We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views in a Peaceful Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pescadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Views in a Peaceful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed in the Seascape Village Loop. Our site backed up to a beautiful ocean view. We found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful. We arrived a couple of hours early. Not only did she let us enter the campground early, she took one look at our 5th wheel and said we needed a bigger spot. Also, she noticed that we had a large rear picture window. So, she put us in a bigger spot with the rear of our trailer facing the ocean so that we could have that amazing view out our back window. Loved it! There was a large grassy area behind our trailer where kids frolicked and we walked our dogs. The restaurant is great! The gift shop is just that - a gift shop. Don't plan on buying groceries there. But, you can pick up some locally made eco-friendly products. We enjoyed walking around the campsite - be sure to take a walk to the organic garden at the back. Very impressive! We will definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
42
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My family of four just returned from KOA Costanoa from a 4day RV Trip. ( we cut it to 3)
We we looking forward to the KOA experience of the Friendly Staff and kid friendly environment that KOA generally provides.
We arrived and were greeted with a woman who basically said it would rain all week ( and it did) but that was it. I asked if there was a jumping pillow and she said no. That was it.
She did not mention any other kid related activities that the resort offered. There is absolutely nothing for kids at this location.
WE did read that it was an eco friendly campground, but based on our stays at other KOA campgrounds, we were expecting the KOA staff and site to accommodate children in some way.
There are only (2) swings on at this location. The rediculous playround ( if that is what you call it) looks like something in someones backyard). In the RV Area , there is just one large grass area for kids to play. That is great if the kids want to play frisbee, or toss a football back and forth, however, KOA in my mind, has the reputation of having kid friendly activites and this location completely fell short!

I have to say we are so disappointed. I cannot believe KOA could charge this amount for a RV camping spot without offering the amenities that it does at the other locations.

Just wanted to make this information available for familes so they can make sure to book the other KOA locations for familiy vacations!!! I know we will.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We camped at Santa Cruz / Costanoa KOA just before Thanksgiving. This really is a beautiful location. The tent sites are located in the Eucalyptus Camp loop (a campground map is available on their website). The tent sites are on one side of the “street” and the stables are located across the street. We enjoyed having the horses nearby and did not notice any smell. You can actually see the ocean from the tent sites and the trail to the beach is located near the stables. It is definitely worth the walk out to the beach. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant one morning. It was very good with a nice atmosphere.

I must say that the bathrooms are the greatest feature of this campground. They are very nice – all the photos are accurate. They are heated! But, there is only 1 shower in each bathroom – kind of strange. In the courtyard of the bathrooms is the fireplace. We spent several hours there each night. They do provide wood and very comfortable adirondack chairs.

The tent sites are typical of KOA – small and very close together. We really are not fans of being close to our neighbors. There were actually only 2 groups of us camping. We thought they would separate us. They actually put us in sites adjacent to each other – less than 10 feet separating our tents. Most of the tent sites have a platform that you can put the tent on. We actually brought our small 3 person backpacking tent and were able to just fit it on the platform. If you have anything larger – such as regular family camping tent – it won’t fit and you will need to pitch it on the grass. Expect lots of moisture on the grass. Each site has a picnic table that you can cook on, water spigot and electric.

The other tent option is one of 4 or 5 “primitive sites”. I think I might prefer this option. Basically you pitch your tent out in a rather large open field (just past pine village loop). The problem is that there is only one picnic table there to share and you are not allowed to cook at it. You might call and see if you are allowed to cook at one of the other picnic tables located in the main part of the campground. Water is at the bathroom about 100 yards from the parking area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Outdoorsy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday and found it to be very lovely.
The staff was very nice and accommodating and the restaurant was excellent with a full bar, extensive wine list and great food. The store was adequate but make sure you stop at a market before heading out because the closest "normal" market is well over 30+ minutes away in Santa Cruz. It was quite, clean and the open spaces were very nice and well maintained. the sites were a bit snug but you didn't really notice it all that much because of the open spaces around you. If you bring your dog, be prepared that they are only allowed in a limited range of areas within this property. You CANNOT walk your dog to the beach (not a dog beach) and you cannot walk your dog over toward the lodge, restaurant or into the tent and cabin areas. We found this to be a bit constrictive but it was okay.
Be sure to bring your own fire pit (which is allowed in the fire pit spot behind your space) because it costs $25/day to rent a poorly vented pit with wet wood=smoke!
The bathrooms and showers were clean and very warm!
The fireplaces outside of the bathrooms were a bit odd and we never saw anyone using them. Something about sitting at a fire outside of a public restroom is strange and unsettling. Lots of garbage stations which I like and nice big outside sinks if you want to wash your dishes there.
Not a lot of bike riding around unless you are comfortable with biking on HWY101, which I am not.
Also, you have to cross HWY 101 to walk down to the beach...and remember no dogs on that beach. There are two really nice beaches that allow dogs on leash just a mile and three miles North and South.
Our dinner at the restaurant was wonderful. The server and staff at the restaurant, lodge and store were not nearly as nice or accommodating as the KOA staff, however they were not rude or nasty, just cool.
Overall we felt very happy, comfortable and safe here. The other campers were all very friendly and no drifter types. We were fine allowing our 9 year old daughter to wander a bit with neighboring kids and not feel terrified. We could always see her and she was as happy as ever running on the nice grassy areas and playing on the fields. Younger kids with bmx bikes would have lots of fun riding on the dirt track trails along the back of the campground area.
We definitely would reserve our spot in the SEASCAPE circle because they were the most spacious spots. These spots however DO NOT have the nice elevated deck areas (with power) if you like that.
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Seascape is best circle unless you have tent campers with you and/or want the elevated decks with po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I have stayed at Costanoa several times over the past 10+ years. Camping, RVing, and in the tent cabins. Never tried the lodge. I've been here solo while working in the area, with just my wife, with my wife and friends, with wife and gkids, with daughter and gkids and her friends and their kids. We have always loved it. There is so much to do. Beachcombing, hiking, biking, just relaxing, elephant seals, kayaking, great dining on premise or 8-10 miles in either direction. There is also lots to do as a day trip.

The setting is beautiful. There is a landscaped berm separating the camp area from the highway, so little or no road noise. As I understand it, there were stringent regulations when the property was developed. There is very little night time lighting. Bring several flashlights. There don't seem to be any loud or wild groups. Nights are peaceful. RVs are separated from tent campers, although we have pitched a tent for the gkids next to our RV on occassion.

The restrooms have always been very clean. The grounds are always litter free. We like the communal fireplaces with free firewood, and out of the wind and night time chill. There are saunas, too. Free wifi, with probably the best signals I have ever had.

Warnings: Come well stocked with food, or expect to drive 20-30 minutes for groceries. NO cell phone service, but there is a free courtesy phone in the lodge which has never been busy when I've needed it to check voicemail and return phone calls.

All in all, a very unique RV park. It is more of a retreat than an overnight stop, although they seem to get a lot of foreign travelers just spending the night on their way up hwy 1.

Room Tip: This is an RV park and campground. We prefer the back in sites in the first section. Bigger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEHBrentwoodCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

With camping gear on hand we decided to take the scenic route through Hwy 1 and set up camp along the way. We stopped to ask some locals if they knew of any camp sites. We visited several camp sites some completely full and others completely vacant (for a reason). Then we came upon Costanoa! Ok, I'll say at first I was a little hesitant because I had read some bad reviews. OMG, they were so wrong. They were sooo helpful (considering it was 6pm) courteous and informative. This is not your traditional camping - no roughing it here! And I love it. The view was spectacular, there is also horseback riding available, hiking trail. When you reach the end you have a spectacular front row seat of the pacific. You have the option of bringing an RV, staying in a tent cabin or tent site with and without electricity as well as a lodge for those of you that want the out doorsy feeling but still want the comforts of home. Oh, and as for the store, it is pricey. but then again who goes camping without all the fixins?? (We were completely prepared) We did stop in to buy marshmallows, a chocolate bar and graham crackers which came out to $6. Really, $6 is not a big deal. Although they do sell gourmet cheese and wines for those of you fufu campers or RV'rs. We will definitely stay again, this will be one of our regular spots to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sojoando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I just got back after spending the weekend at this campsite. We found it to be clean, well maintained and well run. The parklike setting is great and there is a reasonable amount of space for trailers. Some sites have a raised deck adjacent which is a nice touch. The "comfort stations" consist of a coin operated washer drier, a sauna, clean, nicely appointed bathrooms / showers and a outdoor wood burning fireplace & chairs.
On the minus side, the wireless signal was none existant at our site, but by far the biggest detractor for us was the practice of allowing large groups of tent campers to share areas with RVs and Trailers. Personally we don't like this as we find large groups of tent campers to be generally noisier and less considerate of others than RVers (sorry if this sounds snobby but it is just our thoughts based on experience).
Other than that we were happy and will likely visit again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank markshew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pescadero
20.0 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
14.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
3.5 mi away
Hostelling International-Pigeon Point Lighthouse Hostel
0.4 mi away
Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA

Property: Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA
Address: 2001 Rossi Rd, Pescadero, CA 94060-9732
Location: United States > California > Pescadero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pescadero
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz North / Costanoa Koa Hotel Pescadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing