We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pigeon Point Light Station

Pigeon Point Light Station
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic lighthouse, named after the carrier pigeon, is more than a century old.
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This lighthouse cannot be visited inside, and there is a fence around it to keep visitors out as its fragile. It has never been restored, which is very sad. But the location and small visitor store are great. The store is only open on weekends, as it is purely manned by volunteers. Several times a year there is great whale watching from the platform, and on weekends the volunteers have binoculars for visitors to use. There are also lots of birds to watch and sea lions. It can be cold, and it's always windy there. However, I've had plenty of lunches on the bench on the platform, waiting for whale sightings, and it can be very pleasant when it's sunny. On weekends, one could also drive a bit further south to Pie Ranch, get a coffee or piece of pie, and come back to the lighthouse to sit there for a while and just enjoy the open ocean. I've been going there now for 7 years, and still love it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drezdany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    93
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxed stop along the PCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A really beautiful spot to stop at when driving along the PCH. Gorgeous views of the Pacific, we went at the tale end of the whale migration and saw one swimming. (Migration ends in January, we were there very early February). Not much to do other than soak up the views, but so worth doing so.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bridget1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stopped here on our drive from San Fran to Santa Cruz on Hwy. 1. I love lighthouses, but this one is in a sad state and in need of repairs. It is very windy and cold but the views are magnificent. We saw lots of sea lions sunning on the rocks and we took lots of photos. You can't get near the lighthouse, but if you are driving along this stretch of Hwy. 1 you are going to want to stop somewhere to capture the exquisite scenery. I suggest this is a great place to take it all in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlottejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place to watch surfers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have visited Pigeon Point Light Station several times over my lifetime. Great place to just watch people, the surfers, or just take in the cool ocean air.

Helpful?
Thank hiredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Good bit of History and Beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Many paths to walk, a cool lighthouse and an International Hostle too. Real friendly folks both working there and visitors. We got there GeoCaching, but stayed for a walk down to the beach. Makes for some cool pics if you are into photography.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Point Light Station also viewed

 

Been to Pigeon Point Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing