We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pescadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA is one of our favorites we stay two or three times a year. The grounds and the washrooms are always very nice and well kept.Great walking trails to the hills behind the camp and more trails to the ocean and beach. The restraunt bar is a real plus if you want to get outof your tent or RV. Great day trips North or South. One of my top ten places to camp

Room Tip: Plan on walking,bring what you need it's a few miles to a real store
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
44
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to find this place along the coast between Santa Cruz and San Francisco. It was a busy sunny Saturday evening and most places were booked. We found this nice KOA. And we're very pleased. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. The grounds and the washrooms were all very nice and well kept. There were saunas and stations for washing our dishes. We stayed in the budget camping area of the resort. This group camping area was quite shy on picnic tables. They should add a few more. We arrived early enough to get a nice camping spot under a beautiful pine tree with a picnic table. We strolled down to the beach after dinner to watch the sunset. And woke to California Quail and blackbirds. I'll likely stay there again some day. I recommend it for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visuddhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Awesome!
Views of both the mountains & beach; score :D!
Clean!
They have nice, large, clean, restrooms & showers!
Gorgeous!
Peaceful!
Fun!
Cheap! $30 for tent camping & cabin lodging for as low as $72 online.
Drive up here, is soooo beautiful & scenic!
I highly recommend this camping site!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Factualandtruegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 745 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Although its branded as "Santa Cruz", this property is actually much closer to Pescadero and Half Moon Bay and is not even in Santa Cruz County. Access is near the famous Pigeon Point Lighthouse along Highway 1. A fragrant, eucalyptus-lined side road takes you into the Costanoa KOA Kamp up on an ocean-view plateau. You must check in even if exploring for your site.

They have a variety of sites from long-term trailers thru a variety of camper amenity levels up to "Lexus sites" with all the trimmings. They also have several tent, log cabins, bungalows and lodge rooms for rental. Since it was December, the Kamp was barely occupied and we had a choice of ocean-view sites. The only provisions in these parts are at the Kamp store, therefore we recommend you be fully stocked as possible before setting down. There are snack bars and a full restaurant. Most sites were ready for hook-up but some parts of the property seemed closed for the season. Patrons were from all over the US and generally seemed "KOA friendly". The Kamp is more expensive than the typical KOA, though.

Bottom line, this great location is more like being on the Oregon Coast than in California. We highly recommend Costana. Check out their website for more details at www.costanoa.com

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve in advance, no matter what the season. This place fills up fast and there are fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Check on was a breeze. John was a new employee & on is 4th day and was very pleasant, quick & efficient. He even signed us up for their discount Kamper card ( as I'm sure we will return to this resort.
We stayed in the Seascape loop site S-11 (more roomy sites & scenic) and the closest to the restaurant and gift shop. Also, I had very decent wifi from our rig, but no cell service from anywhere in the park (Verizon).
They have a very nice dog walk area, small playground and plenty picnic tables throughout the grounds. Our site had a fire pit, but you nay want to bring your own wood as they charge $10 for a small bundle.
The beach is a good walk thru a field & across the highway (probably about 200-300 yard walk)
The staff in the store is very friendly & helpful. They have cute gift and local crafts/jewelry as well as a few grocery & beach items.
It was a warm January weekend (69 degrees) but got chilly in the eves so layering is a good idea.
Santa Cruz to the south is a 25 min drive as well as 25 min north to Half moon bay.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank m0welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just returned today from a 4 day trip to Costanoa KOA.
Wow! This place was beautiful! The park was booked solid, yet we still felt like we had a lot of space to ourselves! We were in Seascape and were told they are the best sots on the property and I believe it. We wandered through the campground and did feel that the other loops were a bit packed in.
When we arrived, we were treated so well by the folks registering us. They were polite, funny and full of information about the park and showed us points of interest on the map.
When we pulled into our space there were kids riding bikes and playing football, and the place didn't even sound noisey. When the sun went down the whole place calmed down and became very peaceful.
The young lady at the little store was very helpful and told us the best route to take when hiking to the beach. My husband and I spent 3 hours hiking on and around the beach, so don't leave camp without water and a jacket.
The tide pools at the beach were incredible, but the tide was coming in pretty quickly so we headed back to camp.
The sunsets were perfect, as all sunsets are.
We didn't try the restaurant as we just didn't have time, but intend to next trip.
We got massages at the spa and we were treated very well by the girls running the front desk and our massage therapists were awesome.
We're going back asap! We loved it, every bit of it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had seen this KOA about a year earlier on one of our trips to this area. It was such a beautiful location we made a point of returning for a stay. It is a very well run KOA with friendly staff, clean grounds, and an awesome location. A walk across Hwy 1 and you right on the beach! There are many ocean view spaces in the park. There is a store and nice restaurant on site. We went with the pull thru sites and it was extremely easy to get set up and then we settled in for a four day stay. Short drive to Santa Cruz and many easy access beach locations within a few miles either direction. This is a must stay KOA if you are looking for a restful stay and beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pescadero
19.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
561 reviews
25.0 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
911 reviews
14.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
3.1 mi away
Hostelling International-Pigeon Point Lighthouse Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA

Property: Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA
Address: 2001 Rossi Rd, Pescadero, CA 94060-9732
Location: United States > California > Pescadero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pescadero
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz North / Costanoa Koa Hotel Pescadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing