We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough bathrooms or showers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petaluma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA
1 review
“Not enough bathrooms or showers!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I have stayed at many KOAs throughout the United States. We expected this one to be crowded- campsites near big cities typically are in the summer months. What we didn't expect was the lack of bathroom facilities. The KOA website tells you there are 312 campsites. What they don't tell you is that there are only 2 bathroom buildings! One women's building has five bathroom stalls. The other building has four bathroom stalls and 3 shower stalls. Nine toilets and three showers are not enough for the 312 sites. This caused the bathrooms to always be busy and very dirty. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelNCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetalumaKOA, Owner at San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello and thank you for staying we us at Petaluma KOA Campground. I am sorry that my staff did not make you aware of all of the bathroom/shower facilities on our property. We actually have 4 bathroom/ shower units on our property. Each unit has multiple bathrooms and showers. Improving our shower/bathroom units is also at the top of our list in ongoing projects. Last winter we completely remodeled and improved the facilities in the main campground with all new tile, granite countertops and improved lighting for our guests enjoyment. This winter we will be remodeling the bathrooms/showers connected to the office to better serve our guests. We are also currently working with a company to redesign the bathroom unit in the tenting area to include showers! As we have increased our lodging offerings, we are using units that have their own bathrooms in order to ease the demand on the general bathroom units. We now offer 20 lodges with private bathroom and showers. We are thankful for your feedback. I have spoken to my staff about making sure they point out all of our bathroom facilities to registering guests. I hope we get the opportunity to see you in the future and wish you many happy camping vacations.
Pauline Wood
Owner Petaluma KOA Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    24
    22
    14
See reviews for
94
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Nelson, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had never camp at a KOA before, but after this stay, we will not hesitate. This place was top shelf all the way. Even though we are seniors without kids, it was evident that this place had it all for family camping.
The staff here were all friendly and helpful. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The store was well stocked with all the essentials, and some not so essentials! But who doesn't want a Latte and ice cream while camping?
We had a great stay and will camp here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Super friendly, helpful staff. The grounds are very clean and well maintained. So many amenities and lots for kids to do! Our kids would have loved to just stay in the camp grounds throughout our stay. Easy commute to the city or vineyards. The only con for me was the cleanliness of the bathrooms. they could have used some attention. May have just been an off day. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernbelle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent camping spot for families. Fun activities and big swimming pool! Clean bathrooms and grounds. Friendly staff!! Great time for the 4th of July weekend with DJ by the pool, karaoke night! Hula hoop contest and rock climbing for the kids. All included in the cost

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been coming to this KOA for several years. If you have children under the age of 13, they will be entertained all day long. And the great thing is that your kids can roam freely and play freely. Once they are able to find their way "home", you can let them go. There is a huge pool that is very crowded during the nice weather. A nightly movie at the pool is fun. There is a petting zoo, "rock climbing wall", jump pillows and banana bike rentals. An arcade, pool tables, horse shoes and campground sponsored kid-friendly activities all day long. The campsites are very well maintained. If you are bringing your own rig, there are full hookups with decent wifi (only 199 users at any given time can be on). For those without a rig there are cabins of different sizes and amenities. You can have a great time here.

Room Tip: If you have a rig, we prefer rows B - F. It has a great deal more shade and is close to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our favorite thing about our stay here was the great tour to San Francisco. Our guide was a native and he shared so much great info and stories! It was absolutely worth the price & time spent, which is a very full day. The campground itself is large with lots of choices according to needs and budgets. There are many activities for children like a pool, petting zoo, huge trampoline, rock climbing wall, playground, rec room. More restrooms & showers are needed toward the back of the park. The location is good as a launch toward areas north of San Francisco as well as the city itself.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This privately-owned KOA just a 30 minute ride to the Sand Fran ferry has it all: a plentiful, helpful and friendly staff, well-stocked store (albeit a bit pricey), a petting zoo, daily tours that aren't overly-priced, heated pool, lots of campsites for RVs, tens, and cabins, a generous number of well-placed and trimmed trees, roomy dog run with grass, clean bathrooms, fun daily activities, multiple laundry rooms, game room with snacks and ice cream socials, playgrounds and hayrides nightly.... I am sure there may be more, but I only stayed a week.

All of these amenities do not come cheap! This is the second priciest campground I have stayed in (with the exception of the cliff top RV park overlooking the ocean in Malibu... but that is another review... (-:

Lots of folks come to the area from close and far; we even stayed next to another Floridian family! There are great rides through wine (and cheese) country of Sonoma. Lots of diverse regional, State and National parks to explore (I suggest Tule Elk Preserve at Point Reyes). It's truly beautiful here.

When you do visit, be prepared to sample some of the local farmed BBQ oysters and sustainability caught seafood throughout this area.

Room Tip: Cal at least a couple weeks ahead... it's a busy place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownIdCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
3.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
748 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
6.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
#3 of 10 in Rohnert Park
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

Property: San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA
Address: 20 Rainsville Rd, Petaluma, CA 94952-8121
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Petaluma
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy glamcamping in the heart of the Wine Country and a short trip to San Francisco, Coastal Beaches, Graton Rancheria Casino, Sonoma Raceway, Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Petaluma Premium Outlet shopping, Lagunitas Brewery, many golf courses and more wineries than you can count! We are located near so many ways to play you may need several days. We offer all types of accommodations at our beautiful glamcamping resort from tenting, cabins, RV sites to full service glamcamping in our Wine Country Lodges. Wine Country lodges offer all the comfort of a hotel combined with all the fun of one of Americas top family resorts. Your Wine Country Lodge even comes with Wine glasses, a gas grill, a fire pit and all the stars you can count. The family will love our bounce pillow, rock wall, beautiful pool and hot spa, banana bikes, gold panning area, petting farm, recreation hall and more. San Francisco Tours leave the resort daily May1-October31st. Our friendly staff are happy to assist you in planning an unforgettable vacation. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Francisco North / Petaluma Koa Hotel Petaluma
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing