We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential but lots of Dissappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed a week and got a good insight. The hotel is the premium hotel for Petaluma, beautifully located on the river, and nicely layed out.
The rooms are large and very comfortable. The facilities are good....nice restaurant and bar, nice pool area with swimming lanes, hot tub, and a great exercise workout room. It seemed like everything one could want, including nice friendly front desk personnel. However it had the worst overall housekeeping I have ever come across (room housekeeping the exception). The hotel was generally dirty...carpets were dirty, garabage was not picked up in a timely manner. The pool was not cleaned regulary, and supplies like towels were not replenhished in the pool area. Used towels were strewn around the pool for excessively long periods of time. I compare this hotel to ones I stay in Mexico....where the staff work deligently around the clock to clean and organize....this hotel has a huge potential to improve general housekeeping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davsco99, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear igrassman,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear of the housekeeping problems you experienced. This is not our norm. It is much more common for us to get very positive feedback on our housekeeping and cleanliness but we obviously had some problems during the dates of your stay. I have discussed your comments with our Housekeeping Manager for her follow up with her staff.

Thank you for taking time to provide this feedback as it helps us improve our service for future guests.

David Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 685 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would first like to thank two front desk staff members Micah and Morgan for giving us great dining recommendations. They were both very sweet and sent us to great restaurants.

I had never been to Petaluma so I didn't know what to expect. My husband and I wanted to visit some wineries and relax. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Convenient location to Downtown Petaluma which is charming. Eat at Central Market there- delicious!! (Micah's recommendation- thank you!)

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning. Food was delicious and service was nice/ prompt.

The only bad things (and they weren't that serious) I would mention would be the bad view from the room we were given (basically overlooking the roof and a highway across the way) and the a/c in the room wasn't that strong. There was no airflow in the bathroom so if the door was closed it would get really stuffy/hot. We received a good rate for the room so we figured this was what was available for what we were paying. And truly we weren't in the room enough for it to be a problem. Maybe request a marina view room if this is important to you but the rate may be higher.

We also loved that parking was free and spaces readily available (not sure if this is always the case depending on occupancy)

We went to a few wineries (most were about 20-30 minutes away) Try Viansa- beautiful winery about 20 minutes from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view- the hotel overlooks a marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Confettigirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location to many of the local wineries and it proved to be a good jumping out point. The hotel is quite large; spread out. I actually got turned around one night in the hallway looking for ice - they need to send you out with a map. The rooms are what you would expect of any Sheraton, well appointed. The standout was the room service, wow. The eggs and pancakes were killer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here during the CA Artisan Cheese Festival and we both enjoyed our stay thoroughly, thanks largely to the hospitality shown us by Executive Chef Danny Mai. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food at Danny's restaurant superb. Hotel staff is friendly and attentive. We will return at the first opportunity (perhaps next year's Cheese Festival).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRedSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Business is good, and working very hard, have stayed here now three times each time has been very comfortable, clean, and the staff extremely friendly. Petaluma has that Mayberry feel, and the people here are so warm and friendly. The food in the hotel restaurant is one of the best fine dinning locations in town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotSpringslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel. Had spacious conference rooms for the Cheese Festival classes, setup well for the number of people attending each class and for the topic. My husband and I stayed for one night; room was clean, spacious, comfy beds, had a view of the marina and sail boats on the river. The windows open too so you can let in fresh air if you wish. Much better than the 'environmentally controlled' rooms in so many hotels now. We took a nice hike across the marsh the first afternoon, the entrance for which is right off the hotel's parking lot. Plenty of free parking in a large lot and the tour buses had room to maneuver in/out the lot too so they could come right to the front door. It was a good place to hold the Cheese festival's events.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeAnnFreitag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

GOod stay, good rates, and friendly staff. Good amenities and location. Will stay again in this area.
Close to Sonoma, and shipping along redwood hwy. 5 mins to downtown petaluma area. Parking area is large and close to door, pool was ok with hot tub. Fitness centre looked ok but didnt use it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 9 in Petaluma
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
9.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Address: 745 Baywood Dr, Petaluma, CA 94954-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $151 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing