We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tres Hombres - CLOSED

Tres Hombres
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food, expensive!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The food was normal Mexican food. The menu was small and the items were expensive. The portion size was good. If you are looking for a clean, good atmosphere, decent Mexican food establishment try them out! The salsa was great!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanaka44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprise Party for Relatives”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great food, great service, very accommodating staff for a large party. Could of used a bit more space for arriving and waiting for sitting down. But otherwise, recommend restaurant for a party!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisadesanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Champagne Brunch”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Tres Hombres has changed their selections for their "Sunday Champagne Brunch", however: it wasn't a positive change.

Also, my wife and I like to sit in a little larger table because we don't like tables that are cluttered with no room to comfortably eat. I don't think they appreciated us asking for a larger table. One time we went for brunch and the waitress poured our glass with champagne and left the bottle for us. The next time we went, the waitress poured our glass, took the bottle and never came back. I don't have to tell how we felt about that lack of service.

The Tres Hombres brunch selection used to have a wider and more flavorful selection. I cannot figure out why they decided to go with their present menu.

I would however, highly recommend their regular menu as it contains very delicious and traditional items.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NashMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not good plalnning.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our last visit here was using a Groupon. they were totally unprepared for the number of people who showed up. They ran out of pretty much everything at one point or another. Not a good experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank devenich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hmmmm...miscalculation? or overall bad planning?”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

While planning my trip, I visited Groupon and Living Social for the opportunity to try some random restraunts in towns we are visiting. When I saw the Unlimited Brunch for 4 with Bottomless Champagne Groupon at Tres Hombres, I had to get it as we were visiting for my dad's 79th birthday and thought this would be perfect!


First problem...when you get the address to Tres Hombres and aren't from Petaluma...you will be LOST. As my poor mom and dad followed we headed to where 151 Petaluma Blvd SHOULD be and were right behind a woman with a Living Social certificate looking for the same restaurant and asking a shop owner where it was. Turns out there is a Petaluma Blvd. and then a Petaluma Blvd. South where the odd numbers are on the opposite side of the street...and this restaurant is actually inside a cobbled "paseo" across from a MOVIE theater, not the Petaluma Theatre that I was expecting. SO...once we had hoofed it a few blocks we got to the restaurant at 1:30pm on Sunday. Let me reiterate that we had a Groupon for the unlimited brunch and champagne which did NOT say we needed reservations, plus said was served from 11-2.

As soon as we walked up we were told that they were no longer serving brunch AT ALL because they had "run out of eggs, run out of champagne," etc.


I proceeded to say that I was only in town for a couple of days only and that the Groupon would be of no use to me on any other day and I had meant it to be a birthday brunch. The owner/manager (?) did allow me to use the Groupon for face value toward the lunch menu. I was actually satisfied with this at the time, but as I have thought about it...I had purchased a certificate that had a value of 4 brunches at $19.99 each and instead they covered the $32 that I paid for the certificate. I could have gone anywhere...hmmm...


The food was decent. Nothing that I would write home about. I got 2 tropical fish tacos which were very very light on the fish. Clearly they had also run out of ice in their mad rush of Groupon/Living Social users (what restaurant puts BOTH of these out on the same week!?) as our water and iced tea had no ice. I had to ask for utensils, straws, napkins, etc.


It's a bit hard to blame the servers if they were completely swamped from 11-1, but they were clearly taking their breather after the insanity of the morning...no chip refills, no drink refills, nothing extra at all.


After our experience I would probably never return to this restaurant on a future trip. What I was hoping would be a lovely all-you-can-eat brunch with champagne and dessert ended up being a couple of stingy tacos and warm iced tea. Bummer. Sorry dad! Hope I made up for it today! ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClawMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Hombres also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing