We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real Wild West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petaluma Adobe State Historic Park

Petaluma Adobe State Historic Park
Ranked #8 of 56 things to do in Petaluma
Attraction details
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The real Wild West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Loved it all. The real thing. We had a fantastic docent who knew her stuff. The park ranger wasn't quite as pleasant, although apparently she is very busy. Interested to hear they run a school program. We actually got to go I to some of the exhibits. Fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Old California”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spacious frontier ranch house in a comfy and relaxed setting. Not many examples of life in our state from this time. A good place to stop and picnic at your car, kill an hour or more, and be together with the family. It helps develop an identity as Californians to understand how people lived before our time. A worthy stop, I wouldn't drive much more than an hour unless you have other business nearby or are on an old California pilgrimage.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A taste of Old California, as it was in the early 19th century”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A trip to the Petaluma Adobe is like stepping back in time to "Old California" before there were any Americans here. This is the "Casa Grande" that General Mariano Vallejo built and one of the places he called home. Walking through the buildings, you'll see the rooms as they might have appeared in the early 19th century. I highly recommend visiting during "Old Adobe Days", if you can, to see how life might have been lived. Kids will like it as they can make candles, weave baskets and talk to the docents who dress up in historical costumes and give tours. Otherwise, you should be sure to check the hours as state budget cuts have impacted the days and times it is open.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“California State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of the least known of the California State Parks. Check for hours and days it is opened. It is well worth a visit if you are interested in California's days of Mexican ranchos. General Vallejo ran cattle here. The ticket will get you into other sites over in Sonoma.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PetalumaQueenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
1,083 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“Not open to the public”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We drove to the park based on the reviews and found it closed. I called the number at the entrance and the lady said it is only open four days a week due to CA budget cuts. They cannot afford to list the days on their sign, says she. So, we missed the opportunity to support this state park and hope that others will discover the open days and make a visit. I believe it is open Sat and Sun,Tues and Wed. Sorry to rate it so low, but I would be surprised if it is open at all in year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petaluma Adobe State Historic Park also viewed

 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Petaluma Adobe State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing