We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Drinks only” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma to your Saves list
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
cotati
Level Contributor
70 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Drinks only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Last evening my girlfriend and I went to a meeting at the Petaluma Sheraton, We arrived a little early so we were going to unwind after a long day with a drink at the bar, The bar was not that busy however, the older women bartender was in the midst of finishing a drink order for one of the tables so we waited politely for a few minutes to let her finish,well!! I guess we were invisible because we waited and waited and waited as she returned still ingnoring our existance she went on to opening packages of chips without even as much as "I'll be right with you" so at this point we decided to no bother and head into our meeting, Then! as we had our backs turned walking away I hear her call out "what can I do for you"? too little to late....When I walk into a establishment be it a dive bar or a high end restuarant one thing is always a constant, FIRST IMPRESSIONS!! This place failed that test, In my opinon your bartender sets the tone and she definetly set the tone,need I say more?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gweedore55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    217
    96
    32
    27
See reviews for
100
250
29
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a great hotel at a good price.
I booked this on Hotwire for a great rate of $66/night. It was a great; the price made it all the more sweet.
A caveat before I begin: If you are in the Sonoma area to do wine tastings, I have to say that this is not a great location: To hit a lot of the great wineries in the Dry Creek Road/Healdsburg area, you are looking at a good 35 mile drive from the hotel to the wineries. So, considering that you won't want to/probably shouldn't drive that far after a day of tastings, you might be wise to find another hotel. Certainly there are closer wineries, but the really great ones in Sonoma - I think - are up in the northern section of Petaluma.
Too bad, because this hotel is awesome: big, comfy beds with high-quality linens. Nice bathrooms (though the shower pressure is a little lacking). Room was immaculate, and we had a great view of the marina right out of our window.
Special kudos to the housekeeping staff: Hey management: Whoever cleaned room our room on the second floor should get a raise.
Great place! Highly-recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabbagehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are about what you'd expect. Clean, modern, tad bit tired... Comes with frig, no microwave. Internet is complimentary, but very slow even at wee hours of night. The hotel itself, the lobby area, etc. is quite nice. You're also about a five minute drive from downtown Petaluma, a nice place to chill and walk about!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imandy0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I arrived in the evening after sitting in traffic and was grateful to find a nice appetizer and drink service available as I booked an executive level room. I had a meeting the next morning so the delicious breakfast was icing on the cake. My room was clean and quiet. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: My room was down the hall away from the elevator so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. I wouldn't say that it is up to the standard of some other Sheratons that I've been to but we enjoyed our stay here.

We chose this hotel because it was 1) a Sheraton 2) it was close to Bodega Bay where were spending most of our day and 3) we could bring our dog without any extra charges!

The grounds overall were clean. The pool area could have used a little attention since it had a few empty plastic cups and a band-aid near the whirlpool. I appreciated the free wifi throughout and there is a Starbucks on site. The front desk staff are also the baristas and I can only imagine how crazy it can get.

The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and furnished. I have no complaints about the rooms. They offer 2 kinds of pillows and the bed was comfortable. We had a Marina view room.

The location is excellent since it is less than 30 minutes from the ocean or Napa. Having the Sheraton located along the marina was nice but it sounds nicer than it really is but I'm not knocking any points off nor am I adding any. Petaluma itself is a nice destination on its own so make sure you take the time to walk around. There is nice coffee shop in the same complex as the Sheraton and i recommend making a stop there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We checked in late at around 10pm. As a SPG platinum member we got a room at club level facing to parking lot . Quiet enough. The only staff seemed to be happy to see us was the porter man, who was helpful. We did not see any marina 'view' even at am when we walked around, quiet different from hotel picture. We got a small view of it at the club lounge - a few docked boats with little water and highway. Overall, I gave a below average rating for the hotel for both hardware/the faculty and software/limited service in comparison to other much better served sharetons in bay area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellexun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la, california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms were disgusting. Far from clean. Curtains had dirty stains all over them and our pillows had BLOOD stains on them! !!!
We arrived so late that we didn't have the energy to switch rooms, so we just threw the pillows off the bed. But when I emailed Sheraton regarding their gross rooms, all they did was reactivate my Sherwood card. Umm, no thanks! How does that help how gross your rooms are , Especially for a 4 star hotel?!?! I have no idea how they got that many stars with unsanitary rooms..

That being said employees were very nice. Cute design of the building by the marina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davsco99, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Travel Lover,

Having just read your review I hope you will accept my sincere apolgies for your poor experience. We take pride in the quality of our rooms and our cleanliness standards and we clearly let you down. This is the first I have heard of this incident and I would like to make it right; please contact me at your convenience to discuss it.

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel and Cafe
Metro Hotel and Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
1.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Property: Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Address: 745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Starwood, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing