We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petaluma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place for the Family”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I can see why this KOA is a two time winner of the Founders Award. Great place for the family as well as a great Getaway for Grandma and Grandpa. Has a great time and will most certainly return. To staff if friendly and helpful. The petting zoo was a hit with the grand kids as well as the playground and Jump Pillow.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    60
    25
    22
    14
See reviews for
99
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The facilities here are fine and I'm sure it is a clean well run KOA...unfortunately the stench from the manure spreading close by was horrendous and we had not been warned (and at the price I would have been less unhappy if we had been). The info brochure even had an add-on marketing pitch selling the `aroma' at this time of year as a minor inconvenience. Please be upfront about this when people call to book a site. We called and booked early in the day and NO mention of this was made. We are not precious city slickers who have never smelled cow s*#t....this was just way beyond reasonable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a large park with lots of activities for kids. There are not a lot of choices in the area to visit all the wineries, BUT next time I will look for them. The park has paved roads and sites are either gravel or paved. Ask for paved as we were put in three different sites that were gravel and could not level. Small sites. The worst thing is the smell. The park is surrounded by cattle or dairy farms and the cow manure smell was bad the entire week and we only went outside to get in the car. While this is not the parks fault, you pay a lot to smell s*** all the time. There is another review that says this is one of the best KOA's in the country. I have to wonder how many they had been to as we have been to a couple dozen and this is one we would not return to. The staff here is really good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We came to this campground off- season. At this time, camps are usually empty and no activities are offered. It was different in Petaluma. Kids enjoyed a jumping pillow, a petting zoo, an excellent playground, hayrides, and banana bikes. The swimming pool was full of people. In addition to a traditional campfire, we participated in the Halloween costume parade, Trick or Treat (with more than 40 sites ready to treat). We even had a potluck dinner, where a camp staff provided pasta with meatballs. Big nighttime corn maze was just across the street. My four grandchildren had a lot of fun and we had fun looking at them. The camp location is excellent: it is very close to US 101. Only two cons we can list: a strong manure smell and a weak WIFI signal in our cottage. But it cannot overweight the great time we had in this KOA. We will definitely return there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here staging an eventual trip into San Francisco and it was the perfect place to let the kids have a great time after a long day of driving. Great spots for RVs, lots of amenities including a top notch kids playground, and nice staff with a large general store. In the middle of farm country so that is the only reason this doesn't get a 5 star rating - had to air out the RV on the drive down to SF given the farm smell, but that is the only downside. Recommend staying here with families and to jump off to Sonoma wine country as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

First time at a KOA. Expectations weren't very high, so no room for disappointment. Couple of tips for tent campers: bring earplugs (constant road traffic on 101 can be heard), the smell from the cow farm will be hard to forget (seemed to go away at night, or I got use to it). Bathrooms & showers were fine, nothing fancy. Office kept odd hours, would suggest calling day of to ask their hours, especially if new KOA camper (they have late night reg. process, just sounded confusing to a newbie like me). If you've never been to SF, you MUST take the tour from KOA. Be sure John is your guide. He's from SF and showed us some sights that were off the normal trail, plus he had a personal spin on the stories he shared. Another note - Petaluma seems to close early (a sleepy town), so plan ahead for dinner so you don't get stuck with limited options.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Katherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent choice if you want to visit San Francisco or the Wine Country as it's within easy reach of both.
The site was very well equipped with a super pool and lots of facilities for kids. The bathrooms were clean with good showers. Staff at the site were friendly and helpful.
We camped in a motor home on a good sized pull through pitch. Our only concern was that, when returning one night after dining out in Petaluma, we found a group of very drunk people sitting round the public fire pit next to our pitch. We thought we might be in for disturbed night but they were very quiet and went away promptly at 10 pm.
Would be happy to recommend this site and can see why it is so highly rated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
3.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
159 reviews
3.9 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
754 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

Property: San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA
Address: 20 Rainsville Rd, Petaluma, CA 94952-8121
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Petaluma
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy glamcamping in the heart of the Wine Country and a short trip to San Francisco, Coastal Beaches, Graton Rancheria Casino, Sonoma Raceway, Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Petaluma Premium Outlet shopping, Lagunitas Brewery, many golf courses and more wineries than you can count! We are located near so many ways to play you may need several days. We offer all types of accommodations at our beautiful glamcamping resort from tenting, cabins, RV sites to full service glamcamping in our Wine Country Lodges. Wine Country lodges offer all the comfort of a hotel combined with all the fun of one of Americas top family resorts. Your Wine Country Lodge even comes with Wine glasses, a gas grill, a fire pit and all the stars you can count. The family will love our bounce pillow, rock wall, beautiful pool and hot spa, banana bikes, gold panning area, petting farm, recreation hall and more. San Francisco Tours leave the resort daily May1-October31st. Our friendly staff are happy to assist you in planning an unforgettable vacation. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Francisco North / Petaluma Koa Hotel Petaluma
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing