We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place to relax!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pescadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We've been there quite a few times and have never been disappointed. Quiet beach just walking distance from the campground, playground for kids, driving distance to both half moon bay and santa cruz and monterey. the only thing we missed was a nice heated pool. food served for a nominal amount and a pricey restaurant.

Room Tip: poor internet connection. cell phone reception better than internet but still not good enough. but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I have visited Costanoa at least once a year for 8 years (before KOA). This vacation (5/30 - 6/3) was cut short one day. We left Saturday afternoon after 30-40 very young children and their families took over the camping area on our end of the loop. I have nothing against children and their families camping (a limited number) but to have a swarm of families in the same area as regular campers is not acceptable. At two camp sites there were eight families (I counted 6 cars parked at one time, 13 adults and countless children of all ages). Way too many people for two camp sites. I would think that KOA had regulations on this. It was quiet and peaceful before Saturday; it quickly changed in volume and congestion.

This fiasco could have been managed by the KOA staff differently. The experience was poorly orchestrated.

Room Tip: Ask the registation desk if a large group will be in the area during your stay and if one is, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed in the Seascape Village Loop. Our site backed up to a beautiful ocean view. We found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful. We arrived a couple of hours early. Not only did she let us enter the campground early, she took one look at our 5th wheel and said we needed a bigger spot. Also, she noticed that we had a large rear picture window. So, she put us in a bigger spot with the rear of our trailer facing the ocean so that we could have that amazing view out our back window. Loved it! There was a large grassy area behind our trailer where kids frolicked and we walked our dogs. The restaurant is great! The gift shop is just that - a gift shop. Don't plan on buying groceries there. But, you can pick up some locally made eco-friendly products. We enjoyed walking around the campsite - be sure to take a walk to the organic garden at the back. Very impressive! We will definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My family of four just returned from KOA Costanoa from a 4day RV Trip. ( we cut it to 3)
We we looking forward to the KOA experience of the Friendly Staff and kid friendly environment that KOA generally provides.
We arrived and were greeted with a woman who basically said it would rain all week ( and it did) but that was it. I asked if there was a jumping pillow and she said no. That was it.
She did not mention any other kid related activities that the resort offered. There is absolutely nothing for kids at this location.
WE did read that it was an eco friendly campground, but based on our stays at other KOA campgrounds, we were expecting the KOA staff and site to accommodate children in some way.
There are only (2) swings on at this location. The rediculous playround ( if that is what you call it) looks like something in someones backyard). In the RV Area , there is just one large grass area for kids to play. That is great if the kids want to play frisbee, or toss a football back and forth, however, KOA in my mind, has the reputation of having kid friendly activites and this location completely fell short!

I have to say we are so disappointed. I cannot believe KOA could charge this amount for a RV camping spot without offering the amenities that it does at the other locations.

Just wanted to make this information available for familes so they can make sure to book the other KOA locations for familiy vacations!!! I know we will.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We camped at Santa Cruz / Costanoa KOA just before Thanksgiving. This really is a beautiful location. The tent sites are located in the Eucalyptus Camp loop (a campground map is available on their website). The tent sites are on one side of the “street” and the stables are located across the street. We enjoyed having the horses nearby and did not notice any smell. You can actually see the ocean from the tent sites and the trail to the beach is located near the stables. It is definitely worth the walk out to the beach. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant one morning. It was very good with a nice atmosphere.

I must say that the bathrooms are the greatest feature of this campground. They are very nice – all the photos are accurate. They are heated! But, there is only 1 shower in each bathroom – kind of strange. In the courtyard of the bathrooms is the fireplace. We spent several hours there each night. They do provide wood and very comfortable adirondack chairs.

The tent sites are typical of KOA – small and very close together. We really are not fans of being close to our neighbors. There were actually only 2 groups of us camping. We thought they would separate us. They actually put us in sites adjacent to each other – less than 10 feet separating our tents. Most of the tent sites have a platform that you can put the tent on. We actually brought our small 3 person backpacking tent and were able to just fit it on the platform. If you have anything larger – such as regular family camping tent – it won’t fit and you will need to pitch it on the grass. Expect lots of moisture on the grass. Each site has a picnic table that you can cook on, water spigot and electric.

The other tent option is one of 4 or 5 “primitive sites”. I think I might prefer this option. Basically you pitch your tent out in a rather large open field (just past pine village loop). The problem is that there is only one picnic table there to share and you are not allowed to cook at it. You might call and see if you are allowed to cook at one of the other picnic tables located in the main part of the campground. Water is at the bathroom about 100 yards from the parking area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Outdoorsy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday and found it to be very lovely.
The staff was very nice and accommodating and the restaurant was excellent with a full bar, extensive wine list and great food. The store was adequate but make sure you stop at a market before heading out because the closest "normal" market is well over 30+ minutes away in Santa Cruz. It was quite, clean and the open spaces were very nice and well maintained. the sites were a bit snug but you didn't really notice it all that much because of the open spaces around you. If you bring your dog, be prepared that they are only allowed in a limited range of areas within this property. You CANNOT walk your dog to the beach (not a dog beach) and you cannot walk your dog over toward the lodge, restaurant or into the tent and cabin areas. We found this to be a bit constrictive but it was okay.
Be sure to bring your own fire pit (which is allowed in the fire pit spot behind your space) because it costs $25/day to rent a poorly vented pit with wet wood=smoke!
The bathrooms and showers were clean and very warm!
The fireplaces outside of the bathrooms were a bit odd and we never saw anyone using them. Something about sitting at a fire outside of a public restroom is strange and unsettling. Lots of garbage stations which I like and nice big outside sinks if you want to wash your dishes there.
Not a lot of bike riding around unless you are comfortable with biking on HWY101, which I am not.
Also, you have to cross HWY 101 to walk down to the beach...and remember no dogs on that beach. There are two really nice beaches that allow dogs on leash just a mile and three miles North and South.
Our dinner at the restaurant was wonderful. The server and staff at the restaurant, lodge and store were not nearly as nice or accommodating as the KOA staff, however they were not rude or nasty, just cool.
Overall we felt very happy, comfortable and safe here. The other campers were all very friendly and no drifter types. We were fine allowing our 9 year old daughter to wander a bit with neighboring kids and not feel terrified. We could always see her and she was as happy as ever running on the nice grassy areas and playing on the fields. Younger kids with bmx bikes would have lots of fun riding on the dirt track trails along the back of the campground area.
We definitely would reserve our spot in the SEASCAPE circle because they were the most spacious spots. These spots however DO NOT have the nice elevated deck areas (with power) if you like that.
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Seascape is best circle unless you have tent campers with you and/or want the elevated decks with po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I have stayed at Costanoa several times over the past 10+ years. Camping, RVing, and in the tent cabins. Never tried the lodge. I've been here solo while working in the area, with just my wife, with my wife and friends, with wife and gkids, with daughter and gkids and her friends and their kids. We have always loved it. There is so much to do. Beachcombing, hiking, biking, just relaxing, elephant seals, kayaking, great dining on premise or 8-10 miles in either direction. There is also lots to do as a day trip.

The setting is beautiful. There is a landscaped berm separating the camp area from the highway, so little or no road noise. As I understand it, there were stringent regulations when the property was developed. There is very little night time lighting. Bring several flashlights. There don't seem to be any loud or wild groups. Nights are peaceful. RVs are separated from tent campers, although we have pitched a tent for the gkids next to our RV on occassion.

The restrooms have always been very clean. The grounds are always litter free. We like the communal fireplaces with free firewood, and out of the wind and night time chill. There are saunas, too. Free wifi, with probably the best signals I have ever had.

Warnings: Come well stocked with food, or expect to drive 20-30 minutes for groceries. NO cell phone service, but there is a free courtesy phone in the lodge which has never been busy when I've needed it to check voicemail and return phone calls.

All in all, a very unique RV park. It is more of a retreat than an overnight stop, although they seem to get a lot of foreign travelers just spending the night on their way up hwy 1.

Room Tip: This is an RV park and campground. We prefer the back in sites in the first section. Bigger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEHBrentwoodCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA

Address: 2001 Rossi Rd, Pescadero, CA 94060-9732
Location: United States > California > Pescadero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pescadero
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz North / Costanoa Koa Hotel Pescadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing