.
It should also be noted that parking is free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
372 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel was selected by a Priceline Express deal for a four night stay, it appeared to be a great selection based on what I've read about this property. First impressions were very good, hotel looks good inside and out, I like the look of the lobby and the common areas, the room is quite nice.

The only two things that didn't work in my opinion were the following:

1. On the third day of the stay, the housekeeper took the bar of soap from the bathroom but did not provide a new one, this was really bizarre. Perhaps the housekeeper just forgot, we could have called the front desk to ask a houseman or another hotel staff member to provide a soap but I had some of my own soap and bodywash to use;

2. While most of the staff that I spoke to were friendly, there was one front desk staff member that was slightly on the unfriendly side and she spoke to me in a patronizing and condescending manner (this is rare in the hotel industry) - she was one of the worst hotel front desk agents I've ever encountered and I've stayed in a fair number of hotels and I've also worked in hotel management before so I was completely shocked. I nearly rated this Sheraton a 3 out of 5 overall because of this lousy staff member (I should have noted her name so I could provide a formal complaint) but I will maintain a 4 (Very Good) rating overall for this property;

So even though the first impressions were great, the last impressions were not.

Room Tip: Use Priceline to get a good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 998MichaelW998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed a week and got a good insight. The hotel is the premium hotel for Petaluma, beautifully located on the river, and nicely layed out.
The rooms are large and very comfortable. The facilities are good....nice restaurant and bar, nice pool area with swimming lanes, hot tub, and a great exercise workout room. It seemed like everything one could want, including nice friendly front desk personnel. However it had the worst overall housekeeping I have ever come across (room housekeeping the exception). The hotel was generally dirty...carpets were dirty, garabage was not picked up in a timely manner. The pool was not cleaned regulary, and supplies like towels were not replenhished in the pool area. Used towels were strewn around the pool for excessively long periods of time. I compare this hotel to ones I stay in Mexico....where the staff work deligently around the clock to clean and organize....this hotel has a huge potential to improve general housekeeping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgrassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davsco99, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear igrassman,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear of the housekeeping problems you experienced. This is not our norm. It is much more common for us to get very positive feedback on our housekeeping and cleanliness but we obviously had some problems during the dates of your stay. I have discussed your comments with our Housekeeping Manager for her follow up with her staff.

Thank you for taking time to provide this feedback as it helps us improve our service for future guests.

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would first like to thank two front desk staff members Micah and Morgan for giving us great dining recommendations. They were both very sweet and sent us to great restaurants.

I had never been to Petaluma so I didn't know what to expect. My husband and I wanted to visit some wineries and relax. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Convenient location to Downtown Petaluma which is charming. Eat at Central Market there- delicious!! (Micah's recommendation- thank you!)

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning. Food was delicious and service was nice/ prompt.

The only bad things (and they weren't that serious) I would mention would be the bad view from the room we were given (basically overlooking the roof and a highway across the way) and the a/c in the room wasn't that strong. There was no airflow in the bathroom so if the door was closed it would get really stuffy/hot. We received a good rate for the room so we figured this was what was available for what we were paying. And truly we weren't in the room enough for it to be a problem. Maybe request a marina view room if this is important to you but the rate may be higher.

We also loved that parking was free and spaces readily available (not sure if this is always the case depending on occupancy)

We went to a few wineries (most were about 20-30 minutes away) Try Viansa- beautiful winery about 20 minutes from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view- the hotel overlooks a marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Confettigirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location to many of the local wineries and it proved to be a good jumping out point. The hotel is quite large; spread out. I actually got turned around one night in the hallway looking for ice - they need to send you out with a map. The rooms are what you would expect of any Sheraton, well appointed. The standout was the room service, wow. The eggs and pancakes were killer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
9.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
15.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Property: Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Address: 745 Baywood Dr, Petaluma, CA 94954-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing